Songs from Aida (Elton John and Tim Rice)

in Music4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200523_141044.jpg

... and next up in the Corona-isolation recordings is to continue making the various practice parts for the choir that my wife plays piano for. Like the last one (Total Eclipse of the Heart), my wife laid down the base piano accompaniment so that I could record all the seperate choir parts to it. This time, we have both learnt a bit more from our last experience, and we made sure to play a bit together before hand so that I had a better idea for how the piece goes! After all, it is really a good way out of my normal musical experience!

As before, I had to lay out the entire score on the fortepiano to be able to play from the piano/choir reduction. A real practical downside to needing to hold a bow in the right hand and a viola/violin in the left... normally in orchestras, you would have a desk partner to help do this!

A good old Bose QC35 Mk2 is ready for the piano base to be streamed into my head via Bluetooth from the XPS15 computer running Audacity... and not pictured is the Edirol that will do the recording. Unfortunately, it would be better to have the Edirol in front of me... but that is where the power point is... and I'm not going to move the fortepiano to accommodate that!

Become a Patron!

IMG_20200523_141054.jpg

Now, the previous Total Eclipse of the Heart recording was a much more straight-forward affair... as it was quite melodic and didn't have any "tricky" rhythms. By tricky, I mean the sort of rhythms that are natural to sing and hear but look like a mess of code when notated on paper! Also, it was a self contained piece of music and not a medley of songs which meant that the tempi and characters weren't wildly changing from one section to another! Plus, no recitativo (quasi-spoken) sections.....plus, I don't really know this musical ... why the hell am I even doing this piece!

So, all these little things mean that it is probably best if I don't try for long takes and to try and just break up all the recording sections into manageable little chunks rather than going to ill fated hero route and trying to do a huge section. After all, I will have to record multiple splittings of the various choral parts anyway... so it doesn't make much sense to go further than I can be sure of!

Become a Patron!

IMG_20200524_120346.jpg

Anyway, the target is to have this finished by the coming weekend. It wouldn't take that long if it was the only thing that I had to do... but I do have to record something else for on the Baroque instruments that I have a deadline of this Friday for... and there is also the problem of trying to keep kids entertained on the days that they don't have school!... and my wife also has something that she needs to practice and record for! Sigh...

At the moment, after a day of recording... I have done a good quarter to a third of the piece... and most of it has stitched together relatively painlessly. I was quite surprised by that, but then again... my wife is a pretty decent pianist, so it is really easy to work off the part that she has recorded as the basis for me to lay down the other tracks on top of!

Hopefully, when this is all done... I will have some time to polish up the complete "all-parts" versions of Aida and also Total Eclipse of the Heart (Damn... I keep writing Sun...) to have a pretty weirdly cool instrumental only version of both! But at the moment, the job is to have "good-enough" piano and single choral line parts completed so that the choir will have something to practice with at home...

Become a Patron!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community (Subscribe at Steempeak and Peakd) at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

A huge hug 🤗 and a little bit of !BEER 🍻 from @amico!


Un caro abbraccio 🤗 e un po' di BEER 🍻 da @amico!

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)