A Feel Good Challenge: #AlphabetHunt Letter L

in Feel Good4 years ago (edited)

Hello, awesome Hivers, alphabet hunters, and #feelgood community!

It is Thursday and the start of a new alphabet hunting week hosted @barbara-orenya's weekly fun challenge, and this time it is #alphabethunt Letter L.

In addition to the fun we all get from this weekly challenge, I personally enjoy reading your articles because I get to know you a little bit better each time. As in my other articles, I share little things about myself every week in my entry articles for #alphabethunt.

And here we go!

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

1️⃣ Leadlight

Leadlighting also called stained glass, is the craft of making beautiful works out of colored glass held together by strips of lead. The effect of light shining through a stained glass window or a stained glass lampshade can be spectacular. Most churches have stained glass windows.

The Roman Catholic Church in my small town of California has been here since 1870. The Church building in the photo below was built in 1925. These are the stained glass windows of my Parish Church.


♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

2️⃣ Latch

A latch is a device that holds something like a door, gate or lid closed so it won't swing open by itself. A latch is not the same as a lock, but many latches have a place to put a lock, for extra security.

When it comes to storage boxes, I prefer one with a latch.


♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

3️⃣Layer

Something put in a thin coating over something else is a layer. Many different kinds of cakes and sweets have layers of different colors or textures on top of one of the other. A cake might have a layer of sponge, then a layer of frosting, then another layer of sponge and then a layer of frosting around the outside. The cake in the photo has a lot of layers.

[I did not have time to bake a layer cake for this article. The above photo is David's Cookies layer cake .]

One can also layer clothes by wearing clothes over the top of each other to form layers.


♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

4️⃣Leo

Leo is a sign of the Zodiac. It is a fire sign. You are a Leo if you are born between July 23rd and August 22nd.
The Leo zodiac symbol is the Lion, named for the stellar constellation this sign corresponded to by the astrologers of the old world. The astrological symbol of the Lion goes back to Greek mythology, when it was associated with the Lion that Heracles overcame in a heroic mythological battle.

Leo is my Zodiac sign. I used to collect things with lions and dragons (because the Fire Dragon is my Lunar Year). I have lions and the Leo symbol depicted in silver bars as well as in jewelry, like this 24K Gold bracelet and 24K Leo charm.


♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

5️⃣ Latin

Latin is an ancient language spoken by Romans during the Roman empire thousands of years ago. Many languages have evolved from Latin, such as French, Spanish, Portuguese, and Italian.

The inscriptions on Vatican Coins are almost always in Latin, like these Vatican coins depicting the cardinal virtues.

Each coin depicts one cardinal virtue.
  • TEMPERANTIA.

    Temperance, which moderates the attraction of the pleasures of the senses and provide balance in the use of created foods.

  • FORTITUDO

    Fortitude, which ensures firmness in difficulties and constancy in the pursuit of the good.

  • JUSTITIA

    Justice, which consists in the firm and constant will to give others their due.

  • PRUDENTIA.

    Prudence, which disposes the practical reason to discern in every circumstance one's true good and to choose the right means of achieving it.


  • ♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

    6️⃣Lapis lazuli

    Lapis lazuli is a semi-precious stone that has a deep blue colour. It is not a single mineral like most gemstones, but a composite rock that often has patterns of other colours through it, like marble. It polishes very well and is used for jewelry as well as in mosaics or other decorative finishes on buildings.

    I love angels and depiction of angels. These small angel sculptures are made from Lapis lazuli.


    ♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥
    There you have it, my friends! My selection of SIX words starting with the letter L for this week's #alphabethunt.
    Thank you to @barbara-orenya for hosting this fun challenge!

    All photos, gif and videos were taken by me using my iPhone6 unless specified otherwise.

    Make it a #TERRIFICTHURSDAY!

    Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

    I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

    Hugs and Kisses 🤗💕💋!!!!

    @silversaver888



    @silversaver888 is a proud member of #silvergoldstackers and the #ladiesofsgs4eva


    #TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!



    @silversaver888 enjoys being part of:

    Share Your Battle Weekly Challege of #Splinterlands by @carrieallen


    Shadow Hunters by @melinda010100


    Wednesday Walk of @tattoodjay


    Market Friday of @dswigle

    iqlc48.png

    My California of @thesocalhive

    Show Us.png

    Feel Good Community of @barbara-orenya


Sort:  

Great, you could include your passion in this post again, @silversaver888 👍

I love such stained glass windows, but I didn't know the word Leadlighting.
I'm a Leo too, by the way 😉


Cheers and !BEER
!tip

It is called unity of life, LOL! Your true self shows in things that you do. It is amazing how that always is the case. I am glad that I was able to use a term that many are not familiar with in this #alphabethunt. And so glad to see you again, my friend @johannpiber. I am curious what you will find in your #alphabethunt , and looking forward to it! And I shall see you as soon as you have it up! Take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

... and you are doing great 😀
My post will have to wait a bit, because my almost finished draft was suddenly deleted over night and at the moment I'm not in the mood to do it again - the weather is too good to sit at the Computer 😁

Anyway, you have made a great post and I wish you a wonderful weekend 🌞
Thank you and cheers and !BEER

LOL 😁 😁 😁! That has happened to me a couple of times, hehe! And isn't it so frustrating when that happens?! We'll be here, do not worry!

