Actifit report for Sunday: Dry summer

in Actifit2 years ago (edited)

Yesterday it was the last day of a heatwave. I went to the river to cool down and check out how low the water level was.

This is the Lek, as the lower Rhine is known here. There isn't supposed to be a beach here or on the other side.

There's been an official drought in the Netherlands since the 3rd of April. This place near Vianen isn't the most affected, but the field you're seeing would be under water during most of the winter and spring. I walked around it on the levee.

Along the way, this fruit farm didn't have any water restrictions, apparently.

Another sign of the times: the builders put a lien (retention rights) on this almost finished residential building in what used to be a business zone. Apparently, the developers failed to pay them.

I didn't want to attract attention, so I wore a plain white T-shirt.

In order to cool down, I walked into the river with my shoes on. That did keep me cool for a long time.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


14/08/2022
9638
Cycling, Walking

Sort:  

Heat waves and droughts seem to be happening everywhere this year! I'm glad you had the opportunity to cool down in the river, and I hope it's levels come back up soon. Good job with your 9638 @actifit steps for the day. Take care!

Loading...