Spread The Vibes: Bring the funk!

in Q Inspired-by-Music2 years ago (edited)

guitar_905998_1920.jpgImage by Jose Araica from Pixabay

This is the time to bring a unique sound. Funk is funky and knows how to roll. This is the type of music that will get you out on the dance floor or the living room. Get on down with your soon to be discovered bad self as they say. Who says? I says!!

The sound came out of the 1960's but most will be associated with the 70's and 80's. Funk is continually evolving and with the advent of sampling it will never disappear. You'd be surprised how many records are sampled for rare grooves in any type of music from this genre. Crate diggers looking for new beats have mined this area for decades now. Can you blame them? There is always something new and fresh that is still waiting to be discovered.

I got this notification from @ewkaw, hmmm probably something funny as we have always had fun on here since I wandered over. Twas only recently when I discovered some music postings. Interesting, I ask the open-ended question that's good to get a conversation started.

"What are you listening to lately?"

The rest is history, a couple YouTube links later and here we are. This is the best way to discover music in my opinion.

I'm looking through @ewkaw's posting right now. A nice varied selection on display here

U2
Blur
George Michael
Sting

Great choices. I know these people and they've got all the hits under their belt.

Then I see some artists I haven't seen before

U3
Taco Hemingway

U3 brings out an interesting jam. A little jazzy with an afro vibe. Right up my alley and if you're being released on Blue Note records you are within an elite group of artists. Great pick!

Taco Hemingway, I initially thought this was a parody group based on the name. Completely mistaken on this one. An impactful message in Polish, a conscious hip-hop recording combined with a powerful video. While I missed the bulk of the impact I did do some research afterwards. The eight stars I was unfamiliar with but now I know exactly what it means. The photo of a supporter standing beside President Andrzej Duda while wearing the 8 stars says a lot. Spreading information though music or anything surrounding it is what I love. Do a search like me and learn something you may not have known.

You can visit @ewkaw's posting here to get all these interesting selections and links to the music in question

https://ecency.com/hive-192806/@ewkaw/spread-the-vibes-by-numbers

Time for my additions. Here we go.

James Brown – Sex Machine

Get up on it. Let's start off with the undisputed King of Funk and Soul, James Brown. If you have someone draping a cape over you after your exhausting performance you know you've made it. The amount of excitement and energy brought to his performances is amazing.

This is the whole package. The songs are wonderful and the performances take on a life of themselves. A giant within the genre and terribly missed but never forgotten.

Stevie Wonder – Superstition

Once you hear this opening riff you'll never forget it. A song about actual superstitions. I can't stop moving when this comes on. Not to mention it was featured in The Thing (1982), one of my favorite horror movies. This song is blasting out of a character's radio and another character asks them to "Turn off this crap", of course he ignores him completely haha, I would too. You must stop what you're doing and get your swerve on.

George Clinton - Atomic Dog

No collection of funk can be mentioned without George Clinton. He's influenced the fashion world and hip-hop in general. A classic from him and is one of the biggest names within the genre. He also influenced another dog with a monster smash hit within the hip-hop genre, you'll need to add another g to dog.

Cameo – Word Up

Is that LeVar Burton in the official video? Sure is!

Was this the song that popularized the term "Word Up"? This might be true. This is one dope track. Of course it is, word up.

Drum hits that sound like gun shots with such a unique voice cutting through the funky beat. The outfits, the dance and everything screams 80s. What's not to love it's 1986 after all. In case you don't know how to spell WORD you will never forget it.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Walkabout

Fast-forward to the 90s, sometimes people forget RHCP has so many funk tracks. The is a fun one that gets my head nodding. This is one of the many perfect songs for doing your own walkabout. Keep it cool and make your own adventures like I do.


This list could go on forever and there are so many missed classics. What can you do? Stop writing of course haha

Let's invite some interesting people who may wish to post about the music they enjoy

@mineopoly
@stickupboys
@beeber

The guidelines can be found here.

I hope I followed the general guidelines here. I'm a big music lover and mostly any style so either way it was fun composing this. Keep the funk alive in whatever you do.

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by the Stick Up Boys Curation team!
Because we love your content we've upvoted and reblogged it!
Keep on creating great quality content!


Follow @stickupcurator for great music and art content!
Have some !PIZZA because...

Thank you very much.

Oh, you brought funky vibes!!!! Who can resist this, and not follow the rhythm? ... at least with the part of the body that is free while sitting at the desk :D ? Ok, we should all get up now :)

I like all of your shares, but have to be honest and say that the one I have never heard of is your third share, George Clinton - Atomic Dog.

