@dbuzz just sent out a Witness Vote for @hextech. - Main reason for v ...

in DBuzz3 years ago

@dbuzz just sent out a Witness Vote for @hextech.

  • Main reason for voting is that @rishi556 has been incredibly helping in the background via Discord by helping Me & our team

The Witness is managed by @rishi556, @sn0n & @edicted

Posted via D.Buzz

Sort:  

He is a mate!

Posted via D.Buzz

I meant to Hashtag it #NotYourHardwareNotYourWitness.

Or do you rent servers from someone else?

  • @dbuzz will eventually only vote for Witnesses that own their own Hardware , once 30+ Witnesses do

    Posted via D.Buzz

We rent hardware. Its quite expensive to run on own hardware since colocation prices are practically what we are paying for our server. @sn0n really does want us to have one of our own servers though, but I don't think it'll be a reality(at least for us) in the near future.

I'm also aiming to have the hextech servers on a host that other witnesses aren't, to add some of that diversity to the mix. It's on the roadmap, thanks for asking @chrisrice
I'll see if we can prioritize this and make it happen Q3/4.

I would love to do it too. We are starting to break even on witness earnings, I assume we want to put the extra towards saving for hardware(Ryzen system with NVME please)?

yea, anything past current server costs I intend to be put towards growth of our services.

@apshamilton said he was able to buy pretty good hardware that only cost the equivalent of 9 months worth of server rent @sn0n @rishi556

The security of the blockchain is at risk due to the Top 20 using similar server rentals.

  • 20+1 Witnesses is already centralized 😬

    Posted via D.Buzz

He is running it at home. If I try and do that here, the initial sync will eat up most of my bandwidth cap(yup, we got those on home internet here in America). And I don't trust Xfinity to be stable enough to run a witness at home. We also have really low rent on our server since only about a quarter is being used for our witness, the rest other things.

Is Xfinity your Internet Service Provider?

Posted via D.Buzz

Yeah diversity at the least is VERY important

I heard that #Privex might host enough of the Top 20 Witnesses to control #Consensus

That's an incredibly dangerous thought if true

  • 20 different Service Providers / Hardware Owners in the #Top20 is needed

#DecentralizeHive

Posted via D.Buzz

I don't think most of the top 20 are on Privex. Definately not spread out enough(I'm assuming most are on Hetzner since they are one of the cheapest hosting providers out there). We definitely need more fullnodes out in America as nearly all the fullnodes are in Europe.

Ah okay, thank you, yes, I may not br well informed.

  • I'm still trying to get to know everyone.

We should get on to of this though, it's important! 👍

Posted via D.Buzz