“Groove Service” or “My rebirth into jazz music”

My recent post about my first live looping song/video “Takes a Village” and my life circumstances at the time I made it was so well received (for which I humbly thank you all) that I decided to do a little series of autobiographical posts of the last 5 or 6 years of my life and the music I was making at the time.

Looking back through video and sound recordings of music I’ve made is like looking at little snapshots of my soul at different times in my life. These past 6 years have been pretty action packed for me so it’s nice to be able to revisit these moments and reflect on the people and experiences that inspired and accompanied the music that I’ll be sharing with you here.

Back in the Habit

When I was about 30 I had just started coming back to music after taking almost 10 years off and thinking that my life was going in a completely different direction. I was inspired to study upright bass seriously again by an awesome jazz theory teacher at a community college in Santa Cruz Ca. called Cabrillo. His name is Ray Brown. No not that Ray Brown. He played trumpet and arranged for the Stan Kenton Big Band back in the day and his grasp of theory is amazing and his humanity is even more so. Plus I’m a sucker for cheese and this guy laid it on thick. His favorite phrases were “that guy’s full of balloon juice” and “heavy fa”. I took a class with him just for fun and was almost immediately sucked back into the world of jazz. I also met some other people in his classes that would become really important in my life.

6813C4AD65CF470993E626E3EACAE02D.jpeg

A sign I made for the group.

One of those people was a really interesting lass who I dated for about 3 years in an extremely toxic relationship that I learned a lot from. More about her in a later post. Another is the piano player that I played with in this band Groove Service as well as other projects and who is also still one of my best friends and favorite people. (Incidentally I’m really trying to get him to start blogging and posting music here on Hive, his account is @bbqriblets but he hasn’t actually posted anything yet...)

Alex the Aspiring Astrophysicist 24539A0BF6A44E9D9DEAD150F40AEB2A.png

He had only been playing for a year at the time but he grew as a musician amazingly fast, mostly by playing live almost every day for over a year. He started before I had met him, while studying physics at UCSC, playing boogie woogie on an old upright piano that he had mounted on huge castors and would wheel around town to busk with his buddy on drums. They slowly built up a bunch of local gigs and by the time I joined them they were playing 5 nights a week, some payed some not, at local restaurants, coffee shops and bars. He never finished that astrophysics degree though...

TARB

CE61F18AEA234D1895512797AA3786D1.jpeg

At the time we were called “The Alex Raymond Band”. I was living in my car then so life was a bit complicated. I would usually be sleeping in the back (of a small hatchback) with my amp and electric bass next to me, and my upright in the front seat. Those were crazy times.

Eventually things got stressed with that drummer and we started playing with a new guy who I was now going to school with at UC Santa Cruz. We dropped the non paying gigs and changed our name, tried to get a bit more professional, I was now living on campus and was super busy with school and life got more complex.

Groove Service3CDA1CB4C3D74EF59D4DCFA7095E1F9C.jpeg

The new band.

Spending Time in the Woodshed...

The next year I moved out of campus housing and back into my car, but was usually sleeping in either a shed in the back yard of a really nice couple that I did some freelance gardening work for (it was actually shaped like an icosahedron. We had built it together and it was pretty damn awesome...) or more often in the music building on campus. Kept my sleeping bag in my locker and just waited till the janitors left to go to bed. Since I had to be up before they came to open the building in the morning I wasn’t getting very much sleep, but damn I was getting a lot of hours of practice in.

Eventually we finished school and moved into a house together to pursue our act more seriously, which was a disaster and we broke up within a year. But that is another story.

And Now for the Show

Our Gootube channel seems to have disappeared, potentially due to a vindictive drummer, not sure, but here’s a selection of what I could find on the interwebs of Groove Service. Two of these were recorded in the UCSC recording lab in front of a live studio audience (of about 5 people). I did the production on all of them. The one below is a standard you might recognize called “Beautiful Love” and if you like that, check out this original written by Alex “Juicy J” Raymond himself called “Why Bother”, or even this rendition of “Since I Fell For You” which has probably my favorite solo I’ve got on record in it about halfway through. I hope you enjoy.

Sort:  

Congratulations @autobodhi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

you seem to be made to live the nomad life! car living back in the days and camping out at school :) super cool your last post was a kinda hit! regardless of that, I for sure do like the stories people have, but you knew that already... great to see it also drew the attention of some other curator teams and even a gigantic whale. keep them coming :) owwww, and I do like the music you shared here! and regarding your friend, tell him to share his stories, maybe with his music and I'll maybe able to give him some HIVE love as well :)

Yeah, I’ve always thrived on change and enjoyed being alone in a new environment. even now that I wanT to settle down and build something it’s like here is this momentum that wants to keep me rolling.

I finally got in touch with alex this morning, he goes mia for periods of time sometimes. I think he’ll get there eventually.

Cool! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I do love seeing that honeycomb show up on my posts. It lets me know when I’m moving in the right direction :)

We are watching you closely! :)

You sound like an old soul! :) hahah the kind of stories one likes to read, told in a very nice way. Great post!

I’m glad you like it :) I’m working on my story telling, I figure start with memory and then move on to fantasy...

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!