Why a City Bike and not a Mountain Bike...?

in Feel Good4 years ago

Good night, little Bees!

It's been a few months since the idea of getting a City Bike is lingering on my mind.

Why a City Bike and not a Mountain Bike? For several reasons, such as:

  • I'm not interested in racing or even driving at high speeds... I just want to get from point A to B with some comfort. The driving position on a City Bike is much more natural than on a Mountain Bike, where one needs to be always leaning forward instead of sitting up.

  • City Bikes are more appropriate for riding with light rain and on a wet and/or muddy ground, since they come with fenders to catch the mud... while on a mountain bike you know where all the mud will end up: in your clothes and on your face. 🤭

  • City Bikes can hold heavier loads, so they can be used to transport groceries and small packages. Since I don't have a car, this will be very useful. 😃

  • City Bikes can be fitted with a full protection to the chain system, making them last longer. Because Mountain Bikes usually come with a 21 Speed Gear System or more, they are incompatible with such chain protectors. And an 8 Speed System is enough for me... and also less complicated to handle.

  • Last but not the least, City Bikes are built to resist weather a lot better, since they are made to be used in countries like Belgium and the Netherlands, where citizens leave them under the rain for as long as they are at work. Rusting will be less of a problem and since I live near the coast, this is a huge factor. 👌

Well, these are the main reasons for me to pick up a City Bike instead...

After a lot of digging, I'm leaning towards a model from Achielle, which looks similar to this:

Annotation 20200807 000554.png

Image Source: Pinterest

So, what do you think? Do you have any experience with Achielle Bikes? I've heard they are among the best and will last for a long time. Can you confirm this information? 🤔


Sort:  

I totally, strongly disagree with you my friend!
and especially on the statement 'City Bikes are built to resist weather a lot better' -are they made of different sort of metal that cant rust?!

except this. this one is correct: 'City Bikes can hold heavier loads, so they can be used to transport groceries and small packages.' this is a serious benefit for the city habitant. and I do not have a car either, like you!

'City Bikes are built to resist weather a lot better' -are they made of different sort of metal that cant rust?!

From what I've read, "Achielle coat their bikes with far more chip and rust resistant finishes, and use parts that are more concerned with quality than provenance". (Source)

You can also see a big difference between these two brands, Priority and Huffy, in the article Does a Rust-Proof Bike Really Exist?

Annotation%202020-08-07%20003914.png

Annotation%202020-08-07%20003951.png

a funny thing is to compare knowledge of a student vs professor -- 1st one just started, and the 2nd one was learning already all of his life... sounds a bit not legit, innit?

the pics from your source are fucking convincing! except of a little nuance that rusty model is actually (judging by the old-fashion fork) very old, that was produced more than 15 y. ago, and if it was simply left to stay on the street for 10 years - then yes, the nature bould balance it like that. the other model in comparison - the one which is new and chromium-shiny -- seems never have left the shop, no one have rided it, even across the dry pavement haha!

ps. also, note the very last pic again -- the chain has this "cover" mechanism that you said in the post mountains bike do not have... this city bike has it.. but the chain still rusty! i.e. this cover is not the help against the rust -- its your everyday care is.

I've been investigating a bit, so I can make a good decision. I was actually looking into a British bike, a Pashley Roadster... then I saw a video of a guy saying that despite taking good care of the bike it was very rusty after only a year and that scared me. Then I found several sources speaking about how Achielle excels on that and I was convinced. 😉

good luck!

believe me, they can rust even after a 3 months of bad weather and low technical efforts/care of the bike holder

I realized that many parts of the bike need to be treated like consumables ... and from time to time, give the bike maintenance :)

Thanks for the tip, I'll keep that in mind.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 17 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @trincowski, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Looks Sweet!
I actually have 2 Mountain bikes,
both converted to street use -
Which works for here, fatter tires and grip and all that but...
Since I "Love" Bicycles I was recently thinking of taking a bike like that and making a "bicycle hotrod" out if it!
Have an Awesome Eve.!
👍🏼😁👍🏼

I'm at a point in my life when comfort trumps speed! 😁

You know I get it, sort of...
I had a pretty nice Motobecaine it was like riding a Harley!
Awesome forks, real nice disk brakes, it was Awesome for cruising - 27.5 wheels. I only sold it because My cruiser buddies stopped riding and it was sitting there.
I ride alone for the most part so I ride pretty quick!
And I am 62, that makes Me happy!
(*Did 10 miles in 37 mins - drink included)!
Have an awesome Saturday!
👍🏼🌅👍🏼

well another point is the tires, city bike tires are tougher than say a racing bike but the thinner tires make it take less energy to get moving. I have both a mountain bike and what i call a hybrid (similar to a city bike and has the same tires) and I will always choose to ride it if i am not going off road. There is also the more comfortable seat and the posture of a city bike as opposed to a mountain bike. City bike is more comfortable and look at that seat with the springs! wonderful.

I think that you are making the correct choice here.

Yeah, that bike is gorgeous, isn't it? Thanks for stopping by! 🤗

I wish biking in the city would be safe here, so I could buy one.

Over here it's not very good, too... but walking is worse. I really need a bike. 😁

I know absolutely nothing about bicycles, so my input here would be worse than useless 😅. Still, that Achielle one looks really neat! Is that a wooden handle bar, and leather seats, I see there?

Posted using Dapplr

I believe they are leather. They're an extra and they look pretty cool, I must say! 😃

They're indeed very cool! I'd love a leather seat, even though the trapped heat will make your buttocks sweat like nothing else on earth! You MUST get them, absolutely. 😆

Thanks. That's a downside I didn't know of. Thanks for the tip, I'll investigate further on that. 😉

Suddenly remembering you're in Portugal, I'm not sure if the cool look of a leather seat is worth it. I mean, it looks and feels really great, but they do trap heat a bit more than cloth/fabric. You'll need to try it out for yourself, but should you get it, please don't leave this parked under the sun. It's going to bake and toast your butt to crispy goodness XD

I agree with you. City bike is the best choice. Why, you can even put a basket in front to hold your groceries. You can even rig it with an umbrella just like my taho vendor. See photo below.
image.png
Photo is taken from a previous post I did for Market Friday.

I know, they even sell a basket as an extra. I'm thinking of adding it up to my order. 👌

I don't have a bike, but his description of what is the best option for the city is very good with a lot of logic, especially the weight that can support the city bike, I think that with this option is fair and necessary to use this type of bike instead of the mountain bike

Thanks for your visit and comment!

I had one bike for my whole school career and I don't know the make, but it was called a "thick-wheel".
The post office also used them for postal deliveries and it was the best bike that I ever had.

When I was younger I had a BMX. All I wanted was to have fun. Now I have different priorities. 🤭

Thanks for your visit and comment.

I started in primary school with that adult bike my friend. I used to stick my one leg through the frame to reach the other peddle. Of course in high school I shot up in height and could ride it like an adult.
It used to have a big basket at the front, but I took it off.
Fond memories.

Congratulations @trincowski! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 31000 replies. Your next target is to reach 31500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency