Why Do You Play??

in Q Inspired-by-Music3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


The sunray reached the way through the big window and played on the marble floor. It caressed with its light that cold surface, shiny in itself, like a frozen lake on which a skater makes his pirouettes over and over again. Perfect pirouettes and movements, accompanied by the sounds of heavenly music... hmm, yes, it was Mozart, I remember well.

You know, Mozart’s music is a mystery to me to this day, as other composers also wrote their works in the style of classicism, used the same composing techniques, and had perhaps the same role models... yet the harmony you feel when you listen to Mozart's music is so simple but so perfect. It is a unique harmony, heavenly indeed. Clean, transparent, each note is exactly in its place in height and speed where it should be, nothing could be imagined differently and better than this genius has already written.

Cradled by that sound of Mozart Concerto in G that was reaching my hearing, still watching the dance of that sunbeam that moved slightly by a few centimetres, I felt good. Happy to be able to attend that moment, not realizing that in just a few days all activities of this type will be just a thing of the past. March of twenty-twenty was still starting to count its days. Not realizing either that the music will stay in the past tense for that moment too, as the reaction to one hand movement, the violin and piano stopped providing us music. Even the sunray seemed to fade away a bit, in the uncertainty of the moment.

His hand slowly dropped, and silence reigned. Our eyes were suddenly on him, waiting for a reaction, and the girl with the violin in her hand felt easier that no one was looking at her anymore. Relief, but only until the second he spoke.

-What is your name and how old are you?

-E...

-Can you repeat, I didn't hear you.

-Emma...and I am 17...

-I see. Oh, what young and playing this Concerto, I thought you were a student from the University. But anyway, why do you play the violin? Why, if one day you decide to do more music studies, why would you do that?

Silence in the hall. Just a seemingly easy question took an eternity to respond to. Emma was waiting a bit but finally said something.

-I like the sound of music.

-Well, I bet everyone in this room likes the sound of music, the listeners would not be here if not. But that is not a reason to play. There has to be something more, Emma. You can not dedicate your life to something just because you like to sound of it. Please think about that.

Emma seemed to be smaller and smaller, trying to hide from the attention and views that waited for the answer. I wanted to entertain myself with the light dance on the marble floor, to be at least one pair of eyes less looking at her. Unfortunately, the sun decided to move further from the whole situation and leave us to concentrate on this music masterclass. The prestigious violin professor finally spoke and helped the young girl.

-Music is a medium to speak to others. If you are shy, and you don't like to talk, you have to express yourself in other ways. Do you like the sound of music? Ok, let you express your feelings and thoughts through it then. Don't keep your thoughts to yourself, share them. Show them by playing, give your love to those played notes, don't just play them pale. Transmit! Stand firmly behind your ideas a play music, not just notes!

The masterclass continued in the form it is usually realized, explaining the way of playing the passages, giving great instructions on dynamics, music form analysis and hints on how to achieve better control over the bow and sound. However, we all knew that that young girl learned a more valuable lesson than any technique advice she got in that hour. Speak through your music and transmit.

Remembering that nice violin masterclass of a prestigious violin professor whose name will not be revealed now, I decided to grab some Mozart scores and play music. Not perfectly, there are some slips but doesn't matter, I hope. One of his Sonatas, a very famous one, called also Sonata Facile, that would be "Easy Sonata". So, it is not very difficult but the title is definitely misleading. It is not so easy that you can see it and play just like that.


Final question!
What would you respond in such a situation when the teacher asked the young student why does she play? Whatever your profession is, why have you chosen to study for it? Was it a good decision, was it your choice, and would you change now that?

P.S. I would like to clarify that the name of the violinist girl is not real, but that the professor will maybe visit again this music-writing corner. We will see.. If you are interested in his next teaching session, visit sometimes this community and find out has he came back :)


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I make music because it is a totally different world for me, where I let my feelings flow, my passions, my loves, my sadness and pains, I really love making music, I have written songs even crying, I have made guitar solos crying, for me music is a gift from God for those who need it or to transmit what should be transmitted, music is love, it is revolution, passion, peace, tranquility, happiness and a unique language with which you can achieve magnificent things, happiness and an incomparable language with which you can achieve magnificent things, that's why I play, that's why I sing, that's why I make music, I have been even these days working hard at home, I still have health problems but I decided to resume the musical world in a more professional way and I am already working on productions that I will begin to share in a few months here in hive, 3sepeak and youtube, greetings @mipiano , a hug and I wish you much peace, happiness and blessings!

Hey @jaredkhamanah

I know you are struggling right now with your problems with gum. Did you already have the medical check? Do you need another surgery?

What a great answer to the question, right into the center of the meaning of it - emotions! Provoking emotions:

  • of the person who creates the music!
  • of the person who plays the music!
  • of the person who listens to the music!

