I Yi Yi

in Feel Good4 years ago

We are now at the letter ”I” in the Alphabet Hunt hosted by @barbara-orenya in the Feel Good community.


F37E8411EEBC40BAB88360271BD7B5C2.jpeg

  • Iris

At first my thought was,

“Hmmm, this is not going to be easy finding the Letter I selections.”

Then the Blue Bearded Irises growing in my flower garden flashed into my mind.

Iris is not only the name of a flower but also the name in Greek mythology of the goddess of the rainbow.


8E229BD7843D4376B9937D99D3368EF2.jpeg


  • Icicle

large icicle hanging from the deck roof last winter.


F6EC332596DE4A85A0966EB6EA777390.jpeg

A closer look at the icicle and all the snow.


6671766C353A43CB81E0D5744D63C228.jpeg


Now I’m starting to warm up and the ”I” words are starting to flow into my head.

  • Ireland

It was 1979 and I couldn’t tell you what camera I used taking these old photos in Kiltane, Co. Mayo, Ireland.

Mother, my sister Rose and I went to visit Mother’s old homestead and her remaining relatives. Some we visited in this cemetery.

The graveyard is in the field behind the house and I think most of my maternal ancestors are interred there. The ruins of an old monastery is in the background.

The photo is of my mother, sitting on the stone wall surrounding the cemetery, her sister and brother Jack with his collie dog. Jack was living at the homestead. Sadly they have all passed now.

This graveyard was opened for the last time to bury my Uncle Jack in 1983.



3F0E7121495F47C9AD4E72D359421DDA.jpeg


Another photo I had in my files, from the same time, of the old monastery at Kiltane with the Owenmore River and mountains in the background. I lost most of the photos from the visit when the computer crashed.

8A12BBE9FA9B4A93BC03CBCE1EC6830E.jpeg



  • Insect

A beautiful colorful Swallowtail butterfly on the lilac bush in the yard. Swallowtails are in the family Papilionidae.


BA1B317685BD486DA29698BE4B52571C.jpeg


You may not think of a butterfly as an insect.

Wikipedia say's butterflies are insects in the macrolepidopteran clade Rhopalocera from the order Lepidoptera, which also includes moths. ... Butterflies have the typical four-stage insect life cycle. Winged adults lay eggs on the food plant on which their larvae, known as caterpillars, will feed.


A cute little insect stopping to smell the roses. I’m not sure the name of this bug, maybe a squash bug but it didn’t seem to be doing any harm.


6F23FC0CFC8D4485A291303197E008DD.jpeg


  • Island

I have to put my beautiful Island in this hunt. :) I live in Canada on Prince Edward Island (PEI). It is home of the famous story of the redhead Anne of Green Gables written by L.M. Montgomery, published in 1908. A TV series is now based on the book called Anne With An E.

This is a black and white photo of the Confederation bridge linking P.E.I. to mainland New Brunswick. I took this on December 24 from the New Brunswick side - it was winter and a chilly day. The bridge is about 13 KM.long.


AD84124A09A2436C9FF7A0BB1BFF86EB.jpeg

Point Prim Lighthouse on P.E.I.


088D295342014F999EF89797CE3797BC.jpeg


  • Ingredients

In order to cook or bake we need to know what ingredients to put in the mix.

Before computers and google search, a cookbook came in handy when looking for what ingredients to add to a casserole or make a batch of bread or cookies.

This is an old cookbook belonging to my mother. It has been leafed through many times. She has been gone 33 years and she used it for many years.


2E7341E660A44E7C85456F99A94AFA66.jpeg





hive-114105
Animated Banner Created By @zord189



Courtesy of @derangedvisions


D9616FE3B0E74FF8B673290937B9F0FA.jpeg

Sort:  

I really have to say you have found some bumper words to enter today, always accompanied by beautiful photographs.

Ireland is one place I would still love to visit, my late Mom absolutely loved her visit over there.

Insects go without saying, around every day in one size or another.

Have a terrific weekend Jo.

Thanks Joan. I hope you visit Ireland one day. I was happy to have made the visit while my mother was still living. It’s a beautiful country where the clouds reach down to touch the heather on the mountains and you might be lucky enough to see one of the little people. 😀

Have a wonderful weekend Joan @joanstewart

Perhaps one day all going well, Canada and Alaska were two other places I would have enjoyed. World has much to offer and seeing one of the little people sure would bring a smile to ones face.

Love the post, Joanne. Great finds on the letter "I"

Thanks so much Rob.

Have a great weekend!😊

These are terrific Jo! I especially love Ireland, Island and all the others..lol. I have a lot of Irish in me so as soon as I saw that then I think it became my favorite. I have two that are the same so there we go thinking alike again. I'm pretty much done but will post possibly next week since I have plans for posts this week.Hope you have an awesome weekend! 🤗 💞

Thanks Dee. I’m glad you connected with the Ireland one. ☘️ The trip was long ago but I remember a lot of it. Sad how time passes so quickly and it’s going faster everyday.😗

I look forward to seeing your I selections.

