Stepalicious towards September [Actifit Report — August 25 2021] {zero step glitch}

in Actifit3 years ago (edited)

IMG_5002 (3).png

crazy-cubic-shovel-bed-shed.jpeg


.

Recently, I have been hitting 10,000 steps quite often! You see, I recently moved from a small apartment in north Texas to a small house in Tennessee. For the first time in many years, I have an actual backyard to plant in! Though it is rather hot weather, I have enjoyed walking around outside and scheming on some ideas for the garden area, which has many open spaces begging to be filled.

My favorite thing to grow are edibles of all kinds; I love growing perennial herbs that get larger and more prosperous each year. At the same time, this is a rent house, so I don't want to sink too many financial resources into it. I am looking for creative ways to populate the garden gradually.

I was growing a few kinds of mint, rosemary, thyme, and culinary lavender flower in containers on the patio of my old apartment. From these, I plan to take some cuttings and try my hand at propagating them, so I can keep the potted plants in a movable state while risking smaller plants outdoors. I am not sure if I'll plant too much this autumn but definitely hope to do quite a bit next spring.

The local soil here is actually not too bad quality, though it is a little clayish at times. The bed pictured above has only a hydrangea bush growing and some sort of native plant which is currently unknown to me. I started to dig up the native soil today along with roots of old plants which were never removed and plan to mix in some better soil into it before eventually replacing it.

Hopefully I can eventually construct a proper compost pile, but for now I will be getting started with this portable porch unit pictured below.

Hope all of you are staying active and well!

Love,
Daniel

.

writing and images by @dpend.active
published to Actifit August 25, 2021


IMG_4998 (4).png



This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


0
Daily Activity,Gardening,House Chores,Walking
Note: my actual step count was 15,772. The app seems to glitch if the phone post is under 100 characters or perhaps for other reasons. Unfortunately, I have had this issue with @actifit many times. Oh well, it's the thought that counts, right? ;-)


IMG_5001 (1).png


IMG_4999 (1).png

Sort:  

Good photo of the bed! So sorry your step count didn't get registered!

Congratulations @dpend.active! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 160000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 165000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you :-)

You're welcome @dpend.active
Support us back and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and bigger upvotes from us when we notify you.