I had a full day again, starting from stuff at home, work and had another rehearsal, so it passed 21:30 when I came home, tired but happy. We practised the pieces for one concert, with a choir, and I had goosebumps playing some parts, even if it was just a rehearsal. I am maybe boring with this thing, but this is one is on these days, practising and having rehearsals ;D
I am not really able to explain why it is happening, how it can affect us this way... but it does. Also in one concert, with the same choir a few years ago, there, in the stage, the connection was so good and the atmosphere magical, and a song too sad, that we had tears in our eyes. How? Anyway, I would not change it for else.

I am already working on productions that I will begin to share in a few months here in hive

Wow, that is good! I wish you a lot of inspiration, energy, and success in this production, I am for sure I will be happy to listen to the songs :)

<3 tomorrow the doctor will tell me what to do with my case.... They did other studies to decide what action to take, I hope everything can get better!
I will be reporting what happens, thanks for asking! c: @mipiano

I hope everything can get better!

I wish you the best results 🙏 And yes, I would like to know what happens ;)
Fingers crossed 🤞

It seems like taken out of a movie or something. There are certainly some things about punctuation that could make the passage have the pauses musicality demands. But the feeling is there. There's also the things of word choice, but that's like harmony. You know spice to music. Hmm... About the answer, it would the same thing here. However, I wouldn't hesitate to say music is a means of communication. It's like why I write the way I do. I'm not a talker, so I need a way to get my ideas and feelings through. Same thing happens with music and shy people. It is a good lesson is like that thing one sees about Beethoven about playing without passion.

You would answer the same, that you like the sound of music? Seems normal, maybe we would all give a similar answer in that situation. But for sure it can not be just because of that, right? There has to be some passion, or goosebumps while playing (ok, it can happen with listening too, no need to play) ... But happiness while you learn a new piece and you go through the text and it is like opening a new world to you...like meeting an awesome person, reading an interesting book...and giving others the opportunity to meet the same person you met, through your interpretation.
Or the feeling when you play music with someone else, that is more than great... Plenty of reasons why would we play.

And would you change your current job for something else ? (yeah, I know from your post the other day, you would prepare cakes :) )

Well, I meant my answer would be that music helps us communicate things that fall short on words. There's a whole lot of things around that idea of communication through music.

About the other thing, well, I'm not exactly a musician in the sense of the complete artist concept. I'm more a hobby player, so I can't really say stopping playing would be changing what I do. My focus is more on making instruments at the moment, but I wouldn't change it. Making tools for people that want to express themselves through music is a rewarding experience.

Somehow I always have the image of you conducting a choir so for me you are a musician who makes instruments :) hehe
But, yes, I know that your focus is on making the instruments, I remember you sent one to Spain, cool! International luthier Bertrayo !!

Making tools for people that want to express themselves through music is a rewarding experience.

This is so good, we should really appreciate more the people who are making our instruments. A good violin, viola, cello, mandolin...has to come from good hands. The piano is more industrial, unfortunately, there is no way one person could make a piano in that handcrafted way.

There is one make of piano, Fazioli. They are focusing more on quality and details (and requests of buyers) instead of quantity, that said just a bit more then a hundred of pianos are made per year..

but I wouldn't change it.

That is what I wanted to know too, so that is cool, that you are doing what you like 👍 👏

Well, I wasn't even thinking about choirs for some reason. I guess that makes me a musician even if I deny it.

I remember you sent one to Spain, cool! International luthier Bertrayo !!

I still haven't send it. It's the one I'm still making. But it will get to Spain next year (probably).

This is so good, we should really appreciate more the people who are making our instruments. A good violin, viola, cello, mandolin...has to come from good hands. The piano is more industrial, unfortunately, there is no way one person could make a piano in that handcrafted way.

Yes, it's such a long process. There's too many things involved into crafting an instrument. Making one to specific demands must be even harder. I gotta brace myself for it.

There is one make of piano, Fazioli. They are focusing more on quality and details (and requests of buyers) instead of quantity, that said just a bit more then a hundred of pianos are made per year..

Sounds interesting. Of course a piano needs a lot of machinery to get ready. I know tuning one is a job on itself. There's too many pieces involved in the mechanisms of that instrument.

That is what I wanted to know too, so that is cool, that you are doing what you like 👍 👏

I just wanted to engage on this fine post. It's a nice question put there to people. Hopefully, there are more answers to come. 😄

I guess that makes me a musician even if I deny it.

You see!! You are, but now you gave more weight to the instrument making activity. And, my bad, I thought you already sent the one with Spanish destination, so this is what you are working on now. Ok!

And thank you so much for your engagement 🙌 It mans a lot for this corner :)

Ha, ha, ha. I'm glad to get into some good conversation on comments!

And thank you so much for your engagement 🙌 It mans a lot for this corner :)

Means a lot from this side of the Atlantic too :D

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day