Beautifully Sublime

It's been a while since I did a #beautifulsunday post for @ace108
or a #SublimeSunday post for @c0ff33a

yvlp8h.jpg

All of these shots were taken in my yard. It's been hot as blazes here, so it's been most pleasant to get outdoors early in the morning.

glzzyd.jpg
The bleeding hearts faded quickly as the days have grown hotter.

yf96ja.jpg

rok7bh.jpg

I love all the different colors that the flowers provide. I didn't get any annuals planted this year, so I am really appreciating the perennials that I have planted over the years.

c655kh.jpg

3gpeqr.jpg

The nights have been pleasantly cool and the fireflies are putting on quite a show this year. I love summer!


uxeumm.png

Information about the Shadow Contest

HERE

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

Sort:  

Thanks for using Esteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of Esteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.esteem.app, iOS: https://ios.esteem.app mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.esteem.app
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Thanks to you! ❤️

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 11 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Beautiful weather and beautiful flowers - the Summer is here 😊
It is not so very hot here yet, but after a some cold and uncomfortable months I am waiting for a few hot Summer days, but only a few and not too many 😉


Cheers and !BEER

It has been uncomfortably warm here.. Around 32C every day all week. I have no complaints, but my MS does not like it and things do not function properly if I get overheated. I wait all winter for these summertime days and appreciate them to the best of my ability!

I believe you, and over 30C for a week or even longer would be too much for mee too.
Maybe a nice !BEER can help cooling you down a bit 😉

I've been trying to go out early, before the heat of the day It has been cooling down nicely at night. If I even liked
!BEER that would probably be great! Ice tea works, too!

I'd prefer Ice tea over !BEER too to be honest 😉 Have a great day @melinda010100 🙂


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @melinda010100 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

So glad your perenials are putting on a nice show for you.

I have been late getting my flowers together this year, but have finally gathered in a few. Still more work to do as a few aren't potted yet.

I have been enjoying the fireflies in the evenings too.

I enjoyed your photos.

Hope you are doing well.

I'm doing okay. Since I can't get out to buy my own flowers without assistance, I just let it go this year. I'm quite sad about it oh, but I didn't want to be responsible for sending anyone else into situations we're on necessary. Hopefully next year I'll be better prepared and at least start a few plants in the house myself from seed. I think this is the first time in my life that I have not had flowers growing everywhere! I miss them terribly.

I wonder if you had seeds now, if they would still have time to grown and flower. I don't really know.

I had some seeds from several years that I don't know if they are still good or not, but I had wondered about trying a few of them anyway now for myself.

I understand about not wanting to ask someone to go for you. I took my mask of course, but while I was in the garden centers, being where I was looking was all outside, I didn't wear my mask while shopping, making sure to keep my distance. They weren't over busy like they would have been a month or six weeks ago, which worked out fine. Once I had what I wanted, I put on my mask before going to check out.

I understand about being sad about it. My Mom has always had such beautiful flowers and SO many of them. I know I've told you before, but my Step Dad has dementia and it is really bad now, so not counting covid, it is hard to get out and do anything for herself as you can't take your eyes off of him for 2 seconds and he has no patience left. Add the covid issues to that, he cannot understand that he has to wear the mask and takes it off not long after putting it on and he has no concept about not touching things or being concerned about it.

I told all that to say that, My Mom did have seeds and got some early on with gift cards she had received for various occasions. She likes Park Seed and has ordered from them for years. Normally though, she also buys more plants to add to whatever we give her for her birthday and Mother's Day which are close together and her deck is always a sweet flowery oasis that she can sit out on in the evenings and also see from her kitchen window.

She really hasn't gotten to do hardly any of that and I knew it. I still owed her some bougainvilleas because we had a freeze around her birthday and all the local ones were damaged. I kept thinking places would get in a new crop of them, but most didn't. So... I set out last Sunday morning. I had extra money and I had decided I was going to get some bougainvilleas if they existed anywhere and then.... I was going to buy everything else I thought she might want. I ended up shopping at Lowes and Home Depot. I know they are not cheap, but on this trip, prices didn't matter, this was for my Mom and she deserved some of everything ! I did find some bougainvilleas, not exactly like I'd hoped, but still decent and then I bought a ton of other things. Mostly things I knew she had before. I can't even tell you what all, but when my car was full, I called and told her I was coming out and asked if she wanted anything from the biscuit place. She did, so I went through the longest drive through line I have ever seen, but fortunately that company had the system down pat and it didn't take nearly as long as it looked like to get through.

I got to Mom's and started taking flowers out and walking them around to her deck (I haven't gone in her house since the covid thing started). When she saw I had flowers, you could just see the happy flowing all over her. About the 4th trip from the car, I could tell she was excited and almost emotional. I had wondered for a second if having that many at once would be overwhelming..... but it was already done ! We visited on the porch and one of my sisters just happened to be there too. We ate our biscuits and visited for a while. I told her if there were more than she wanted to deal with, to feel free to share them around or let them die ! ha ha.....

I knew for sure I had done the right thing, when I found that she had put zinnia seeds in two of her favored containers, because that was all she had, but that was not what she would have ever done before. She took those zinnias out and replaced them with some of what I brought her.

