You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: VIDEO: A Short River Cruise on the Rhine

in Discovery-it3 years ago

A river cruise would be an awesome way to experience that area. There are so many castles in such a short distance. Amazing. I recognize one spot (the Niederwald monument) from our trip last year to the Mosel Valley and beyond. Bingen looks really neat in your photos. Or maybe it's castle Ehrenfels, the one with the spirals of rock or cement

Sort:  

I think Bingen is a bit of a dump, as towns go. But the little villages along the river are neat and so are the castles. I like these river tours. They're entertaining, inexpensive, and involve very little walking.

I walked a little more than a klick from the parking to the market in Bruges and back. That little walk did me in for two days. Getting close to major surgery; risk and reward are beginning to balance out. Wheelchair without vs. wheelchair if the surgery goes wrong.

Hopefully a few more river cruises 'til then.

This might be a silly question but do you sleep on the cruises, like are they multi-days with rooms?

Surgery sounds like a difficult decision to make. I imagine thats not easy. It sounds like the surgery is starting to make the most sense though?

No, not a silly question at all. This was just a five-hour excursion. There are many of those, on all rivers with a scenic stretch, some as short as an hour, some as long as a day.

There are also plenty of proper river cruise ships with trips of a week and more, luxury cabins, entertainment, the works. There is a smaller one of those in the video at 2:15. These cruises can cost as much as an ocean cruise and you see an entire river, e.g. the Danube from Bavaria to the Black Sea. I understand there are even special flat bottom boats going down the Loire (which is a wild river w/o any water level management).

Surgery is coming closer. Not quite there yet.

OK that's good to know. My wife and I love ocean cruises but have never done a river cruise before. I think it would be cool to try and a good way to see a location. I don't know if we will actually do one but I may look into it a bit further. Thanks for the info!