The way we WORK - TTT's take on gettin' it done!

in Musiclast year

Many of you know that California is a state of emergency with our unprecedented weather! Yosemite got over 46 feet of snow!!! I thought our snow was outrageous, but 46 feet??? That's insanity! hehehe

It's been a long month of terribly destructive weather! A few days ago we heard a big CRRRRACK! And there went our deck! It split right in half! The left half is still secure and standing - but the right side? Well, I'll show you!

When I first showed the image of our deck snapped - no one could really see the destruction well, because the snow (which was over my head at the time) collapsed with the deck and filled up that space! But two days ago, my husband got into that "pit" and started shoveling out the snow - and NOW you can see how bad the collapse is without the entire cavity filled!

Just so you can get a proper perspective, my husband is 6'8" - so you can see JUST how much collapsed and how terribly heavy that snow must have been to just snap that deck like it was a bunch of toothpicks! So - he had his WORK cut out for him, and you can see that he finally got some helpers too!

Today, my hubby and son had to go down the mountain to pick up our car from the shop and to get haircuts for our trip, and to run some errands! Both of them had started shoveling out the driveway (ohhhh... in total, it's about 100 yards uphill?) So it was really a massive task!!! Here is how far they got!

My son wanted us to be able to drive our car up the driveway - so in order to do that, he created some "tracks" to drive up. My hubby mentioned that he should just finish it all - and so I thought.. hmmm let's see if I have it in me! LOL

And so.... without further ado - hehehe - it took me 2 hours of WORK!!! But as you can see below (and I really wish that I could show off better images of my WORK - cuz this really doesn't capture the beauty of my WORK hahahahaah), I got 'er done!!!

While I was shoveling (and getting SOAKED from the rain, and burning up my left shoulder and left bicep ( which is gonna be on FIRE for a few days hahahaa) I kept thinking... just keep going. Don't stop. Don't keep looking at how far you have to go - just keep shoveling and get a nice pace!

I tell you - it was STILL hard. And it made me start to think of WORK. lol For me, I had an end goal in sight. I knew once I hit my target I was done for the day! But I started to think of chain gangs! hahaha You know - from the Depression era - where they would have inmates all chained together and just hammering on rail road tracks all day long! There was no "end in sight" for them until it was time to rest, sleep, and wake up to do it all over again!

While they were on the chain gang - they would usually get a nice rhythm going. If you've ever seen "Oh Brother, Where Art Thou" you can get a glimpse of it in the beginning when the percussion of the hammers hitting the railroad tacks are in rhythm. One person would usually call out a song, with a beat - so that all the hammers would hit at the same time to break up the monotony.

If you HAVEN'T seen that movie - don't worry, I've got a song for you to get you started on our WORK series. heheeh Good old Sam Cooke - singing "Chain Gang" Listen for the beat - and the "ooh! ahh" Listen closely - for the percussion - you can hear the "chink chink" sound of the "hammers hitting the railroad tacks!

And then - I really wanted to show you this song IN ACTION - through another movie so you can really get the feel of what it would be like! In this movie starring Charlie Sheen and Lawrence Fishburne, "Cadence" gives you a peek at using this song in a military cadence. This movie was a very gripping story about racism - but this lighthearted portion was always one of my favorite scenes. I love how they added choreography and little adlibs to make the time pass by a bit quicker for them. Take a listen! Which do you prefer? The original or the movie?

Finally, as I think about WORK, I think -it's not always about the back breaking kind! Sure, work is work, but sometimes work is play! And no one does a better job of getting us to enjoy our WORK than RuPaul! hahaha When he tells you "YOU BETTA WORK!" then, best to feel that beat, move on that catwalk, and make a display of yourself! hehehehe So we are ending on a fun note and I hope you all WORK!!!

HAHAHAHAHAH honestly - does this song bring back so many memories for you??? It brings me right back to high school and I don't care if it dates me - because I'm so glad that I was there to experience this LIVE! HAHAHAHA



This post was submitted for Three Tune Tuesday (#ttt) for @ablaze! I absolutely love this community tag - but don't always get to do it. Today was a BLAST to bring - and I just hope that tomorrow my left arm isn't paralyzed from all the WORK I did! hahahahaha

enjoy all! :)


All images mine
Youtube videos do not belong to me - Just linked to the original videos! :)

Sort:  

OMgosh. Love all the songs.

I love you going down memory lane too.

Plus you ARE CRAZY to shovel all that snow!

hahahaha I slept with the heating pad and it helped a lot .. stretching today and more heating pad lololol

aren't those great songs!!?!

I know all the songs and the movie too. Love Coen brothers films without fail.

Wait, your husband is HOW tall? How tall are you?

That's a shame about the deck. Will it cost a lot to repair?

There is something abotu methodically working. I did the same shovelling compost the other day. It hurt and my arms burned but it was about doing it for joy and enjoyiing the labour of it.

It's a crew secret...
But Dreemie is a rather brief pirate 😂
Lets Go Sport GIF by Basketball Madness

hahahahhaa

yes I'm gonna have to watch it again soon!!

and hubby is 6'8"

and I am 6'7"

HAHAHAHHAHAA not!!!!

