1,000 words for a picture- Dorothy Counts photo in Harry Harding High School, 1957.

in BDCommunity4 years ago

They say a picture worth a thousand words. For people that do not understand this, they see it as an exaggeration. I was checking some powerful old pictures, and I saw many remarkable pictures. I will talk about a few.

I will talk about the picture of Dorothy Counts. She was the first Black girl to attend a school of all white students in the united state, which is the Harry Harding High School in 1957.

image.png
src

The picture shows she was being harassed and probably mocked by her skin colour. But what I see in the picture is a brave young girl focusing greatly on becoming what she wants to be. She might have heard about the school and the bully she might face, but she showed dignity and courage.

image.png
src

Discrimination and racism are ruining the world. I am from a part of the world where we are all black and we have diverse tribes. We are not facing issues with racism, but we have something they call tribalism. I am Yoruba; he is Hausa. This has been happening despite we have the same skin colour. Language and religion separated us, and this- I ask- who created religion? The fact that I am a Christian doesn’t mean I have to hate Muslims or any other people practicing what they are taught. Humanity should lead.

I look at the picture and I see people that were yet to understand humanity behind Dorothy. I see people that don’t value friendship and wholeness. I can’t imagine the things she faced through her stay in school. But I am sure it won’t be a splendid experience. I respect her courage.

When my brother traveled down to Asia's side to school. He was one of the few black students in the school. He shared many experiences- somewhere good while others were bad. This image of Dorothy was 63 years ago, and the same is still happening. When will the change come?

image.png
src

Riots and killing are happening after the death of Floyd. That did not bring back the poor man. Racism must end. Cheers to the people that believe in Humanity. Cheers to those that are fighting for the right of the people, irrespective of the colour.

The sky is wide enough for every bird to fly. The earth is wide for every human to live. Let’s love lead. You are beautiful just the way you are.


Thank you!

Sort:  

Congratulations @tykee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!