One of my father's sayings is: *"Those who go back halfway don't get t ...

in DBuzz3 years ago

One of my father's sayings is: "Those who go back halfway don't get tired."

It's supposed to mean: "know when to stop pursuing a goal" or "Change your mind sooner not later."

Wrote it as a reply but it sounds stupid in English. It's sounds cooler in our local Arabic dialect.

Posted via D.Buzz

Sort:  

The closest English quote/saying I know of might be "Progress is impossible without change; and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything." from GB Shaw.

But the idea seems closer to the business concept of "fail fast, fail often".

Posted via D.Buzz

"fail fast, fail often"

Haven't seen that in larger scale in Germany

That's an interesting quote... I heard the "fail faster" before. They guys who I learned it from are changing it to "fail better."

Posted via D.Buzz

Yeah, some sayings don't translate properly

Posted via D.Buzz

I think most of them are... That's one of the reasons to learn new languages, nothing can be transferred from one language to another with 100% accuracy.

Posted via D.Buzz

Ahh, the second one seems a bit more accurate.

Maybe:

If you are going yo change your mind, change your mind sooner, not later.

Posted via D.Buzz

Yeah, that's what I wanted to write but since the character's limited I opted to save space. #FirstBuzzProblems

Posted via D.Buzz

Ah okay 😅