Have a great weekend!❤️

Most welcome Jo! I feel like the days are going fast as well! Have a great, rest of the, weekend! 🤗 💞

In several publications I have appreciated Irises, with a really beautiful flower.

Thanks @truelovemom! They are beautiful and so delicate looking.

Your irises are so beautiful. I love them very much and each spring there are irises in different colours growing almost in each garden in our neighborhood.

Old photos have such a charm, haven't they? How different that vintage look is compared to modern photos,

Thanks Neli @nelinoeva. I’m happy you liked the photos. Old photos are always a treasure.
Digital has made picture taking so much easier without having to have them developed. 😊

Great finds and i love that long never ending island bridge and the lighthouse nicely executed 👍

It a nice scenic drive over the bridge from the mainland to PEI. @kohsamui99. Since the lighthouses have been decommissioned by the government, the local communities have taken over to keep them as historical buildings that can be toured. Many have tourist shops and display artifacts of the sea.

I really do love driving over long bridges like that it would be one bridge i would love to drive over never know maybe one day and it's nice that the locals are keeping these historical building intact 👍

Haha ! I just now understand the meaning of your name "redheadpei"...🤭 I was aware that the redhead could be originated from Ireland , but couldn't figure out what was the pei meaning ...😁 Prince Edward Island...! A secret revealed, or at least, a mystery resolved 😉
Well done with your selection Jo, I thought to Iris too but had none to photograph (Iris blooming is over since a few weeks now here)...and for me, a butterfly is an insect..what else if not ? A bird ? 🤭

After I started using the name it was a mystery to others, Barbara. I’m glad you understand now where I came up with it.

Our flowers are just in full bloom now.

Yes butterfly would have to be an insect but I never think of it as one. More like a little angel.😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 10 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Thanks Pix @pixresteemer. Appreciated!

Oh no, I won't say you copied my words ;) lol
... and not only because the photos you used to illustrate your words are great 😉

The butterfly is beautiful, but even more interesting is the Longhorn Beetle (I think this is his name).

Your lovely memories of Ireland, an Island that I hope to visit one day, remind me that I wanted to look through the old photos in the boxes my mother has stored and scan them. I'm sorry that you have lost many photos. That's why I copy all photos to an external hard disk and also on a DVD from time to time, but I haven't done that for quite a few months and should do it soon.

Wow, I have seen on Google Maps that this bridge to P.E.I. is long, but I haven't seen such a photo where it looks almost endless :)

You show us with your post a cool and interesting collection of I words Jo 🙂👍


!tip
!invest_vote
Cheers and !BEER

Longhorn Beetle- a great name for the insect and it fits. Thanks for figuring out the name Johann.

I did have a dick stick ( yes, what I was told it was called) and should have down loaded the photos but with ever ending optimism I figured I would never lose them.🤪

The Confederation Bridge is quite a feat of engineering. I’m happy to have given you a different look at it.

Thanks for your lovely comments Johann and for the tip and goodies.😊

Have a wonderful Friday.

Good morning Jo,
when you read this I will be tired already ;) lol

The Longhorn Beetles are a big family, but they all look somehow about the same :)

Believe me, I have my backups, but I am very lazy too and always forget to make backups regularly, so I have lost quite a few photos in the past too ;)

Wish you a great Friday too 🙂


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I had no idea the PEI bridge was so long! Great photo of it.

I still have many of my cookbooks and a few from my mom and grandmother and still pull them out for some of my favorite recipes. Most things I just Google these days, though.

Great I words!

The drive on the PEI bridge is really nice especially if you have a high vehicle to see the ocean as you drive along.

The cookbooks have been such lovely treasurers from our mothers. The same with me, I still use some of her recipes.

Thanks Melinda @melinda010100 and have a wonderful weekend.😊

High vehicles make all the difference when you are traveling anywhere! We traveled out west in a big old pickup truck and I loved how much I was able to see from the passenger seat. We also did some traveling in a little 2 seater sports car convertible and I loved traveling with the top down but you're always stuck with the view of the guardrail!

Melinda you have such great memories of your time with Jim. I wish he could have stayed longer for you but it’s not up to us to decide. If it was I would still have my grandmother and she would be one hundred and thirty some now.

It is great to be in a truck or high vehicle for sightseeing. I miss the SUV when crossing on the bridge.

Happy Summer Solstice Melinda ❤️

Yeah, damn cancer. He fought it for a long time. I know he is close by.

My grandma would be 118. That's amazing to consider, isn't it? I am really lucky that I had all 4 of my grandparents well into my thirties. They were all such a big part of my life and my kids all have memories of their great grandparents.

!ENGAGE 30

Some lovely I's out there, the lighthouse is amazing and the retro photo too. It reminds me of the classic times :)

Thanks @razeiv. I appreciate your lovely comment.


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: I Found I ... Alphabethunt Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness