Recently Portrait Drawing Commission With Process Photos!

in Discovery-it3 years ago

Hi everyone, sharing with you today a recently completed portrait commission of a family friend. He was very happy with the final result and I will share the process with you all here below.


IMG_20210125_125428_430.jpg


I start with many quick marks trying to get a feel for the gesture and his energy. I am not too worried about proportions just focused on reflecting how he's feeling through the way I draw the fundamental strokes.
IMG_20201204_144558976.jpg

I then start to add the details and some of the tones to give his face shape.
IMG_20201213_121214692.jpg

Next, I make some adjustments in proportions to make sure everything is as accurate as possible to the original reference image. I also use a blending stump to blend the tones. However, this then made the face too dark which I then used a putty rubber to lighten the skin tones.
IMG_20201214_124227839.jpg

IMG_20201215_150751174~2.jpg

The final step involved smoothening the skin more as the rubber had left dotted marks and made final adjustments to the drawing that I may have missed. I find coming back to a drawing after a day or reflecting it in a mirror helps find any mistakes that I originally missed. I also add a slight bit of white charcoal in the pupils of the eyes to capture where light reflects of them and adds more life to the drawing.
IMG_20210125_125428_430.jpg
Completed on A3 paper with charcoal pencils
Time: 5+ hours



Thanks for stopping by and hope you enjoyed viewing the process to creating this art work!

@iansart


Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

!discovery 35


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

woowwwww!!!