"Free" has a terrible price. If you have been a "client" of Avast/AVG(same compa ...

in DBuzz4 years ago

"Free" has a terrible price. If you have been a "client" of Avast/AVG(same company) products please read this:

https://www.pcmag.com/news/the-cost-of-avasts-free-antivirus-companies-can-spy-on-your-clicks

You can still opt out if you proactively change the settings.

Sort:  

I wanted to use an open-source (and free) antivirus software (such as Immunet), but their effectiveness is bad enough that I'd still use a proprietary antivirus software even though the risks are high.

Wow. Do you know of any fun options to generate rubbish information?
I go out of my way to google things I'm not interested in, for example. I'll also sometimes send my phone on random journeys with friends; just to contaminate the data.
Going on a day trip? Sweet, can you take my phone in your glovebox please? Take my credit card and buy yourself a coffee. I'm going for a walk through the local shopping centre, to get on lots of cameras while you're gone.
If we can't stop them collecting it, we need to stop them from relying on it.

Do you know of any fun options to generate rubbish information?

I'm not using any such thing. I do some stuff like sharing profiles with family members to confuse algorithms and use different browsers (sometimes Tor) etc. This YouTube channel has lots of great information when it comes to privacy:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjr2bPAyPV7t35MvcgT3W8Q