Diaries of Fluffy Rican:. Intentionally

in Feel Good3 years ago

Why is so hard to appreciate the good things in our lives. Why is it easier to duel on what's not good. Why do we spend so much time reflecting on the things we dislike about our situation and ourselves.

I know it would be foolish to ignore our situation. Obviously we won't find solutions for them, if we ignore them. Yet I find that we spend to much time focusing on the things we hate. It becomes a habit. The more time we spend focusing on the negatives. The easier it becomes to do so. The closer we look at our problems. The bigger they seem to be.

Lately I've been a little more intentional on taking a step back. It gives me a better perspective. That's one the benefits of writing blogs, in my opinion. It gives me an opportunity to intentionally search out new and interesting material. It also invites me to go to places that I'd normally be too distracted to go.

Yesterday I left work and decided I wanted to go do something fun. So I called up my buddy, and we went for a drive. I reminded her to bring a blanket cause it was little chilly. I wasn't planning on creating a blog. Yet good friends are also a good influence. Her creativity was also an added bonus.

After searching through groupon, and realizing that there was nothing close or even open. It was decided that a nice quiet spot, and a sunset was the perfect activity. We weren't there for long, but it was long enough to take our minds of ourselves. Even if it was just for a few moments. I chose pretty sweet spot.

IMG_20210426_193103.jpg

We had the sunset on our right. The golden colors seemed to enter my eyes, and warm my soul. The crisp breeze entered my nostrils, and could be felt circulating my body.

On the left of us the moon was unapologetically making it's presence known. It seemed to be making it known that it was now it's time to shine.

IMG_20210426_193203.jpg

IMG_20210426_193132.jpg

IMG_20210426_193659.jpg

Our blessings are all around us. Yet many times they're just there, silently keeping us company. They don't demand our attention like the challenges in our life do. They don't nag us, or try to dominate our thoughts. They just quietly keep us company.

I sat down on the stonewall, and stared at the water. I even contemplated jumping in, but I would've regretted that.

IMG_20210426_193346.jpg

My buddy sat in the car for a little bit. Simply inhaling the breeze and soaking in the rays. Yet after I layed down on the stone wall. I saw her grab her blanket and come join me. As she stood there allowing the wind to blow through her long sun sparkled dark brown hair. I simply allowed myself to absorb the moment.

I truly am blessed. No matter matter how hard the outside world tried to convince me that I'm not.

IMG_20210426_194816.jpg

IMG_20210426_194653.jpg

I hope you get a moment to reflect on your blessings. Take a moment and change your focus. Don't worry, your challenges will gladly remind you of their presence later. For now appreciate the good things in your life. Let them know you appreciate them.
God bless.