It never happened to me before 😭
It is frustrating, and if it doesn't rain today as promised my computer will be off again.
Have a very nice Saturday 😀


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @johannpiber! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: The Collectible Bullion 2020 Silver Swan: Part 4 Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Leo... oh... two of my girls are Leo too... And I totally left this out in my selection of photos...
Nice selection of photos you have there, especially the leadlight...

Oh my... Leo girls like I am one! If it is true that those born under that sign have similar characteristics, then I know how they must be, hehehe!
Thanks for stopping by, my friend @elizacheng. I appreciate you. Have a great weekend ahead, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

🎁 Hi @elizacheng! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: A Feel Good Challenge: #Alphabethunt Letter L Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hey sis! Your church is beautiful! Stained glass is fascinating. Our church as large stained glass window. It was made some years ago by someone who attended then and is a depiction of Jesus with His shepherd's hook and He's holding the lost lamb found. The colors are almost 3D with the way they were done. I unfortunately don't have a picture, or I'd share it, and honestly not sure if it would show the same in a picture as it does when you see it in real time. Thank you for sharing your lovely post and have a wonderful night!🤗🤗💕💕😘😘🌸🌸

I seem to recall that stained glass, and it was beautiful... if not from one of your articles, then from @silvertop's. I think it was from one of the days when he had to repair something electrical in your church. I recalled it as you described it. You must take a photo of it when you get the chance (after the pandemic. I think that what we have now is the norm. It think that it will take a year for us to go back to how things were).
Have a beautiful day, my sweet sis @elizabethbit, take care Take care 🥰🌺🤙, lots of hugs and love 🤗💕.
!tip

I will definitely take a pic when I get a chance. I also think you are right, sweet sis, that this is the norm for now; maybe for the next year or two. I pray for the virus to vanish and things to go back to the way they were. It's going to take time. Take care sweet sister and have a lovely weekend!🤗🤗🤗💕🌸

🎁 Hi @elizabethbit! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: The Collectible Bullion 2020 Silver Swan: Part 4 Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Very beautiful Stain-glass windows in your church @silversaver888!😊
The alter is so very unique, they are much plainer in the churches near me.
Have they re-opened the church for you, most are still closed up here....
Thanks for the inside look my friend, take care and have a wonderful day!🥰🥰😊

I didn't include the photo below because the stained glass on top of the dome was cut off. But you can see here that every other row is cordoned off with a white ribbon. The elderly have been asked to continue attending Masses online, which our Parish hosts every day. All Masses are by reservation only with a cap of 100 attendees, so I have to call in before Sunday Mass to reserve my spot. Hand sanitizers are located in strategic areas, and if course and in addition, we are required to have face covering all the time and can receive communion only by hand. Still, one cannot be protected enough, is what I think, especially now that they say that the virus is airborne.

Parish Church.jpg

Have a great day, my friend @silvertop, and take care 🥰🌺🤙.
!tip

Beautiful church @silversaver888, I think you are correct you can't be safe enough!
The Holy Water Fonts, are they being used?
I will show the Mrs. later she will love this photo!😀
Thanks for sharing my friend!😍😍😀

The practice of the Church has been to empty the Holy Water fonts on the days of the Sacred Triduum in preparation of the blessing of the water at the Easter Vigil, and it corresponds to those days on which the Eucharist is not celebrated (i.e., Good Friday and Holy Saturday). The exception is the pandemic, and fonts are empty of Holy Water. I have two Holy Water bottles with contents here at home. If I need any, I know that I can always get more. Thank you for the question, @silvertop!

That's what I was wondering @silversaver888, with the Corona Virus I couldn't think of a way to be safe. I remember when I was a kid in grade school we always filled our Holy Water bottles to take home. We were always encouraged to keep some at home.
With the increase in cases in California be safe my friend!!😍😍😀

🎁 Hi @silvertop! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: #Piratesunday Mermaids - Part 3 Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I knew you would come with some original words...😊 ! I even learnt some, like with the leadlight that I knew under the name stained glass,
or the latch I had never encountered 😉
i know the layers better when it's about the digital drawings that are made of multiple layers..and your leo silver piece is beautiful, my younger son is Leo he has birthday in two weeks and is the only one in the family to not be a Libra ...lol

here is the dragon to goes along with your lion 😁
dragon%20heart%20joyful%20day.png

I am so glad that I brought in new words for you and others. One of the benefits of your tag id that several of us have learned new words, and I also learned a scientific name of a particular flower (which I don't remember now, LOL!). Isn't it wonderful! I am always thrilled to participate in this challenge... to look for a word around me and my life (as part of sharing a bit of myself) is certainly a great challenge. It is a plus when I am able to share a word that may not be too common because then it may add value towards the enrichment of the Feel Good community and Hive in general. Thank you, once again, my friend @barbara-orenya! I appreciate you!
Have a wonderful weekend to come, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

Always, with LOVE....🌺💓🤗🌻🌹

Awwww.... thanks, sis. I truly always look forward to it every single day!
Take care, my lovely sis, @kerrislravenhill 🥰🌺🤙. Lots of love💓💝 and a million and one Hugs and Kisses 🤗💕💋!
!tip

Hello, you found many words that I did not know, I love stained glass and the menacing lion
Happy day

I am glad to hear that I picked uncommon words in this #alphabethunt. When I go visit the other articles, I am actually doing that exactly... looking to find new words! I appreciate your comment, my friend @txatxy~
Have a lovely day, and take care 🥰🌺🤙.
!tip

🎁 Hi @txatxy! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: The Collectible Bullion 2020 Silver Swan: Part 4 Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 13 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @silversaver888! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

Check out @johannpiber blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.