Recovered Armor Tank from WORLD WAR II in Medellin Cebu Philippines | History you need to know!

in Discovery-it3 years ago (edited)

viber_image_2021-08-12_09-00-44-210.jpg

Hello Hivers , Look what I dug up from my gallery. An Armor tank that we found during our road trip in Medellin, Cebu Philippines.

viber_image_2021-08-12_10-55-07-554.jpg

Last December 2020, my colleague @indayclara invited us for an outing at her place in San Remegio, Cebu Philippines. Since it was December, the outing become a Christmas party.

We stayed at the beach for one day and made a road trip before heading home in Cebu City on the 2nd day.


We roamed around Medellin, Cebu, one of the neighboring towns of San Remegio. One thing we found out during this road trip was a US Army M5A1 Stuart tank which was excavated beside Dagusungan river.

viber_image_2021-08-11_11-23-15-835.jpg

I had felt excitement when one of my colleague told us that we will drop by and see an Armor used in World War II. My hearth beat was so fast because seeing this tank was one of my dreams as a child.

Way back in grade school and highschool, World War topic was one I looked up during our History subject. I don't know but my curiosity and imagination was broaded when we discussed about this.

viber_image_2021-08-11_11-23-15-582.jpg

I don't know if I'm just the one who do this but before I always imagined that I am in the middle of the war, holding some riffle and riding in an Armor tank fighting against the enemies. A childhood imagination that I enjoy a lot 😆.

Knowing the sad reality of this war while growing up, the brutal and devastating effect on us, It yearned in me to know the WHY. Why they do this war? and why here in our country, the Philippines?

As I learned in History class (as if I study🤣), the conclusion that I give why war happened is mainly due to TERRITORIAL reasons. The more country you colonized, the more powerful you are.

Why in the Philippines? Aside from the beautiful environment we have it is also because of natural resources found in the Philippines. Minerals, charcoals, oil, black sand and gold were found in my homeland. They see the value that the Philippines have that most Filipino's don't see yet.


Going back to this Armor. I learned that this was being unearthed last March 7, 2020 (Saturday) in Dagusungan River. This US Army M5A1 Stuart was used in World war II.

TT.JPG

Photo courtesy of Municipality of Medellin Cebu Facebook page

People said that this US-owned tank was crossing the Dagusungan bridge during World War II when it was bombarded by Japanese troops causing this to fall into the water.

2.JPG

Photo courtesy of Municipality of Medellin Cebu Facebook page

"A historical moment just transpired today in Medellin when finally the remaining half of the WWII US Army M5A1 Stuart tank was literally dug out from the Dagusungan river by the untiring boys,

The operation was headed by the Engineer Support Battalion, 53rd Engineer Brigade, and the Philippine Army.

The team worked through the wee hours of the morning into midnight, taking advantage when the tide was at its lowest."

The Municipality of Medellin Cebu wrote on its Facebook page. Click here for more information.


Additional Information

WORLD WAR I - An international conflict started on July 28,1914 and ended on November 11, 1918. Countries involved: United states, United Kingdom, Russia, Portugal, Ottoman Empire, Japan, Italy, Germany, France, and Bulgaria. Click here.

WORLD WAR II - conflict that involved virtually every part of the world started on September 3, 1939 and ended on September 2, 1945. Countries involved: Axis power ; Germany, italy and Japan and the Allied; France,Great Britain, United States, Soviet Union, and to the lesser extent China. Click here.


122.JPG

Photo courtesy to peace

Recovering this Armor reminds us all what happened in the past. The History that changed the humanity and the world. Hoping that this Armor will make everyone realized the devastating cause of War. Praying that there is no War in the future and only LOVE and PEACE will cover the World.


That's it Hivers thank you for dropping by in my Hive room , hoping you learned something in my Blog.This is @intoy.bugoy! See you in my next blog Hivers.... 😉


viber_image_2021-07-07_20-42-18-980.jpg

Intoy Bugoy

Not so tall, not so dark, not so handsome but surely I'm a CUTE one 😊.Your Civil Engineer, Real Estate Agent and Financial Adviser. I'm into Travel's and Photography. Knowing the culture of one place is my interest. Come and join me in discovering this infinite beautiful world following all my #LakwatsaniIntoy diaries (MyTravelstories).

If his content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment. Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on his jouey here on Hive.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow! 😍 that's really a treasure and you're so lucky you get to see it! Your childhood dream came true, I'll let you borrow a rifle next time? Char! Haha kusog Jud ang kulba sa excitement. 😊

Hahaha ayay.. lahi ra. Fighter?😊

Wow!!!! Ka cool never knew this til now, thanks for sharing @intoy.bugoy 💜

your welcome @jongcl 😊

So cool! It's rare to see this kind of parks now a days. Am glad they keep this as this is part of our history and the influenced our future generations that everyone should not forget.

Thanks for sharing, Intoy! 😊

Your welcome @purepinay 😊