Lacking Social Skill

in BDCommunity3 years ago

I’m almost social media recluse. It’s not that I hate social media; hate is such a strong word, isn’t it? I am not allergic to social media, nor I have a distinct disliking towards it. None of the apps are boring but it just seems so crowded; not a love-hate, neither I’m too fond of these apps nor I abhor them. This is the age of social media and so many hype applications out there; many are on their way to get us hooked on to it. Yes, social media has its perks; it keeps you updated about what’s going on around the world and in that sense I’m pretty much ignorant; I suppose and that’s me being Me. Whether I use too many apps or I don’t, I can never overlook the benefits of it. Believe me, my almost 11 years old niece is much of a pro at this, which can put my skills to shame.


Image Source

I can carry on saying all the advantages of some of the well-known apps out there; but you already know all of that. Also, the disadvantages are there which you are well aware of. Regardless, we can’t overlook what it has brought to us. Then again, I’m a handicap in all this stuff. I can’t tell you how each of these applications have been useful to me but it has allowed me to wander about the vast world of memes which is one of my favorite time pass. One can’t have just enough of funny tickles a day. And don’t judge me, I get most of theses funny tickles from Pinterest and also many of the pictures that I use are sourced from there. It helps me in making my post more colorful in a way, and it is quite handy to me.

As I have already mentioned I’m a recluse, I only use the apps that I need and the rest either muted or not downloaded. I Whatsapp as a day-to-day communication, to which I might add I don’t log in quite often anymore. Although Messenger happens to be very popular around here but I have its notifications muted; yes, I have muted it. Even though I have Facebook, I log in there only on special occasions. My Facebook account is from dinosaur age. Back in 2008, I had made it and lost all interest around 2011; it’s boring and I hide from people that I had added. Nowadays my mom thrives on it as she had found many of the people from her social circle back when she was young. I still use it from time to time to play certain games. You see where I’m going with this, right? I am painting a vivid picture of how much I stay out of all this.

Should I mention about my Twitter account? Let’s have a go at it. I only created an account when I joined Hive, so my Twitter account is relatively new and guess what! Yes, notifications are off there as well. And I have stayed away from Instagram and Reddit so I’m not sure if I’ll be trespassing there anytime soon, though I hear they’re quite useful, but I’m not sure how much it’s going to be for me. Neither Tiktok nor Likee I find beneficial hence I don’t tread on that territory.


Image Source

So far I have only mentioned the apps that I use and I don’t use; there are those that I like a great deal. Some of the apps that I have got into because of Hive; one being Twitter, which I already mentioned and other is Discord. My latest favorite is Discord and I enjoy this app too much. A few months ago, I knew nothing about how to operate this app or anything; now I can navigate a bit and that lead to me getting into too many servers. You know about me and crowded apps. No, I don’t have this on mute altogether, only some of the channels that send out too many notifications, but I’m more online there than any other apps that I have.

The more I’m writing, the more I realize I lack social skill perhaps and quite an introvert. Yes, that is possibly true. Maybe I’m very socially selective but I’m never going to label myself as anti-social. Anti-social people too have their own circle. Is there an app for people like me?


surrealfia.gif

Sort:  

You want to take the 'social' out of social media? 😄 No way!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hehehe no I'm renaming it as reclusive media 😜