How do I last longer when running. Vital information about breathing.

in Actifit4 years ago (edited)

Dear Friends,

Today was my first day of really using the Actifit app and I can say with no doubt that it is an accurate steps tracker. While I was running, I thought to myself why not to share with you lovely people some of the things that I have learned about breathing. I am very grateful for all your upvotes and likes. This means really a lot to me and shows that you do care about what I do so I will respond back by giving fruitful and very useful information about my daily activities. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to write a comment and I will do my best to answer it accordingly.

So it was around 1 o´clock in the afternoon and the weather was very unpredictable. I decided that I will go for a run even if it was going to rain. Here is a picture from my terrace:

I think that the clouds illuminated by the sun makes up for amazing pictures :)

Have you ever heard of the phrase that the trees are our lungs. Why is that? If you look closely, you can distinguish the trunk (trachea), the branches (bronchus), and the leaves (alveoli). These are enveloped and function together just like our respiratory system. And if you look closely, you will see that the lowest part of the tree contains the most amount of leaves. Just like the lungs. The lower lobe of the lungs is the biggest and correct breathing should fill that region with plenty of air. But in reality, most people are not conscious about their breathing. This is a big mistake. We need to be aware of how we breathe and try to correct shallow or too fast breathing. One of the first things that I learned when I started doing yoga was Yogic Breathing. This involves breathing first through the stomach, then expanding the chest via the diaphragm and lastly even feeling the air as high as the collarbone. This is deep full breathing that will fill us with energy and utilize all 3 lobes of the lungs. Most people unfortunately do not breathe from the stomach up, but shorten it from the chest up. By doing so, the diaphragm is not expanding enough and what happens is, the body does not get enough oxygen and is forced to take another breath in shorter period of time which leads to fatigue.

Breathing rate matters! Slow breathing will improve your cardiovascular and autonomic functions. Take a chronometer and count how many times do you inhale and exhale in 1 minute. If it is 6 times then you are efficient and can hold your breath for a prolonged period of time. When I was running, I was always conscious about my breathing. I kept it steady all of the time inhaling and exhaling slowly and even exhaling longer. I did not get tired. I was running for 40 minutes and it was amazing and fun. Controlling your breath is key to staying fresh all of the time. There is so much to be said about this but I will keep it simple and maybe follow along in my future posts. Please let me know if you want to want me to go deeper into this topic.

Breathing is life! Always set an intention when doing specific type of sport activities be it Pranayama, Meditation, or Running. Ask yourself, why do I do that? What do I want to accomplish? Who do I want to become? Be clear and concise! For example, I am running today because I want more energy and a clear mind. Knowing your intentions will bring you closer to your goals!

Fight or Flight? Defend or Escape? How does your body respond to dangers (be it real or virtual)? Your body is made to protect you from any harm but it does not understand stress and modern day dangers. This is why we need to train our breath to calm down when the danger is just another car congestion or you going late for an important meeting. Breathing controls our nervous system and can make us wiser and stronger if used correctly. The next time you get upset about things that are not really so serious, try slow yogic breathing. Remember, deep inhale from the stomach, expanding the diaphragm and chest and reaching the collarbone. You will relax immediately and think much clearer and wiser than before.

Stay happy, be peaceful!
Namaste

I'm here to stay #bgn

Project info:
[Bulgarian]
(https://esteem.app/hive-172868/@iliyan90/kakvo-e-proektt-i-m-here-to-stay-bgn)
[English]
(https://esteem.app/hive-172868/@iliyan90/what-is-project-i-m-here-to-stay-bgn)

Всичко което трябва да знаете за платформата:
[Помощна секция]
(https://esteem.app/hive-172868/@iliyan90/chesto-zadavani-vprosi-za-platformata)



10399
Daily Activity, Jogging, Walking

Sort:  

Great Breathing post! Breathing is life! Thank's for sharing with us @velinov86 🙂😇👌

Thank you Vesy :)

Congratulations @velinov86! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Maybe I knew only half of what stomach breathing was. Even so, it has been mostly efficient. Time to exercise on the full technique you described.

A post well done! Keep on!