Three Tune Tuesday! LIVE! Street and Theatre!

in Musiclast year

It's time for #threetunetuesday again, the great weekly music tag started by @ablaze! I only post when I think I've got something really meaningful to me! These three are definitely some that already hold a special place in my heart!

There is nothing like watching great musicians perform live! I have been to so many concerts - and sometimes, you're surprised at how different they sound live. It's sad to see that some musicians really need extraneous "help" to keep their sound tight. The sounds that you're jamming to on the radio is what you want to here when you're in the audience! But sadly, that's just not always the way.

It's a tough lesson to learn after forking over premium prices for tickets to be a part of that crowd - only to walk away fairly disappointed that your favorite bands aren't as great as studios make them out to be!

However - something that is ALWAYS a treat - is stumbling upon some live performances that you weren't expecting! So, let's come take a look at some live performances - 2 on the street, and 1 that was a gamble!

The first one is when we were in London. We were walking through Trafalgar Square, and heard this guy singing. He was singing one of my favorite all-time songs - so I had to stop! This song is Fast Car by Tracy Chapman and I'd love to be able to tell you this guy's name!!! But, I just don't have it. Sometimes they just have their guitar cases open for accepting donations, and nothing more. I don't remember if I saw anything about him - because I was caught up in the music! You'll see some footage that I took - and then some footage that @samsmith1971 took! Enjoy! 🤩

He's good right??? I really liked the way he made that song his own! When I perform covers, I usually am so used to the way the original artist sings it - it's hard for me to break free! And truth be told, some people adapt the song and flat out ruin it! LOL But he really did a beautiful job of just adding his own personal touches!

Another thing I noticed - you can see in the video, that he is standing on a little circle with a star. There were three in a line there. I wondered if people signed up to actually have permits for particular stars - so that if you maybe had a dance act - or a magician... they could all kinda have their own space to set up? I suppose it wouldn't work with music, or you'd get a clash. But neat to see that it might have a little scheduling setup! So that artists can feel free to have street gigs without messing up another artist's vibe. Don't know if that's actually what those stars are for! hahaha But might be!

Next, some street performers in Edinburgh caught my ear - and I had to stop and record! I really wanted to just stop recording and get up there and dance hahaha These two were SO connected with their music AND each other! Their joy was so palpable! You can hear little shouts and whoops of delight as they perform! They are stomping their feet because they have little bells tied around their ankles being used as percussion! SO much fun! This kind of music is the kind that you just have playing in your house, or set up to be the background sound for a summer party, or just ANY reason to feel alive!!!

I really hope you enjoyed these two as much as I did! Sadly, they DID have a little QR code on their poster board, but I couldn't get my phone to capture it. I think @penderis got a picture of their social media info though! I'll have to ask him if he does - and add it to this post, just in case you'd like to check them out more!! Without further ado, here they are! (Seriously look at the intensity and joy!!! I love it!!)

Finally, this is not a street performer, but it is live. And its always a gamble with these!!!! THE THEATRE!! Even when you pay tickets to go see A SPECIFIC theatre with a set cast, you just MIGHT be unfortunate enough to come on a day when your favorite singer is sick - and, the understudy arrives!

I have seen this play now - SEVEN TIMES - hehe and the last time I saw it WAS in the UK - but this particular video is not from that theatre! Out of the seven times that I saw WICKED, I've seen SEVEN different Elphaba's! Hands down, there is only one "Elphaba" that will do! That is Eden Espinosa! Yes - I even think she is MUCH better than the original Broadway Elphaba, played by Idina Menzel. (the same singer who is famous for Frozen's "Let it go") I think Idina is great! But Eden seems to completely embody the character! Even the way she transforms her face and her body while she sings is something to experience! Now, I did not record this! I just tried to find a great Eden/Elphaba performance!

Here you'll see her singing "No Good Deed" which is right after she has completely given up trying to do anything right anymore. They are about to kill her love, and she's lost everyone who matters to her. No matter what she does, she will always be viewed as being WICKED - so this will complete her transformation into the Wicked Witch of the West, since the world sees her that way anyway. She beings the song with a spell to try to save her love, Fiyaro. Since she hasn't mastered the Grimmerie (a funny take on grimoire) she ends up turning him into..... a scarecrow. 😁 Yep, that's who the scarecrow is in The Wizard of Oz! He is "in" on it the whole time! If you love The Wizard of Oz, but wanted to know all the fascinating facts into how each character comes into being - you HAVE to plan on seeing WICKED!

Eden has retired from the WICKED cast, so I don't think you can see her! It's too bad because she really was a sight to behold! They have talked about possibly making a movie of this, and I think she was in the running to be cast as Elphaba. But - with stars that have the power of Idina, that will be a very hard role to grab! Even if you can't see HER, you should run out and get some tickets to see the play anyway! And then just enjoy some clips on YouTube of Eden! hehe Here you go!



WHERE THE HECK IS DREEMIE CLUE FOR TODAY!!!

Just keep collecting!!! any clues here that can help you for the final question!? 🤔



Cover image - created by me with Midjourney, edited in Canva
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wicked sounds like a great play, I do hope they make it into a movie! Some street performers deserve to be in the big time :) ...

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

aaaaaaaaaah.... memories hahaha... love it!!! These were such great days out 💗 Those street performers were incredible. And yep no idea what the stars are all about !LOLZ I love that clip from Wicked. She really is outstanding - difficult to imagine anyone else being able to bring more to the role.

You are looking relaxed and happy. I'm glad. A well-deserved break 💗😎🤸‍♀️🥂

!LUV !ALIVE !hivebits

@dreemsteem! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

 last year (edited) 

Unbelievable! Believe me when I tell you that it is a privilege to go down the street and meet street artists frequently, they sweeten the world with their music for everyone.
An artist is defined by their live quality outside of studio production, so these musicians are excellent!
Unfortunately, in the country where I live there are almost no street artists.

Excellent selection! Thanks for sharing. 🙏🤩🎆💯💫🔥🎶💥✨👊🎇

Aww... Momma has got a taste for beautiful music. I enjoyed the street performers and how people supported by giving them some cents as an encouragement too.

Then, for the third, the drama they acted out was funny and here I am smiling at your picture. You look so amazing as always - sweet sixteen? Perhaps I should start calling you that 😁😎😎♥️♥️

Yes! Live music is the best, and street performers are some of the best to listen to. Loved that second song with the banjo and bagpipes! I would definitely enjoy sitting nearby with a drink to listen to them.

Where are you? Oh hell, I'll guess Miami.

This are interesting tunes you gave us Dreemie. I love them all

 last year  

That was great and I mean I always like hearing new music from around the world and there will always be some new tunes for me every single week here on #ttt, but these ones are great because they are live and recorded on your phone on the street and they still sound great, I really liked how your man made that Tracy Chapman number his own and the two lads in Edinburgh, fantastic..