Dallas Arboretum and Gardens Fall 2022 Part Two: October 2 2022

in Actifit • 2 years ago

We walked our dog this evening.


Here are some photos of the fall pumpkin 🎃 display I went to yesterday.



This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


02/10/2022
8495
Walking,Daily Activity

Sort:  
Loading...

Nothing says fall like pumpkins! Over the top display. Awesome 🎃

Yes, it definitely shouts fall when you walk all over the property!

What a wonderful display! That must have been so much fun!

Yes, it is so fun to walk around and see all of the pumpkins,squash, etc!

I wonder what they will do with all the pumpkins when it is over. Will they be rotten by that time or still in good enough shape to cook and eat? Feed some homeless with some pumpkin soup or something! I know that's not really an "American" thing to do - eat pumpkin unless it's in a can! I used to be the same way, but now I grow and process my own pumpkins since I can't buy canned pumpkin here. It would be so interesting to know what they do with them at the end. Such an amazing display! I used to love the Arboretum.

Hey @apanamamama, I believe they try to donate them to the zoo or at least compost them. Some years the smaller pumpkins are not in great shape by the end of the 6 weeks due to lots of rainy weather so they wouldn't be good to donate to people. I don't know if you have ever read that canned pumpkin is really a type of squash. Read here for more info https://greatist.com/eat/canned-pumpkin-puree-is-actually-squash#pumpkins-vs-squash . I love to cook pie pumpkins(the small ones they talk about in this article) and make pumpkin bread or pies. I haven't done that in a few years.

That is interesting that it is actually squash! Our "pumpkins" here are called zapallo. They are green but the inside is orange. They are probably some type of squash as well - I figure adding all the "pumpkin pie" spices to them makes them taste like pumpkin pie! Ha! Ah, giving them to the zoo makes a lot of sense!

Yes it does! I'm sure your pumpkin pie is yummy! Have a great day @apanamamama!