Music A to Z Challenge - Letter E

in Music4 years ago

Each post that I do for this challenge I will strive to include 3 Artists: 1 established Metal band, 1 smaller lesser known Metal band, and 1 Bonus (this will be an eclectic choice picked from any genre for example from Spice Girls to Johnny Cash and anything in between).

music e0964.jpg

Letter E

Established Metal Band - Enslaved

An extreme metal band from Norway... they were initially lumped in with the Black Metal scene that was growing in Norway in their early years (circa 1993), they were always looking to develop a more progressive sound and by the early 2000's they had left behind the black metal/viking metal labels.

The album that marked this change in direction is Below the Lights and features one of their most famous songs: Havenless

Underground Metal Band - Evil Scarecrow

An excellent metal band from the UK, they may have started out almost as a parody band, by the time their 3rd album Galactic Hunt arrives, they finally have the songs, the riffs and the production to be worthy of appreciation in their own right. The live shows are legendary (search youtube for various Download Festival festival appearances. The lyrics are tongue in cheek, as this video for the Book of Doom shows. It tells the story of a young man who turns to a book of spells to curse his enemies... everything is progressing well until he loses it!

The Book of Doom
Now here's chapter 2
I ignite sacred candles
I cut into my arm with the quill...

everything is progressing well until he loses it!

...Now where's chapter 3?
Holy crap I have I lost it
I am sure I put it over there
That bit's really important
OH Fuck! Where has it gone, where's it gone, gone, gone
I give up I can't find it
The Librarian will not be pleased!

Bonus Artist - Eminem

You might be surprised to see this here. As a rule I don't listen to Rap/Hip Hop, and this is the only album I own for this whole genre. When I first listened to it I became obsessed, and listened to it on repeat for weeks on end. There was something different in this to all the other Rap albums, and for whatever reason that was this album really spoke to me.

Eminem - The Marshall Mathers LP

Sort:  

Hi @earthsea,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @earthsea! You received a personal badge!

2020-09

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Congratulations @earthsea! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!