How cool that you followed up @ewkaw's Spread The Vibes post 🙌

...and you asked for a time limit? This was super in time :)

untitled.gif

I see you're in the groove with these great music references. I wish I could be caught in the spelling and grammar groove, I re-read this post again and noticed more mistakes. My auto correcting brain doesn't notice anymore 😀

George Clinton is the funkmaster and I'm glad to hear you found something you haven't heard before.
!PIZZA

I know that feeling... the same when I spot a mistake in spelling or grammar... Do you use Grammarly? It is a good tool, although I sometimes don't listen to it so mistakes are here :D

I tried it out when it first came out and I wasn't too fond of it. I'll need to check it out again as most of the checkers in major office suites appear to get worse over time in my experiences.

I find it useful, so my recommendation is to check it out once again. Even when I write now this comment, it can correct me if I misspell something, but as I said, sometimes I don't pay attention to it and publish the comment or post with mistakes... :/

..and FUNK it is! Those are some GREAT funky tracks you've added and shared in that post of yours! Most of them are known to me, and like you, I have difficulties not moving at all when listening. The Red Hot, I wasn't aware of, but sounds super as well!

Really Steve Wonder and his Funky one in a Horror movie? Must be a humouristic horror one then {LOL} The Thing: Rings a bell, maybe even watched it a long time ago, but to be honest, I don't remember a thing about it.

Welcome to the land of funk 😀

It's true, Superstition was in The Thing (1982) let's see if I can dig up a scene from that one. The cook knows how to roll literally, he's got on a pair of roller skates. I'll need to try this the next time I'm cooking something in the kitchen.

The Thing is a remake of the original film from the 50s.

I don't remember a thing about it

I see you've brought the jokes too. This is my type of comment and thanks for reading.

The Thing (1982) Superstition scene

The Thing (1982) Trailer

The Thing from Another World (1951) Trailer

😂😂😂 cooking on skates... I can't even stand on them, let alone cook with them 😂
The one thing I remember is that Kurt Russell is the lead or one of the lead characters in the movie.
Owww an original exists, not seen that one.

Oh nice one, we have done a bit about music we love and have our own playlists but we also have done a few posts about films with great soundtracks! Not heard Cameo for along time...great track and love George Clinton! Deffo given me something to think about! Thanks for all the music!

My pleasure. I know you have all the beats and might have been interested. I think stickupboys and not only gifs come to mind. Appreciate the visit!
!PIZZA

There is always something timeless about a grooving bassline.

I love em and funk seems to have latched on to them tightly.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
buffalobison tipped stickupboys (x1)
buffalobison tipped ninahaskin (x1)
buffalobison tipped mipiano (x1)
@stickupcurator(1/10) tipped @buffalobison (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Oh that was Groovy!
What a cool picks.

untitled.gif

For Cameo I think I enjoyed the video more than the song... because of the style. Damn those 80's! What a fun thing to watch :D
And would have never guessed that the last one is RHCP. Nice one.

A little jazzy with an afro vibe.

That's a perfect description I was missing.

Taco... yea.. I have no idea why that name and I didn't really bother looking for it. He knows how to pass a message though :)

80s fashion is in a whole other dimension in most of those videos. I wonder when the 90s will have a resurgence? Maybe in the 2030's haha

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it and thanks for the curation. This was super fun and we'll have to do another one sometime.

Mr. Powers is one groovy cat but wait.. you're a cat too? Needs some electro beats in the background to complete the effect

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

hey thanks for mentioning me :-) thats funny, it seems funk isnt my favourite. I know the songs, but they never really touched my heart. Except the first riffs of Stevie Wonders Superstition.
looking foreward to buffalos next music edition ;-) !LUV

Stevie's quite a funky guy and Superstition fills the funk quota nicely. I can't get over the amount of hits he's put out over the years. Thanks for the visit.

Thanks for the visit @ocd. I hope you're having a funky good time looking for interesting content!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Cool. Thanks for inviting me to spreadthevibes. Looks excellent. Monday is never the same after listening to James Brown.

Thanks for the visit. I can't help but think of this song. Have a great week 🙂

There are so many references to songs in family guy but he does not play anything he has to pay copyrights for. Macfartland is a genius and a sick freak.

Do you still watch the show? I gave up on it along with American Dad awhile back

Season twenty is interesting with some very rude jokes, but better than Saturday night live. I don't think there is much very left to watch that we didn't watch already. South Park had a cool pandemic special but I wouldn't watch more than two episodes of that... you might get sick. They should put some kind of warning on cartoons today like they put on alcohol... do not operate heavy machinery while watching South Park... it may cause intense migraines.

You made my Tuesday morning with your choice of awesome tracks! A few gems I hadn't heard in several years (James Brown & Cameo ), and even one that was new to my ears (George Clinton).

Please put some more quarters in the jukebox! @buffalobison

🎶🎺🎤👨‍🎤🎸🥁🎵

George Clinton seems to be the new one for a few people. I'm glad you had some fun. Have a great week and the music will always be playing around here.

!PIZZA