You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I emulate Hank Marvin's echo for Apache by The Shadows on the Flashback Triple Delay guitar pedal

in Music2 years ago

Nice! I dig the whammy bar man, I never managed to get those things under control. In fact, the one guitar I had that had one, I ended up stuffing wood shims under it to disable it - I found it very difficult to keep the guitar in tune with this feature functioning.

I like how you broke down the interview and showed how you were able to implement it - your guitar skills are quite impressive :)

Sort:  

I’m still a beginner man but practicing quite regularly these days.

As for the whammy bar, yeah keeping the guitar in tune with it can be an issue but there are things to help:

  • a well cut nut (get it serviced professionally)
  • a smooth bridge or using roller bridge (also ask the pro to check it during servicing)
  • using a device like the String Butler or TruGlide
  • maybe other tricks I don’t know yet

I’m waiting for my TruGlide to arrive and will get the guitar serviced.

Nice! Thanks for the tips! I’ve always loved the effect, so it saddened me a bit not to be able to fully utilize it. I’ll have to give it another shot, and follow these recommendations.

On a side note, I’ve had that melody you were playing stuck in my head since I watched your video earlier today 🤣

Hahaha happens to myself, going to bed with the melody of what I practiced stuck in head for hours.