Up From Slavery by Booker T. Washington is a must read

in Feel Good3 years ago

IMG_20210528_050412_846.jpg

I recently found my favorite copy of Up From Slavery by Booker T. Washington. I'm 1901 Booker T. Washington wrote his autobiography. In which he preserved not only his life experiences, but a world view, and honor system. That in my opinion has almost been forgotten.

When I first experienced this book. I was immediate taken back his description of the world he knew. Having been born a slave, and considering his struggle and achievements. His view on slavery, and the way he describes the common feeling among his community towards it. Is not what I expected. The way it contrast from today's views concerning the feelings of that era. Was really a paradigm shift for me.

I loved it so much that I immediately wanted other copies to share with others. While searching I found this special print of the book and immediately bought two copies. I gave one to my pastor, and I kept the other.

This book is a time capsule. It perfectly preserves the feelings, perspectives, and sense of honor held during that time. It stands against the narrative that's being pushed on us today. I write this post today hoping to inspire someone to read. It truly is a peace of history that needs to be revisited, and rediscovered.

Thanks for taking the time to share with me. Up From Slavery can still be found in book form. It's also available through Audible.com. In my opinion it should be required reading, and I hope you not only read it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have, and share it with someone.

Thank you and God bless.