I'm only 5'2" 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

and today I'm feeling all that work but in a good way...not toop sore ..but ..used! lololol

as far as the deck, we live at a camp where kids come for summer camp and groups come for getaways for the weekend...

so this is their house and they will fix it ! yayyyy hehehe

You are HILARIOUS....I nearly died imagining how giant you were!!! Oh great, glad you don't have to foot the cost!!!!!

hahahahaha hey - foot the cost...
is that a height joke??/ LOLOLOL

WOW 48 feet of snow
and so destructive as you have so clearly shown, and shovelling out the snow so much hard work, and I hope I am not tempting fate by saying this but i have bene lucky this Winter and not had much snow to clear here

Thanks for joining the Wednesday, its always fun for me to visit the walks from all around the world, getting a feel for communities where people live and what they see on their daily walks

hehehehe you put your WW comment on here - but this was my post for three tune tuesday!!! but don't worry!!! hehehe my WW post is coming in a few hours LOLOLOL so you'll see me again! hahahahahaha

and yes - isn't that insane?!?!?! Yosemite is goign to take forever to melt all that snow!!!!!!!!!! LOLOLOL

my shoulder is feeling better today - but my bicep really needs to be stretched hahahaha i think i'm going to be living under that heating pad today!!!LOLOL

Without geometry...
Life is pointless.

Credit: reddit
@tattoodjay, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @dreemsteem

(1/2)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

OOps lol yeah I knew it was a three tune post when I opened it but clearly lost my mind while writing the comment, there are so any WW posts I loose it keeping up with them and when I visit another post I sometimes add the footnote lOL

good idea to make max use of the heating pad today

HAHAHAHAHA don't worry - i just wanted you to know i'm still coming to see you! hahaha

i'm working on some images for my niece all morning and just finished them - so now its time to get writing my WW post LOL

and - sadly - i've been running around all day and still haven't gotten to that heating pad - h ehehe buti ts coming@ LOL

I just visited your post and loved it :)

I hope you got to the heating pad and it helped :)

hehehe hi you!

i'm feeling SO much better today :)

so so so much hehehe
now i'll be ready for our trip soon hehehe

thats great to hear :)

This is the main problem in places with snow. Although I want to see real snow, I don't want to experience such a thing 😅. It must be so tiring shoveling those snow out, especially for those with no man at home, lol. I mean, we women can do that as well, but not as much as men can.

Anyway, among those songs, I know none, lol. Probably heard them before but I forgot? Haha.
Happy humpday Dreemie... It's also LPUD, 😊
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dreemsteem and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/5 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

hahahhaa exactly....plowing snow it a very big downside hahahah

I would rather look at it in places where I don't have to shovel hahaha

yes these are older songs...hehehe but fun ones!

happy hump day!!!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Visit our Discord - Visita nuestro Discord

thank you for the curation @dsc-r2cornell!!! :)

 last year  
Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

thanks so much!!! this was a great one to write for me - and I'm still sore from all that WORK shoveling hahahaha

OMG! Poor Yosemite! Who knew it could snow that much? Look at the damage to your property! Thank goodness for insurance, yes?

You are getting ridiculously close to push-off! I am jelly, I want to go too. You know it has been days and days!

I can't believe you did all that shoveling and you lived to tell. Oh, Brother where art thou I loved the scene with the sirens. Go to sleep little baby Oh, yes! Ru-Paul!!! :) LOL I always love to run through your scene here.

Throws you a Tootsie!

LOVIE!!!!!!! hello my tootsie girl hehehehe

yessssssss its getting so so close - oh mygosh!!!! i can't even stand it

but you know what I did - i made the mistake of saying - oooohh next week we will be here.

and then - that already started the vacation countdown - and i'm not READY for that yet - i'm on the pre-vacation count down hahahahahahaha

but its ok - it's all good - i pray for God to put the time-stretchers on the vacation hehehehe and then i make it last foreverrrrrrrrr LOL

and yes - the sirens!!!! that is one of my favorite songs on the soundtrack - and... my silver blogger name is... Silver Siren - hahahahahaha see???? i love them! hahahaha

so glad you stopped by! hehehe i'm getting my Market Friday post ready tonight and scheduling it! hehehe it will be a DIFFERENT fun one! LOL i hope it makes you smile! LOLOL

eats your tootsie and throws you back ... wait.. you want me to throw you one - or just the wrapper? hehehe depends on how much chocolate you can handle right now LOLOLOL

Oh, girl!! Im ready for another!! My sister in law asked me to go to South America in April, but, no can do. Not righr now, in Columbia.

I live stopping by, but you know how overwhelmed I get.

Just breathe, Denise.

Ill catch up soon!! Throws you a tootsie! Just because.

I love that song best too!!

is it dangerous there right now? or just not in the mood for that location??

and really - my family said the EXACT same thing.
they said "we should really plan another as soon as we are done with this one so we can immediately begin the countdown for the next" hehehe

i'm like I'M GAME hahaha

we think the next one we want is Alaska - cuz we hear that is really spectacular!!!!

catches tootsie - don't worry about replying to my crazy comments - you jsut catch up and catch your breath hehehehe love you!

oh - and the property!

we actually live at a camp where children come for summer - and guest groups come for the weekends..

and this is their property - and the maintenance guys will fix! hehehe

so we are good :)

Omg!! All that fun and money too!!

Score!!

You know how to live!

heheheh it really is a very different kind of "American drEEm" that's for sure!

but we love it. the last 17 years of our life has been like this... 10 in San Diego - on top of a mountain at 4700 feet, snow in winter, hour's drive to the grocery store, view of the ocean from Mexico all the way to Riverside County!

then moved here since 2017... on top of a mountain at 4400 feet, snow in winter, 90 minute drive to the grocery store, and next to the breathtaking Sierra Madres and the sequoias hehehehe

my life began heavily influenced at camps like this - where my parents were on teh board - and I would work there in summers as early as i was legally able hehehe

it was magical and still is :)

but... i long for another change - one that will hopefully be my final "dreem" come true hehehe

Sorry to hear about your deck :( ... I'm glad nobody was hurt! Did the snow fall off the roof onto it?

46 feet is definitely insane!!!

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

yep - it was all that snow falling and piling up! with it falling it was just well over my head - and it was just so so heavy!

wet - and then - you know!! boom! just too much for it

and 46 feet at Yosemite!!!!! oh my gosh! hahahahaha that's avalanche material for sure! LOLOL

What would you guys do with 46 feet of snow?!?!?!

I'm just glad that clump didn't fall on anyone!!!

Congratulations @dreemsteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 170000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
The Hive Gamification Proposal

thank you buzzy!!!!!!!!!!!!! i hope you're having a nice day today!!! happy hump day! hehehe

Have a nice day too @dreemsteem 😊👍

It is quite a pity to hear of the destructive work of the snow. It must have been really stressful trying to pack the stuff from the fallen deck. And creating the path for driving. Weldone friend.

The songs you share are quite melodious and I love them. Good share

hehehe i'm glad you liked the songs! I was jamming to them too hehehehe

and yes - the path is all done now! and i'm very sore hahahahahaha

👍👍

Lovely tunes Capt'n 😂😃, hope your arm gets better 😂😂

hahahaha it's halfway healed! LOL i think i need to just baby it today!
hahahahaha

Definitely LOVED that movie

It was SUCH a good movie - but sad! i want to watch it again soon hehehehe

I read a few years back, about how difficult it was for Charlie and his dad to work together on this movie.

it gutted me, that scene with the windmill. BTW, Sweet was such a Musical talent.

Ouch..... That's quite a task for your son and hubby.
Never seen snow but I would love to see one someday but not the as big as the one over there 😂

RuPaul made this song look so good.. I actually prefer it and yes! Work when viewed from the right mindset and when we enjoy what we do, we will also see it as play especially when we have beautiful workers as colleagues.

ROFLLLLLLLLLL yes - RuPaul was so fun! hahahahahaha

and what do you mean task for my son and hubby!!! LOLOL

i'm the one that did the WORK HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

I'M STILL SORE! lol

Hahaha... I meant shoveling the highway actually, you said it was cleared by them obviously 😂

Sure RuPaul is fun honestly... Glad I discovered him through your post

hahahhaa you better read it again to see who cleared it ...and see why my shoulders are still aching today!!! lol

😂😂😂😂😂

This is the stuff I used to listen to when I worked the late shift. Sam Cooke is always a breath of fresh air. It seems like most of California got an unbearable amount of rain and snow. Today is just a gloomy day in Korea and I couldn't get my coffee. I was so absent minded I forgot to go to my class after lunch (and I'm the teacher). Things will have to get easier someday.

hey you!! oh man - yes - Sam Cooke!!!! i love him

there is another one that i so LOVE by him - and of course it flew right out of my - nope - it flew back!!! "cupid draw back your bow, and let your arrow flow - straight to my lover's heart for me" yo uknow that one??? hehehehee

WAIT. did you say you forgot to go to your class after lunch?!?!?! HAHAHAHAHAHA

oh my gosh - i bet the kids were loving that hahahahaha

and love that song above too - things WILL get easier someday :)

Classic (Cupid) and hilarious !LUV

I wish they played more of those at weddings.

my daughter is getting married in October... i wonder if I should make a special request for cupid hahahahah

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes...
 last year  

There are a few holy shit moments here.... Firstly 46 feet of snow, holy shit!!! Our little country shuts down if we get 6 inches of snow, never mind two foot or 6 feet! But 46 feet, that's nuts... Anyone still in denial about global warning, sit up and take note..

Your husband is 6 foot 8, holy shit, a serious man mountain you have there!

and the final holy shit, is that deck giving way, holy shit! That's a right pain in the nads, I guess the combo of heavy snow and aging wood caused it.

Really liked your take on #ttt, which was loads of fun, thanks a million, Chain gang is quality, I have never seen Cadence, that scene was great..