Confinement, error and pride - confinamiento, error y orgullo

in DClub3 years ago

20201107_154435_edited.jpeg

Yesterday I commented that I returned to playing golf after many months of compulsory confinement, although it is true that at home I have a stationary bicycle and that I use it with a certain regularity (I must admit that less than I should), it is not enough to maintain a certain muscle tone throughout the body.

The lack of physical exercise and the confusion of my friend Oscar led me to the unfortunate situation today: all my muscles hurt and as I said yesterday in a sarcastic tone, even some that I did not even know I had.

Perhaps if we had taken it more calmly now, I would not be in this unfortunate situation but other factors in addition to the lack of mobility and exercise were combined to make this happen.

I arrived earlier than the agreed time, it is my fault but it is also true that I do not like being late anywhere, I prefer to wait to be expected. Sometimes that custom is a bit exaggerated, like this time when I arrived 40 minutes earlier than agreed.

20201107_165812_edited.jpeg

As always happens when you want time to pass faster, you don't do it and then take a walk around the facilities, huge by the way, I couldn't take it anymore I went to the boxes and bought a bucket of 100 balls, for two people after many months without moving was fine. I chose a box, texted my friend, and started doing some stretching and warm-up exercises.

A while later I was already throwing the first balls, quite bad by the way but not as much as I suspected, muscle memory is told to execute a movement in a certain way repeatedly.

20201107_152503_edited.jpeg

The biggest problem arose when my friend appeared with another bucket of 100 balls, he had not seen my previous message, so now each one had a large number of balls to practice, it is not much if you do not take into account the step of the weather. In a good moment, practicing 2 or 3 times a week and playing on Saturdays, I could throw 300 or 400 balls without major problems.

It took us a lot to finish each one of us, even my friend, who is in a more unfortunate physical condition than mine, gave me about 5 more balls because he couldn't keep shooting.

Out of shame, prejudice, or pride we did not return the second bucket and now we are paying the consequences. We promised to return next weekend, to improve not only our technique but also our muscular response, for now, I have already grabbed a pair of dumbbells from my wife and I am looking more fondly at the stationary bike.


separador.png


Ayer comenté que volví a practicar golf después de muchos meses de confinamiento obligatorio, si bien es cierto que en casa tengo una bicicleta fija y que la utilizo con cierta regularidad (debo reconocer que menos de lo que debería), no alcanza para mantener una cierta tonicidad muscular en todo el cuerpo.

La falta de ejercicio físico y la confusión de mi amigo Oscar me llevaron a la lamentable situación de hoy: me duelen todos los músculos y como dije ayer en tono socarrón, incluso algunos que ni siquiera sabía que tenía.

Quizás si lo hubiéramos tomado con más calma ahora no estaría en esta situación lamentable pero se combinaron otros factores además de la falta de movilidad y ejercicio para que esto ocurriera.

Yo llegué más temprano de la hora acordada, es mi culpa pero también es cierto que no me gusta llegar tarde a ningún lado, prefiero esperar a ser esperado. En ocasiones esa costumbre es un tanto exagerada, como esta vez que llegué 40 minutos antes de lo acordado.

Como siempre ocurre cuando uno desea que el tiempo pase más rápido, no lo hace y luego dar una vuelta por las instalaciones, enormes por cierto, no aguanté más fui hasta las cajas y compré un balde de 100 pelotas, para dos personas luego de muchos meses sin movernos estaba bien. Elegí un box, le envié un mensaje a mi amigo y comencé a hacer algunos ejercicios de estiramiento y precalentamiento.

Un rato después ya estaba tirando las primeras pelotas, bastante mal por cierto pero no tanto como sospechaba, memoria muscular le dicen a eso de ejecutar un movimiento de determinada manera en forma repetida.

El mayor problema se presentó cuando apareció mi amigo con otro balde de 100 pelotas, no había visto mi mensaje anterior, así que ahora cada uno disponía de un elevado número de pelotitas para practicar, no es mucho si no se tiene en cuenta el paso del tiempo. En un buen momento practicando 2 o 3 veces por semana y jugando los sábados podía tirar 300 o 400 pelotas sin mayores inconvenientes.

Nos costó horrores terminar cada uno su balde, inclusive mi amigo que tiene un estado físico más lamentable que el mío, me dio unas 5 pelotas más porque ya no podía seguir tirando.

Por vergüenza, prejuicio u orgullo no devolvimos el segundo balde y ahora estamos pagando las consecuencias. Nos prometimos volver el fin de semana próximo, para mejorar no solamente nuestra técnica sino también nuestra respuesta muscular, por lo pronto ya agarré un par de mancuernas de mi esposa y estoy mirando con más cariño la bicicleta fija.


Las fotografías son de mi propiedad excepto las que menciono la fuente.
The photographs are my property except those mentioned by the source.

Héctor Gugliermo
@hosgug