Music Business Questions #Musicbiz

in Music3 years ago

0C4C498750314B578E4BA38A645D35FC.jpeg
Source

So recently I was browsing through beatstars and realized they offer publishing in partnership with Sony Music. On the surface this looks really good, maybe under the surface as well. I honestly don't know. I see they now offer distribution as well for $19 a year unlimited tracks.

Thanks to advice from @luca1777 I registered with Socan to do publishing but it is a Canadian based Performance Rights Organization and reading through some of the "help section" on the beatstar website, it states that a US Pro is required:


"You must register with a United States PRO to collect royalties in the United States on your behalf. In the United States, there are four different PROs: ASCAP, BMI, SESAC, and GMR."

"Anyone can join ASCAP and BMI. SESAC and GMR are by invitation only."

"Here are links to the PRO’s you can choose that do not require an invitation:"

BMI - https://www.bmi.com/
ASCAP - https://www.ascap.com/

Source

image.png

I was on the verge of signing up because in my mind,

image.png
Companies like Beastars and Sony Music would be proactive in collecting royalties on your behalf compared to a somewhat "non Profit" organization. But is that really so? Tell me what you think. But now I realize I need an US based PRO. I was in the process of signing up to BMI but lost track as payments weren't payable online at that time and documents had to be FedExed which was a bit much for modern times ( not sure if that is the case now). I shall look into ASCAP next.

Anyone has advice on this? What are your thoughts on Beatstar's partnership with Sony to do publishing? What is the best pro to sign up with in the US?

EA926468A42A4CE3A228939F06E1BD4C.jpeg

Was about to sign up for Beatstars Publishing

image.png

If you are looking for a free Performance Rights Organization,

image.png
Socan is an easy sign up but it is based in Canada. On their website they state:

SOCAN serves music creators, music publishers and visual artists, ensures users are Licensed to Play, and collects/distributes royalties in Canada and worldwide.

So then the question is, do I still need to be registered on various PROs?

Well it would seem the more the merrier and at some point a US based PRO and maybe even others for various countries may be a plus. For instance, in Jamaica, they have JAMMS and JACAP, none of which I am a member of at the moment.

By signing up with Socan you will receive an IPI number which is means Interested Parties Information, so I am thinking once you have this IPI number, it should be an easy link into other PROS that may be handy down the line. This is also the major key in collaborations to ensure all parties involved get their fair share of publishing.

The IPI/CAE number is an international identification number assigned to songwriters and publishers to uniquely identify rights holders. This is a separate number from the BMI account number. IPI stands for: Interested Parties Information.

Source

3C74789F29514974A7222B3D81F6BE81.jpeg

I'd like to see more posts about the business side of the music as it is something that I am not 100% on as yet and I am sure others would love to learn. Before you go, check out my music below.
54D915A56323470A9238AFCC1B555D38.pngC24063B512AD4F0B90481F78FFDD5B65.png63199D80FD3C414C9E6F88D6D2DF48D0.png


ReggaeJAHM.com
Discord | Hive Community | Reggaejahm Interface | Twitter| Buy Beats With HIVE & JAHM

Sort:  

Yes, it's a good question if you/or anybody needs more registration.
Ascap should actually report to Socan, as far as i understood.
But maybe that is Songtrust that i'm with, too...
What i really learned the last 2 years...you can f...off with all of them and better
sell your music on your own page.... streaming is fraud!
They tell you everybody got the same chance on a streaming platform, but i think the business is more corrupt than ever with big companies buying themselves into the major playlists...

Yeah, I am not sure at all but I would believe they should all be linked but some more proactive than others like the beatstars and Sony. But who knows, something to research. You never know when you might have a major hit on your hands. Yeah, the system rigged, just like pay to play on the radio just on the streaming planforms. But will shall find a way.

When you got a buzz, the biggest money is/are.....

Live Shows 😉

Everything else becomes Promo...

So, you signed up with beatstars, Star?😉
Teach me when you make new experiences...thanks!
Bless up

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Thank `music community, seems I got a incubation upvote as well, wasn't expecting that but grateful.

well im with ascap and i was on beatstars still have an account i dont think you should distrust them they seem to be a good platform as far as i know i give it the greenlight i dont know those other companies and ipi myself would be good to find out. you know there's blockchain tech that can help with royalty payments on a side note should look in that as well

Yeah Ascap seems to be the one I need to get on next, ten the Beatstars. Not that I don't trust them , but was just wondering what others thought or if it makes sense.

Really? do tell about these blockahin royalties solutions.

I've looked into some of it I know you got to set up a node etc and it's in code to put in it helps to get lost money found I've heard we should both look into that I never been to much in to it I know artists like pit bull is using this kind of thing

I really need to learn how to set up a node, especially for HIVE Engine, seems complicated but so does everything the first time around.

Just dropped a new beat too bro i got to load up on some hp https://peakd.com/hive-123620/@polarmystro/new-beat-out-now-no-regrets

I got my discord up now just need to get it packed in https://discord.gg/PvmnHuK5 DM me when you get the time brother

Cool man, not a big discord fan but I will hit you up.

Cool I appreciate it I'm trying to get a set up like you guys got with reggaejahm. See what I need to do

Cool man! This is the dude you need to talk to.
https://peakd.com/tribes/@aggroed/time-to-consider-tribes-again

I’ll message you over the weekend As shits busy in the week

Congratulations @dmilliz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 75000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Hive Tour Update - Communities

Unlocking new doorways and opportunities, that ReggaeJAHM banner is looking good too!!


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded