Dredge - Day 18

in Worldbuilding3 years ago (edited)

image.png

20210612_193707.jpg

Game: Dredge by scyllallycs.

Location: Trothguard, on the Sea of Angels.

Player Character: Unknown vessel/unknown captain.


Dredge is an exploration-based journaling RPG and was something I immediately thought would be a neat aid to my own worldbuilding - as I could use the game as prompts to create a story for a character that could be part of my world.

Today's card:

image.png

image.png

Day 18

We left the dock behind and sailed through the night. By mid-morning I could see something on the horizon, breaking the surface of the water... As we got closer it came into view more clearly, and I realized I was staring at ten perfectly distanced pillars rising out of the sea.

Their twisted fingers of rock reminded me of a crown, and for a second I could see it in full in my mind's eye - resting on top of some desiccated gigantic face. The image, though it was just a flash and then was gone again, left me deeply unsettled.

I calmed as we crossed the threshold of the jagged points and entered into the center of that crown-like ring, and the ship stopped. I was working before I knew it; my net in my hand, casting into the waters in the center of this strange monument.

I knew right away that I would find something, and I did - a fist-sized, intricately carved, statue of a bull. Its polished obsidian surface reflected the evening sun and as I spun it in my fingers I had another image flash into my head; a man with a long brown beard standing in blackened armor, a large two-handed battle-hammer resting on one shoulder.

And then the image was gone... but I felt like I knew the man well, and I suspect that this strange statue is in some way connected to that person. A real person. A face that I can remember... the only face I can remember.

I was right. I'm close now.


image.png
Join the Worldbuilding Community!

Sort:  

Wow this sounds like really cool game and maybe I'll have to go track it down and check it out. Thank you very much for your post and sharing this wonderful idea the world of games is definitely advancing.

It's one of a few very fun little solo-rpg games that you play with minimal materials (in this case, a piece of paper, a pen, and a deck of cards). I have a link to the itch.io page in the top blurb I think, and it's pretty cheap if you're interested in dropping 4 USD on it.

I have four more posts to make (including a post-play recap of my thoughts on the game as a whole), and in the last post for this game, I'll be offering a random giveaway to folks who are interested as well, so if you want to wait for a chance to snag it then definitely feel free!

Definitely I'll try to keep it someplace on the plate however my plate is extremely full and going absolutely crazy on overload.

However definitely I'd like to encourage and see the rest of what you got going on. Thank you very much I really appreciate your content and your hard work.

Thanks so much!

Absolutely you are very welcome and have a great day.

From both me and this crazy puppy dog.