Is it possible to run a #Hive #witness node on a raspberry pi device? If no, why ...

in DBuzz4 years ago

Is it possible to run a #Hive #witness node on a raspberry pi device? If no, why not? Where will the resource constraints be?

Sort:  

If there is someone who knows the answer it would be @themarkeymark. He has some raspberry pi experience.

My guess would be no due to not enough processing power in the PI. But I could be totally wrong. Don't know... sorry.

From what I gathered, you need at least 32 GB RAM. No Pi has enough, and it’s near impossible to add more.

If you trick the system to use microSD or a USB disk as RAM it’s horribly slow.

So I think this is a showstopper.

Yeah, this is correct.

Now, there are some things that can be disabled to bring the RAM requirements down...but probably not enough.

High performance blockchains need high performance nodes 🤷‍♂

Great thought though, and it looks like you've done some research on it :)

oh boy, this is too technical for me 😁😁 I wonder if @chrisrice knows anyone who could answer it 😉👍🏼

Posted using Dapplr

I never asked this question myself.

I am guessing the answer is no, it’s not possible. But looking into it and trying to verify.

Congratulations @hivetrending! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP