April 14 2021

in Actifit3 years ago (edited)

Bicycle Sign

Folks,

How's it curdling?

I rode my bike in to work this morning

Worked another glorious Water Treatment Plant day shift

Then rode home again

I made it most of the way too, when the rear derailleur fell off

This caused the bike's chain to wrap itself around the crankset and twist a few links well out of shape

So I had to walk the bike the rest of the way home

Oh well

...

I thought a locking nut holding the derailleur to the frame had worked its way loose and fell off

Which would suck because, good luck finding that needle in the proverbial haystack

Once home, on closer inspection, turns out I was wrong in the best way

No locking nut, but a locking bolt instead

It had worked it's way out of a threaded hole in the frame, but was captive within the derailleur assembly

Great design for a mountain bike subject to a lot of vibration!

Frustration-minimisation

So once I removed the mangled chain, I could reattach the derailleur using an Allen key

Awesome!

Next problem to solve was the chain

I used a chainbreaker tool to remove the warped links which left me fifteen links short

I have a new chain for when the current one wears out, but it's not quite there yet

So, I took a length of fifteen links from an old spare chain, which was also not quite worn out, and started attaching the two together

I then went to close it up on the bike, and was literally pressing the very last pin into place when the chainbreaker tool broke

Broken Chainbreaker Tool

You've got to be fucking kidding me

Broken Chainbreaker Tool detail

Some days, you just can't catch a damn break

Sort:  

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 58.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 25121 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 1.31% upvote via @actifit account.


Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Hive Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial