Worldbuilding Community Update - Daily Prompts Incoming!

Hi folks!

I wanted to provide you a quick status update regarding the Worldbuilding Community. Together with @lacking, we are happy to announce that we will be providing a series of weekly and daily prompts to help get your Worldbuilding flowing!

Our daily prompts will be related to the weekly topic, but if you don't feel like doing the daily prompt and you just want to do something related to the weekly part, that's totally fine. The goal is just to get people to think about their worlds and writing.

If you're interested in writing, you can of course use these prompts to instead create a short story or free-write that's related to the weekly/daily prompt, and that's just as welcome in the Worldbuilding community. You don't necessarily need to be building a world, though that is of course encouraged.

I know that the Worldbuilding hobby is a fairly niche interest here on Hive, but I hope that the prompts will help some folks feel encouraged to try making stuff up and seeing how it goes.

Tomorrow will be the first prompt, so grab your notebook and your favorite pen, and see what comes out!

20210418_151301.jpg

All the best my fellow Hivians.

Sort:  

This sounds awesome! I've had a full stagnation on anything related to world building and DnD in general lately. I think it's because of work related stress. These two months going up to June are crazy as a 10th grade teacher. I'm gonna keep an eye on this and hope that it can get my imagination running again.

Oh wow, yeah, I can imagine wrangling a bunch of grade 10 students would be a mental drain haha.

To be honest, trying to ensure I don't hit a worldbuilding funk was a huge part of my coming up with these prompts. I hope they'll be something that will get folks building cool worlds, making neat art and game assets, or even writing rad short stories.

Any kind of submission related to the weekly or daily topic will be accepted, which I hope will make it accessible and fun for people of many communities and interests.

Hopefully a few of them get your imagination churning out some cool stuff!

It would be awesome if the community would get some traction. It has the potential of being a slumbering giant. We just need to get the right kind of people over here. This will be a door opener for many people I'm sure.

I think so too! I decided when we started it that even if I was the only person posting to it for a while, I'd keep it alive and push to grow it until it finally caught on. Nothing worth doing is ever easy, and it's been a long road but folks are starting to notice so I think this giant can rise from its slumber.


Congratulations @oblivioncubed!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!