My Actifit Report Card: August 28 2020

in Actifit4 years ago

I rode my e-bike today to the store and the disc golf course. Someone almost cut me off and pulled out right in front of me on the way to the store. I usually would have braked really hard but it was so close I passed on the right. It seemed like the safer option rather than brake so hard you possibly lock wheels.

Later, on the way to the disc golf course someone honked at me and gave an obscene hand gesture. I was just riding along in a residential area with a 25 mile per hour speed limit and going about 20 miles per hour.

I followed him over to his mailbox and asked him why he did that. He said I was taking up too much of the street and needed to get over more. I told him I could not possibly get over any farther without hitting parked cars or possibly getting hit by a door opening. He told me nobody was in the cars and I should ride on the sidewalk.

I asked him if he thought that would be safe. No answer.

I told him I had a legal right to ride in up to two feet of the traffic lane. (I was not even in the traffic lane.) He told me he worked at the DMV and that was not right. (Actually the law does not specifically say how much of the traffic lane the bicylist is limited too, just that they have the right to use the lane if they want. WA Bike Laws)

He asked me what I wanted with him. I said an appology. He said, "I applogize!"

That was that and we went our separate ways.

I went on to play a really nice round of disc golf with a group of friends. I played very well and my team was at four under par when it got too dark to continue.

It seems like many people are driving very fast and aggressively now. I wish there were more safer routes to take by bike but even in a car I'm finding it more difficult to get around. Is anyone else experiencing this?

I did not get to take any pictures today.
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


11175
Cycling, Daily Activity, Golf, House Chores, Walking

Sort:  

Yikes !

I don't know what the answer is, since there are not so many places that have bike lanes. The road I live on is a very long one and goes from our small city, way out to the country. Leaving the city, the roads are wide with sidewalks and curbs, but once you get past a few blocks of residential area, it turns into two lanes with no curb or extra asphalt space outside of the lines. People bike through here nearly daily, not a lot of people, but still, to me it is a very dangerous place to ride a bike and I admit I have sometimes wondered what made them take this route. I don't mean that like I have any issue with people on the road on bikes as I can see the draw to riding bikes, but just that there has to be many safer areas to ride in than through here. People in their cars FLY up and down this road and it's a wonder there have not been more incidents. To me it seems like it would be a very dangerous place to ride.

That being said, blowing the horn and giving obscene hand gestures is unkind to say the least. You were very brave to stop and address it. You never know how people will react, even when you are trying to address something civilly. I'm glad it turned out as well as possible in the end.

This happened in the middle of a residential area with homemade signs saying "Cat Crossing" to please remind people to slow down.

It has been an issue with bikes and cars for as long as I remember. When I was a kid my friend Bill Cole, (I think his name was,) was killed in front of his house riding a bike. I think he was only five or six years old.

You would hope that your kids and pets would be somewhat safe around your house but people seem to be driving very fast.

E-bikes are faster than regular bikes but you can't keep up with traffic the way people are driving now. Perhaps if they topped out at 30 miles per hour like the old mopeds you could just ride the traffic lane and not so many people would be trying to pass.

Riding over to the side seems to give you less visibility and more people pull out in front of you because they don't see anything in the traffic lane. When I used to ride a motorcycle I would edge over more in the lane when I saw someone about to right turn out into the lane. That way you can react better if they do pull out and it makes you more visible. Lots of people don't hardly even stop and just pull right out into the lane blowing through the stop sign when turning right.

Perhaps more information than needed but I've had a few brake checks recently, lol.

My older brother rode his bike EVERYWHERE when he was a teenager, before he got his license. He was hit one time, but he was lucky in that besides scrapes and bruises, only one of his ankles was really damaged and it did heal after some time.... and it wasn't on a narrow road at all. It was very scary.

I have noticed over the past year that more people seem to be in a hurry and seem to get angry if anything slows them down. I'm sure some of that always existed, but it DOES seem to be more of it now. I wondered if it was just me that noticed that. Add to that these days, the distraction of cell phones and I can only imagine that if you are on a bike of any kind, you have got to be constantly second guessing what other people do and whether or not they even see you.

There use to be slower speed limits posted in residential neighborhoods. I know that doesn't make all people follow the rules, but at least there was some effort to keep it slower. A few miles from my house, in those few blocks of residential neighborhoods, someone has a mailbox on a brick structure at the road and they have a sign there that says. "Drive Like Your Children Live Here".....

Great work brother, Very interesting to me,Keep it brother @lightsplasher. Hopefully you're always be healthy, Keep smile and keep spirit on your day, Regard me @joooi

Yes i like it kwkwkwkw,,,

Awesome job on talking to the guy. So many people act one way when they feel they wont be confronted about the action. Of course we see that online all the time. People need to chill out!

I just hope that it helps in some way. It really would be nice if people would chill out just a bit.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 402.8948 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 11175 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 25.52% upvote via @actifit account. 18.55% of this upvote value is a result of an exchange transaction you performed for 20 AFIT tokens !
The following boosts were applied to your post:

Rank Bag - L4
+ 11 % User Rank
Rank Bag - L1
+ 10 % User Rank
Sports Hat - L1
+ 15 % AFIT
Sunglasses - L1
+ 15 % AFIT
+ 1 % SPORTS
Sports Hat - L3
+ 15 % AFIT
Sunglasses - L2
+ 15 % AFIT
+ 1.5 % SPORTS
Sports Hat - L4
+ 16 % AFIT
Protein Shake - L1
+ 15 % AFIT
Sunglasses - L4
+ 15 % AFIT
+ 2.5 % SPORTS
Sports Hat - L5
+ 18 % AFIT
Friend Boost - L3
+ 15 % AFIT
+ 10 % AFIT
Friend Boost - L2
+ 12 % AFIT
Thanks to your friend @actifit-peter
+ 5 % AFIT
Thanks to your friend @actifit-peter
Water Bottle - L5
+ 45 AFIT
Running Shoes - L5
+ 30 AFIT
Water Bottle - L4
+ 35 AFIT
Running Shoes - L3
+ 20 AFIT
Water Bottle - L2
+ 10 AFIT
Running Shoes - L1
+ 10 AFIT
Water Bottle - L3
+ 20 AFIT
Running Shoes - L2
+ 15 AFIT
Running Shoes - L4
+ 25 AFIT
Sports Drink - L2
+ 4.5 % SPORTS
Sports Drink - L3
+ 6 % SPORTS
Sunglasses - L1
+ 15 % AFIT
+ 1 % SPORTS
Sunglasses - L2
+ 15 % AFIT
+ 1.5 % SPORTS
Sunglasses - L4
+ 15 % AFIT
+ 2.5 % SPORTS

Boosts increased your AFIT earnings by 324.4823 AFIT

Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Great daily activity brother

very good, because exercise is good for the health of our bodies💪🏻