Season Hunt Challenge - Pumpkins (And Squash)

in Feel Good2 years ago

Hello everyone! Welcome to this exciting first episode of the Season Hunt Challenge hosted by @barbara-orenya. Everyone is so excited about this challenge, considered as a sequel to the very successful Alphabet Hunt also hosted by her. Read up about this here and join us on this long-awaited hunt!

The theme for the first Season Hunt is:

PUMPKINS


The first hunt of the season and it's got me stumped already. Goodness! Where to find a real pumpkin in a place that do not grow them? My first impulse was to substitute them with squash. The more popular variety we have are the Buttercup Squash (Cucurbita Moschata) and the Kabocha Squash. They have a similar shape to a pumpkin and are often confused with one. See photos below.

IMG20211027105851.jpg

IMG20211027110706.jpg

IMG20211027110022.jpg

Look so much like pumpkins, don't they. Of course they do. They come from the same family and most people confuse one with the other because in reality, there's not that much that differentiate them except this:

The difference between Pumpkin and Squash is that Pumpkin has a stem that is hard and jagged. The seeds of Pumpkin are rich in fatty acids. On the other hand, the stem of a Squash is light and hollow. The seeds of Squash are rich in fibre and protein. Wikipedia

And it is a fact that squash are not used for making Jack o' lanterns. Pumpkins are.

My second impulse was to buy a pumpkin figurine and post about it. But I didn't have time to look around the malls for one due to my tight work schedule and restricted movement because of the pandemic. But, as I always say, "Desperate times call for desperate measures." So as a third option, I asked my artist daughter to help me with some pumpkin art that I can share. "Sure", says she and voila! Here it is.

received_287685496385286.jpeg

No sketchwork this time. She's preparing a post for the Sketchbook Community and didn't want to be diverted with pumpkins. It's actually a digital art she made with a graphic art program she's very secretive about. She says she can't disclose the program. And that's as much as I can get from her. Here are some more of this art.

received_661943264771022.jpeg

received_426199175543208.webp

received_130031012678185.jpeg

At least she got a couple of Feathered Friends shown along with the pumpkin. Great!

Recently I just received good news from our contest moderator that squash are allowed for this first hunt of the season. So I was able to post my squash photos above and at the same time my daughter's pumpkin art as well. Two birds with one stone. I am so relieved and so happy. Thanks @barbara-orenya.

And that's it for the pumpkin hunt. I hope you liked it. Stay safe and looking forward to the next. See you.

Sort:  

Terrific post @gems.and.cookies! The Buttercup Squash definitely does look like a pumpkin! I think a pumpkin is considered a type of squash so it totally makes sense. I love your daughters artwork! Such talent and I'm glad she was able to help! 💖

Thank you for the very kind words. I am glad you liked it. It's a wonder how this fruit ( I looked it up and it is technically a fruit not a veggie) can grow both in cold and tropical countries. I think the skin or rind compensates for the weather by growing thicker in colder regions. Our squash here have very thin and soft skin.

Thanks for appreciating my daughter's art as well. It comes in really handy too especially when I'm in need of a hunt trophy and I couldn't find one 😄

You're welcome @gems.and.cookies! I think you are right and that makes a lot of sense about the rind. She is a very good artist and I can imagine how proud you are of her. 💖

Frankly, I would have call your squash by the name Pumpkins, I tend to consider them all as pumpkins as I don't know all the names in english (and sometimes do not even know the difference in french...😁)
so that's not an issue at all and does count as pumpkin....
and even more, what does count a lot is your wanting to play the game at any cost and that is priceless !
Thank you my friend and another time you can congratulate your daughter for her art 😉
hedgehug1.png

Hi @barbara-orenya. Thank you for the sweet and kind words. Be it a squash or be it a pumpkin, I'll break my bones just to be in! Although that may sound like the giant in the fairy tale Jack and the Beanstalk, that's what I feel about playing your game. Just love it so much. No cost is high enough! 🥰🥰🥰

Can't wait for the next 🤗

What an excellent article!
Squash--- pumpkins. They are all the same, hehe 😊😜
The open markets there are very pretty!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I am one of those who is confused with the pumpkins and the squash. They look same to me. 😀

Make that 2 of us @nelinoeva. I had to read up on the topic but still I am a bit unsure which is the pumpkin and which is the squash 🤣🤣🤣