Oh Yeah, I Have An Amaryllis In The Basement!

makephotogallery.net_1615735321616.png

Have You Ever Had One Of Those "Oh Crap" Moments? ..

That was me this weekend. Even after writing myself countless reminders, I still forgot about the Amaryllis that I overwintered in the basement months ago. I wanted to try and to remember to bring it up and force it out of sleep by March 1st. Well that came and went, and here it is the middle of March already! Where's my head at??

015148c93a60f552293b89ca21d61b168ac61fc753.jpg

I was down in the basement.. And noticed the Amaryllis there under the steps, in the darkest place I could find. We inherited the plant from my mom last March around this time. If interested, you can read about it here... We Inherited An Amaryllis!!!

01d66a8f993bf5a066980a44f8e83443282286ba52.jpg
I am not bring the beach chairs up and out just yet. They'll just have to wait, although I am really REALLY wanting to get summer jump started!

So I thought to myself, "self. There is no time like the present." And so I took the opportunity to bring the plant up and out of the dark depths of despair (aka the basement), and into the kitchen where I could attend to it.

012528c9434b3b0c3b5ebf542024ac08435fcf386e.jpg

Oh Boy! This Is Going To Take Some Work.. Not really. The old dead stuff comes off with relatively ease. Sort of like the dry layers of an onion, but much much easier than that. Under 'Mask Of Death', lies a healthy, plump Amaryllis bulb, and within minutes, she is revealed!

0148d51f21599dbda4a3dcd544210e4b1681fde99c.jpg

0161d59319799831a160cf80a7f3fc470f8eaed4fa.jpg

What's left is a pile of dead plant material

01694223c3822d42cc37b8618941e9f52c59f935a7.jpg

I am not quite done yet.. I gather up all of the dead plant material and toss it out. I want to give this girl the best chance at developing a beautiful red flower, so a little TLC is in order.

First Some Fertilizer

01fbdd59f1961a0dfbbfbbe1cd7262e96f8ba098e9.jpg

Then Some Water! YES.. Out of a red Solo Cup, because that's how we roll around here. Unfortunately I have no explanation or excuse for it.

01c5401bcfba417a416f0a88a10d0017ad13258a09.jpg

After the TLC Measures.. This girl is ready for some warmth, some sun, and some time in order to get busy with some growing. WATCH OUT MOLLY!!!! Here I come with an Amaryllis bulb!

She did a scoot and run thing that would make any Greyhound proud!

016deec95272bb9767ddb1095e04778bf3a1c1d81c.jpg

I found the perfect spot.. right by the rear sliding door. This spot gets tons of direct sunlight. That's why the other plants in this area LOVE this spot as well. Guess we are all going to have to learn how to share.

01d5e274a00378e1b183b5de30d87bc11bacd0e38f.jpg

Amaryllis Wake Up Task Complete!

Now that the Amaryllis is back to doing it's thing and happy that I brought it out of a winter's slumber, I need to turn my attention to Molly. She saw the whole thing and was traumatized by the event. Go figure :-/ This little girl is crazy. So NOT interested in the crackling of dead matter or the re-introduction of more stuff into her environment.

0117fcda7a179de21e5238c4cd8a10a0dd523203f4.jpg

We Took A Load Off After The Process ..

We are going to have some reassurance everything is going to be okay, some puppy talk, and snuggles in order to get past it. hahaha. It's shaping up to be a productive weekend after all!

0145f0457966390c00111dcac0ecf3d6380e1d788e.jpg

Hive text divider.png

9243098597569872438967289.jpeg

“I saw that animals were important. I saw that plants were even more important. I was also to learn that compared to many of the other species, we weren't important at all except for the damage we do. We do not rule the natural world, despite our conspicuous position in it. On the contrary, it is our lifeline, and we do well to try to understand its rules.”
― Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, The Hidden Life of Deer: Lessons from the Natural World

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project??? Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Sort:  

That is pretty awesome. Sounds about how I am with my garden. Especially last year. I wanted to have it in early May and I don't think I actually got stuff planted until early June. I am always way behind where I want to be. By the time I went to the nursery, half of the plants were gone. I need to start growing from seeds and see if that works out better for me!

Haha.. That was so me last year. I put it off so long that we eventually only had one tomato plant. And that doesn't really count because it came up from the year before in the spot which sat a large plant. 😁

Haha, that is too funny. I am so bad with plants last year I had to hand pollinate my zucchini with a paint brush. Who can't even get zucchini to grow!

Looking forward to the day it blooms. Your mom will be proud. 🌺

My mom will love seeing the photos. She logs onto my blog to read it from time to time, so she will be surprised. Can't wait to see the bulb come back to life!😊

This will be so pretty! The lessons from the natural world are the best in making humans realize how small we really are

I am looking forward to watching it grow and eventually bloom again. Last year it was SOOOOooooo Pretty. Are you reading my quotes again? lol

Yup, I always read them, you caught me😂

!discovery 25

Thank you!!! As Always, I APPRECIATE the support 😁😊😁


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program