Obviously she had resigned herself to that what she had would be all and was making the best of it. What stole my heart was, she had about 4 little containers of a mixed color flower, I forget the name, that she had picked up at Lowes that week when she got about 30 seconds to look and had grabbed up on her way out of getting something else they needed there. She had them out and was going to give me one when I came by..... not knowing I was bringing the flowers in. She still gave it to me. Oh.my.heart....

In so many ways, I feel helpless to help her with her situation at this moment in time..... but flowers..... I could do something about.

I didn't mean to write a book in your comments....but I do know where you are about the flowers. I wish I had a way to send you some !

You are the best daughter ever! I love that my daughter also understands the need to grow and nourish plants. I do have a basket of yellow begonias that she brought me, and she hired a man to come over next week and pull some weeds and do some other necessary maintenance around my yard. I used to keep it in perfect shape and it is painful to see it looking shabby and not be able to do anything about it. I hated to complain, but she noticed without me saying a word.

I'm glad you have a good daughter too ! I'm glad she is having that done for you, knowing how you really feel about it.

I know life isn't fair, but it was something more than that in my mind.... for my mother. It just seemed more than a shame for her to have to live how life is dictating that she live right now..... and also have to do without something this simple that can make her heart so happy. I wish I could think of more things.

My younger sister said she went back out that night for a few minutes and when she got there, Mom was barefoot on her back porch, happily working in those flowers. Now THAT, did my heart good. 😊

I can feel her joy! Simple pleasures. I have always ordered from Park Seed, too. I get my bulbs from White Flower Farm and love shopping the sales that Wayside Gardens has.

So now you have decent temperatures ..? Great ! it's summer after all 🤭

It does take a while to get here, and then it arrives with a bang! It has been 32 C here for most of the week.

Oh my...this is all or nothing, like we say in french 😁 Same here, sun has appeared today and is now forecast for the week, it's gonna be kinda warm, but your 32 °C, oh man, this is hot already ! 😓

Can you please tell me the secret in snapping beautiful pictures like yours? 😭😭😭😭

Those pictures are really attractive, it's as if I should jump into the picture.

Thanks for sharing.

What a sweet thing to say! I am not a photographer, just a grandma who likes taking pictures someone told me once that if you think you are close enough, get closer. And pay attention to the light. The photo of the indigo bunting sitting in the tree is a bit of a flop because he was so much in the shade and there was no sunlight, whereas the one of him at the feeder is brightly lit. The light makes a lot of difference. the other thing that I have learned is if you take lots and lots of pictures one of them is certain to be acceptable!

Hmmm thanks for the reply 🤗👍

It is always a pleasure for me to see your photos. They are so perfect 😍💐

You are so kind. I appreciate the encouragement. ❤️

It is a pleasure. You know I'm a fan of your photos and how great they look💕

Beautiful flowers. Beautiful weather. Drink it all in while it lasts. :-)
Have a great week ahead!

If you don't like the weather in Wisconsin, wait a minute and it will change! 🌞☔❄️. Hope your week is good, too!

Haha... All is well over here. Thank you!

That weather saying is paraphrased from Mark Twain. 😁

Ah, I see. No wonder it sounded vaguely familiar. :-)

I think you manage to catch the bleeding hearts at their best

Thank you! They are a photogenic flower, aren't they?

You're welcome.
I've never get to see that live.

I planted one because they remind me of my grandmother's oldfashioned flower garden, but they spread easily and now I have them popping up all over the place! I've given away several of the plants.

Ah.. good for your friends.

Yay, it is summer! 🌞
Your flowers are lovely and colourful. I haven't seen fireflies for ages. It must be nice to see them flickering.

It is summer! Hot and steamy. The fireflies have been putting on quite a show.

Your so lucky to have a pleasant beautiful colorful yard you can step out to i have always loved the bleeding hearts flowers they are just amazing 👍

I am lucky! I have a guy that is supposed to be coming over today to give me an estimate on pulling some weeds. It all gets overgrown so quickly. Bleeding hearts spread easily, and although I only planted one, they pop up all over the place!

Gardens do require lots of time and maintenance and worst when you can do it yourself let's hope he gives you a fair price it would be nice to have someone reliable and fair price to keep it maintained for you.

Have a great evening @melinda010100 😊

I've told him how much I am willing to pay and told him to do as much for that amount of money as he is able. He has done some work for me before, and I trust him to do a good job and at least take care of the things that need it most.

Well done you are a good negotiator no doubt 👍

All are a beauty and the first flower posted is amazing, what is it called?

The first photo is of a bleeding heart. They are a flower that my grandmother always had in her old fashioned flower garden and they remind me of my childhood when I played among the flowers.

How nostalgic 😊

Nice garden photos. I'm surprised to see the bleeding hearts still going strong. Ours petered out over a week ago.

I'm surprised to hear it's so hot there. Did that tropical storm push up warm, humid air? It's been positively chilly here over the last few days. Today, the temperatures are back up to the 80's though.

Yeah, that bleeding heart photo was a week old when I posted it, although everything does bloom later down here in my river valley. The weather, too, has changed since I made that post! We are probably much the same temps as you.