This is an important story, brought to my attention by @anonymouser on #DBuzz . ...

in DBuzz4 years ago

This is an important story, brought to my attention by @anonymouser on #DBuzz . . What does everyone think about it?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lavabit

Sort:  

I did not know that you are also interested in online privacy. Thanks for sharing!

I am also surprised about you including the adjective "important" in the story. I believe that every story about our privacy being compromised is indeed "important". Thanks again.

Good point @anonymouser I guess I am not that familiar with other cases like this, but I noticed that the person discussed in this particular case experienced legal problems, and maybe even harassment, simply for building end-to-end encrypted software, and for protecting users.

It’s good that there are individuals willing to stand up to government encroachment. I can’t say that I’ve heard about DIME in the past couple years. If end to end encryption does become the norm, it’s going to be more important to have secure devices.

Great point @shainemata! But I think it's going to be hard to open-source hardware than software, so ensuring that our devices are secure might be a major hurdle!

I agree with you. No matter how secure our open-source operating systems and applications are, we must also make sure that the firmware on our device hardware are free from embedded spyware.

P.S. I added 600+ HP to @chrisrice, so I should give a $0.02 upvote now 🙂

I could see that "@chrisrice added more Hive Power to @chrisrice". I was expecting to see "I added 600+ HP to my account".

By the way, don't worry about your vote less than $0.02, because I use the @dustsweeper service.

Thanks for the replies and upvotes!

@chrisrice is my personal account that I use for Posting, but I hold Hive and HP on behalf of @emafe (my wife) and other family members in multiple accounts, so I usually refer to the account I moved funds from/to as opposed to saying "I", "Mine", etc.

I am just assuming that some of my comments were already more than 280 characters.

I have purchased 0.5 HIVE worth of upvotes from @dustsweeper for you. Your upvotes for me have been worth more than that.

Btw, from what I have seen, you are Posting high quality content on #DBuzz, and it would be great if your activity here helped the new #Community you created 😀🖐

Thanks a lot for your appreciation!

Maybe you should also use the @dustsweeper service too, so that votes on you that have a total of at least $0.001 but less than $0.02 will automatically get upvoted by @dustsweeper on the 5th or 6th day to ensure you get your author reward.

For now, I think I will just Power Up #Hive to increase my voting power 🙂

Sorry, I do not that think you understood my comment.

@dustsweeper scans your own (not those you vote on) posts and comments on the 5th or 6th day, and upvotes those that have at least $0.001 but less than $0.02 to ensure that your author rewards do not become dust.

@chrisrice

I have made a lot of mentions of @dustsweeper's service, but it seems that you haven't replied about it. Maybe you are bombarded by so many notifications about d.buzz and other Hive dapps that you are unable to reply to them all.

I think I replied but maybe it didn't go through, but yes, I reply to almost every single Buzz that people send out, and I reply to replies sometimes too.

As the userbase & engagement grows, it is getting harder and harder to do 😄🤙

It might be the time to hire more administrators. However, I don't think I can do my part if I become a d.buzz administrator, since I never became interested in Twitter or similar apps.

What is "Firmware"?

Firmware is read-only software that is embedded into all computer hardware so that the operating system can communicate with the said hardware.

Ah okay @anonymouser that explains it. Can spyware or anything that's not supposed to be on a personal computer be built into the hardware itself, or does privacy / data leaks from brand new computers always stem from, or accompany the fireware added to the computer? 🧐🧠

Does privacy or data leaks from brand new computers always stem from, or accompany the firmware added to the computer?

Not necessarily. Spyware-laden firmware often (but not always) causes data leaks, and data leaks are not always caused by firmware with spyware.

Can spyware or anything that is not supposed to be on a personal computer be built into the hardware itself?

Yes, and that is what you call spyware-laden firmware.

By the way, I could still see that your vote is only $0.01 from here. Do you see $0.02 from there? What Hive dapp are you using to post? If you saw $0.02 at the time of your upvote, maybe it became $0.01 because the value of HIVE is currently going down.

Ah yeah, maybe that is it.. the low price of #Hive might have lowered my vote to $0.01. I think I powered up 600 HP after asking you what my vote was... P.S. I am using #DBuzz.

I like the d.buzz community, yet I am sorry to say this but the d.buzz website is quite unusable using the Tor browser.

In a way, we should be grateful the Feds are forcing people to create more and more secure tools. 🤔

That's one way to look at it! 🙂