Well, dammit! I tried. I really, really tried. And it was very, very h ...

in DBuzz3 years ago

Well, dammit! I tried. I really, really tried. And it was very, very hard. So hard I actually gave up already. I just cant do it anymore.

After using a tiling WM for the last 8 months I can NOT handle going back to a full fledged desktop experience.

Sorry. No can do!

Posted via D.Buzz

Sort:  

What is WM?

  • Windows Mobile?

    Posted via D.Buzz

Lol. No its Window Manager. Not a traditional desktop environment. Very lightweight and fast. With a tiling window manager you typically use the keyboard to maneuver around the desktop rather than a mouse.

Which one are you using? I still got one laptop where I am using larswm. Sadly unavailable in recent distros.

Its InstantOS. It using instant window manager. I think it started as a fork of a bunch of suckless's stuff buts grown into uts own beast. Its pretty damn good, in ky opinion. https://instantos.io if you want to check it out.

Posted via D.Buzz

Ahh, so you use keys on the keyboard for shortcuts instead of a mouse?

It's hard for me to imagine not using a mouse or a touchpad.

Posted via D.Buzz

Thats how I was about 5 months ago. Now I cant seem to go back. Lol. I still use the mouse but its so much faster to just jump with a button push.

Posted via D.Buzz

Actually it's much more productive. Mouse was a very bad idea in terms of ease of use of a graphical interface. Rather naive imitation of a traditional pointer used by old-style professors. There was a lot of research done proving that keyboard-driven interfaces are much more efficient, yet few people are bold enough to switch. Bad habits win, as (almost) always.

Ah okay 👍

  • I think Silicon Valley will be pushing brain interfaces in the next few years though 😕

    Posted via D.Buzz

Are you sure you will be controlling your computer with your brain, or the other way around :)

Yeah, that's what the emoji at the end of my Buzz was for! LOL

Posted via D.Buzz

Congratulations @unklebonehead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP