I'll Be There In Sunshine And In Shadow... Keith Jarret, Improvisation & Back to My Roots

in Music4 years ago

I fell in love with Keith, dissonance and improvisational jazz about the same time I discovered Phrygian and Dorian modes as a music student: Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, in 1982.

KeithJarrett.jpg
Image Source

And yesterday, in Thailand where I have lived for 17 years, I fell in love with Keith and all of those things, all over again.

I woke after a deep sleep with the lilting Irish song, Danny Boy, in my head, for what seemed no particular reason at all. I laid in bed for a bit, humming and mulling over that timeless line, "I'll be there, in sunshine and in shadow..." And then, over an early, silent pot of Japanese green tea, I opened my messages to find a youtube link from my dear, dear friend, Ken.

Ken is Head of School at an Australian University and has sustained me throughout our Covid Confinement in Thailand with almost daily music surprises. His staff have buoyed each other's moods and vibe by sharing music links daily and, knowing me as well as he does after a more than 20 year close friendship, he sends me what he knows will resonate, nudge and move me. Music had always been one of the hallmarks of my wonderful friendship with Ken; he introduced me to Patricia Barber and acid jazz over wine one lazy christmas afternoon, knows who Jaco Pastorius IS 😆 and always seeks out people and music that speak to a poetic soul well hidden under his more traditional professorial facacde.

He has never disappointed me. And neither has Keith.

I SAT and completely listened and felt his stunning ever-so-slightly-dissonant rendition of Danny Boy on a silent Thai Sunday morning like I have never felt that tune before.



And then the rest of Sunday was cast: MANDATORY quiet afternoon time with the Köln Konzert - my very fist kiss, if you will, with Keith and something I still savour very occasionally. If you've never heard the Köln Konzert, it is a music-must for piano, jazz fiends and lovers of people who push at the edges.

The Köln Concert is a concert recording of solo piano improvisations performed by Keith Jarrett at the Opera House in Cologne (German: Köln) on January 24, 1975. The double-vinyl album was released in 1975 by ECM. Source: wikipedia

And yes, I used to own it on vinyl in my other life. 😍

Life is calling me to revisit some things, not the least of which is buying a piano again after 18 years without one. It feels like time.

Enjoy the music moments - they are so precious.

Thank you, Ken. 😘


HiveOnBoard1.gif

Get Your FREE Hive Account

Come check out my natural Thai herbal business… yes, we ship world-wide

pure thai naturals 3.png
Visit our online store here



Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive


ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif
Creating Abundance for & on Hive

Sort:  

Great country to be living and i hear Chanag Mai is a beautiful part of Thailand nice green mountains out that way so that music would go down well with the scenery 👍

Samui was my first home in TH - back in 2003-2004. Mae Nam & just near Tongsai Bay... I used to swim at Tongsai Bay every morning before there was a resort there. 😊

Thanks for stopping by - just - jazz on a hot steamy rice over the ricefields... 😍

!ENGAGE 15

Isn't that funny my first trip to Thailand was also to Koh Samui in 2008 in Chaweng Beach what an awesome island that was hopping to do more of Thailand in the near future 👍

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

A perfect song for this lazy Tuesday morning. I hope a piano finds its way to you soon xx

I'm sure the perfect piano IS already waiting somewhere, for me to allow and mentally lose some baggage about perfection, styles and purpose.

Which instruments do you play? I always wanted to learn the cello but somehow it turned out to piano, flute and guitar. 😆 Maybe a cello coming too?

!ENGAGE 15

On our walls, we have a banjo, a ukelele, a mandolin and a beautiful parlour guitar from my Dad. We pick them up periodically and pluck away tunelessly, then they go back on the wall again. It was Jarrah that ended up the musician - I love that he comes over here and picks up the guitar and plucks away beautifully.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

A huge hug 🤗 and a little bit of !BEER 🍻 from @amico!


Un caro abbraccio 🤗 e un po' di BEER 🍻 da @amico!


Hey @artemislives, here is a little bit of BEER from @amico for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You are, I assume :) Keith Jarrett's music lover. I'm looking for very special Poinciana recording. Maybe you know list of Poinciana recordings by Jarrett? It was once on youtube (my favourite version). It was removed and now you can only listen to other, not so great versions of Poinciana. I cannot describe what was so special in my favourite version. I'm looking for version that is not currently on youtube (and other streaming sites, but I checked only Spotify). Do you can recall all Poinciana recordings by Jarrett?