You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keep calm and...

I'm not sure how I missed this Update. In reading this post, what I thought was impossible has now become totally impossible to comprehend how anyone could have such skills. A lot of what you were explaining might as well be rocket science.

The one thing I did understand is just how difficult it is to acquire the muscle memory necessary to play this piece. I was getting cramps in my fingers just listening to your explanation of what it takes.

You may not be able to rock this piece just yet, but what a talent you truly are, gifted, to say the least.

I really enjoyed listening to the clip you included showing you practicing, thanks for sharing.

When I first listened to this piece played by Yuja Wang, her performance was unreal, almost like she had been possessed and a spirit was moving her. On several occasions, the girl almost seemed to be floating above the bench, ready to jump out of her skin.

I hope I don't miss the next update.

Sort:  

And I am not sure how I missed your comment on this post 😱
Sorry for being a bit late with the reply, but I just saw this one.

Hahaha, rocket science 😜
Well, for me are rocket science level many other things I see around, it all depends on what we had an interest in when children (or adults) and developed a skill for that.
For me, music was the number one from my early childhood, at 5 I started to play "with" the piano, and at the age of 8, I started with lessons in music school. From that moment I knew what my profession would be. 🎶🎶🎶🎶

Thank you so much for checking out this update, I really appreciate it. Although as I say, just saw your comment on this post. 😬

Being exposed to a piano at a young age worked out really well. You must have had a piano at your home. Now, on the other hand, I could have had 10 pianos in my home when I was growing up, and I don't think it would have helped. Although I enjoy all kinds of music, I've got very little rhythm.
I'm not a good dancer, but when the wife says it's time to hit the dance floor I happily oblige. But when I get out there I seem to be clapping to the beat when no one else is.
It kind of goes like this, everyone on the dance floor hears one beat, they clap in harmony, and I hear my beat and clap all by myself. It's kind of funny and I like to tease my better half.

Yes, we did piano at home, as my mom and aunt also played the piano, but they stopped at some point with the lessons. Though that piano stayed at home so it was my discovery 😇
I am not a good dancer either. Actually, it is not that I am bad or not, I do feel the rhythm and can do it when I am guided, but maybe I am just a bit shy to do it freely when other people are looking.

But when I get out there I seem to be clapping to the beat when no one else is.

hahha, let's look at it from the positive side: a unique style of clapping :D

This weekend there is an event at my place, it focuses on alternative lifestyle, eco-agriculture, workshops, conferences, market and also there is live music. I went yesterday afternoon and was truly happy to see people dancing! I will probably visit it today too as it lasts for the whole weekend.

Btw, have a great weekend @thebigsweed 😇 🥂