My Actifit Report Card: May 13 2021

in Actifit3 years ago

My finger’s mostly better. It was bothering me in the morning, but apparently I was able to let it rest enough that by about mid-day it was feeling better and I can type pretty comfortably now. I’ll be back to full function tomorrow, though I’ll probably still try to be careful with it because I’m not sure if it’ll be fully healed or just normally functional.

That was somewhat annoying, because yesterday I had a lot of impetus and inspiration to write and found it impractical, while today I was finding it more and more feasible but less inspiring.

Good news, though: vaccinated people no longer have to wear masks, or at least they don’t on paper. One great thing about 2021 so far has been that people realize how little the state actually gets a say in our daily lives.

I doubt my local government has ended their mandate. I also doubt that I’m going to comply with it, at least not when I consider it particularly odious (I’ll generally wear a mask where people are eating just as a courtesy, but not elsewhere). It works out to be about 50/50.

My desire to satisfy the whims of paranoiacs after complying with their demands is precisely nil. I’ve had my shots, and I’m not going to sit around and whine and moan about how a disease that, while serious, would not make it into the history books has caused us to change the way we live forever.

It’s only done that because people are cowards, and they are as weak and feeble spiritually as they are intellectually.

I suspect that the removal of the mask guidance from the CDC is being done as a piece of good news during what would be a week of generally bad news all around.

But for me I don’t consider all the news so bad. War’s awful, of course, and the Middle East seems to be heading that direction. But I think that we have an opportunity to learn from what’s currently going on and move away from poor decisions in the future.

I finished Rothbard’s Betrayal of the American Right today, and it was quite interesting. The early development of the libertarian movement is something that I really didn’t know anything about, despite my background in intellectual conservatism (ironically, due to the personal connections I made in my undergrad days and other things I’m more closely aligned with the Goldwater types and their neocon successors in terms of any personal connections than any other faction, though I know some of the less mediocre Libertarian Party types).

I’ve always found many of the libertarian positions to be interesting, though I’m personally not a fan of any organized political groups (much less the Libertarian Party, which has major issues with quality assurance). With that said, I’ve become much more open to the idea of taking up some sort of banner and carrying it. I don’t like the idea of just being the intellectual bodyguard to whichever Hohenzollerns seem to be the best current leadership available, but sometimes that’s part of moving toward a more sensible path when no sane leadership is available, which seems like most of the time.

One thing that I find difficult with Rothbard is that he seems to make some real doozies of political alliances. They’re not as bad in practice as they are on paper, because at least according to his own words he jumps ship every couple years, so his association with factions like the SDS can be forgiven because he left them when the communist factions took over.

But that’s something I consider a small failure on his part, not really because I think I would have been smarter and made better friends but because I think sometimes the proper solution might be to simply avoid making friends (in terms of political allies) altogether.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


13528
Walking

Sort:  

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 53.125 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 13528 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 1.26% upvote via @actifit account.


Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Hive Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial