Walks With Stickers Part 5: The Great Wipe

in Discovery-itlast year

This was once a growing sticker slap area. Sticker bombs, turf war, and more. But now the city has stepped in and wiped it away. A clean slate or a natural beauty?

It looks like many of the obvious stickers have been removed. I would guess that the city did it. An employee of the city must’ve finally taken the time to remove the abundance of stickers. Almost all have been removed. We can see the remnant here:

Remember, these small ventilation towers?

This was the scene of a potential turf war.

Now, it’s for none.


All that remains are the traces of sticker glue. Some of the glue has stuck. I wonder if someone will take the time to remove that glue. I’m not gonna lie. I’m glad the stickers are gone. I wish the glue was gone also. Rather symbolic of a half ass job. A thorough person, with good pay, and real concern would’ve probably used an alcohol-based solution to remove the glue left over from the stickers.

As we say in 2023, “better than nothing, right?”


Remember this green power box?

Before

After

It was the source of what I would call a sticker bombing or a “sticker bomb.” Now it's been wiped clean... almost!


Epic Survivor!?!?

After saying, all that, I have to share something that might be the most impressive of all survivors. Look at this QR code.



As I was taking a picture of this power box, former side of a sticker bombing, a recent site of onslaught, my cameras, QR code scanner went off. At first, I thought nothing of it. I moved on without reading or clicking on the QR code notification.



Where there’s so many stickers here that the person removing them didn’t realize it was part of a sticker slip? Did they not recognize the technology?

This is a mystery to be solved next time. I’ll be back and I’ll be checking to see if this is a survivor or part of the regular powerbox identification.

Survived an onslaught?
Survived a direct hit?


A few days later I return to answer my burning question.

Did they miss the QR code?


...


YES!!!
The cleaning crew missed a sticker slap!
(Also a new one is already here, "FUTILE.")




The QR code opens a website known as "EL Primo Brand."


EL Primo Brand's website contains band stuff, movie stuff and more. Find them on Instagram also.




https://www.instagram.com/elprimobrand/


They seem like a funny group of dudes creating stuff.

They should be proud of their sticker's resilience. I might contact them.


More survivors.


Achievement Unlocked!!!

A few that have survived.

Remember what I said about placing a sticker in high profile areas? Don’t expect longevity. Well, my instincts were correct. Many stickers have been removed.

I take great pride in the ones remaining.

Survivalist Achievement Unlocked!



Thanks for the support. Thanks for reading. Feel free to leave a comment or question or joke.







This post is an entry into SoCalHive's weekly contest. Wish me luck.
#SoCalHive is building and supporting the Hive Blockchain community in Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Hive, we'd love for you to follow us @theSoCalHive and join our group on Discord





Look for Tetrahedroseph's stickers on BandCamp: https://tetrahedroseph.bandcamp.com/merch

Sort:  

:( guess the city has to put a stop to these gang ways before it escalates..

True. It looks ugly the more it grows. I wish they had used alcohol or some kind of glue remover to wipe it clean. I believe the way it is now will simply encourage more sticker slapping. 

From the pictures that you have shared, the stickers are just making everything look clumsy. Too much of it will make those things ugly. Also, the person who reduced the stickers did a great job.

They did okay. Glue residue is ugly too.