Music Review - SOJA - Nothing Campares 2 Them

in Music3 years ago

Today I have the opportunity to share with you one of my favorite bands. SOJA is a reggae-rock band, and they already have a very successful career in music. I saw them once in Mexico City, back in December of 2017. I'm not a person who likes or has had the opportunity to go to many concerts, but I loved SOJA's performance, and I will see them again if I got a chance.


Soldiers of Jah Army

cover.png

Left to right: Bobby Lee, Ryan Berty, Hellman Escorcia, Jacob Hemphill, Patrick O’Shea, Rafael Rodriguez, Ken Brownell, Trevor Young - Source


What I love about SOJA, besides the great rhythm, is the messages on their songs. They have that revolutionary feeling. Their lyrics are about reflection, social injustice, growing up, defend our beliefs, love, and many other upbeat topics.

As you can see in the video, they are prevalent in Brazil, I don't know why, but they always have more dates and presentations on their tours. On their YouTube videos, you can see people commenting in Portuguese. SOJA has a love of a whole nation, and I'm a little Mexican that loves them too.

The song above is one of my favorites. It makes me feel the privileges I have and the opportunities I have missed. I'm not the wealthiest person (yey), but I am very thankful. I can recognize that I am very "lucky," with my condition and all the problems I have, I feel blessed with the right family, a wonderful wife, and a fantastic opportunity to work in HIVE and do what I love. It's not perfect, but I make an effort every day. Music is one of the main things that keep me moving and help me in difficult times.


image.png

I want to speak for people who don’t have microphones.

Our goal as a band is to stick up for the human race. We see the world, and we try to make it better in the limited time we have here.

Jacob Hemphill – Lead vocals, Guitar


SOJA is an eight-member band. I believe that six are from the USA, one is from Puerto Rico and the other is from Venezuela. This diversity helps them communicate better with the fans when they are touring.


soja-pressphoto-07.jpg


I found SOJA when I was going through a relationship break with an ex-girlfriend. I will not go into details, but the song's name is "Not Done Yet," lol, and at that time, it hurts, man... When I think about it, I feel dumb, but emotions can betray us at one time. "Not Done Yet" was the first song, but I kept exploring, and I've found more than one gem.


Another song that helped me during hard times was "When We Were Younger", this song talks about that as a teenager or in our early 20s, we can think that we have all of many of the answers to our questions, but as we grow up, we realize that our questions are more complex. Those answers may not satisfy ys anymore. As I talked about in previous blogs, I was a Mormon for three years, and I thought I knew I had the answers, then something changes, I changed, and the answers turned into questions in front of me. This song helped me process those feelings and realized that life changes, and no matter what, we have to move on.


SOJA_Pier_Admat_2019_Final_11x17-min.jpg

This is a photo of one of SOJA's latest tour. - Source


To end this small but good-hearted review of one of my favorite bands, I share with you this song. By listening to it, you will understand why I chose the name of my title. This is a cover song, and I just heard it today. I've listened to the original music before, but today was the first time I heard SOJA's version. I think it's very cool, that's why I say that "Nothing Compares 2 Them".


soja-pressphoto-02.jpg

SOJAS Official Website and Social Media

Website - Instagram - Facebook - Twitter - YouTube

Source Images 1 - 2

banneralientoeng.png

@Aliento Project

Sort:  

Hi eddiespino,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I didn't know this band, I'm going to add them to my spotify lists from now on, the song I liked the most is when we were younger, it's very good and the video is very cool.🎼

Thank you Alex! It's a great band, they have a lot of great songs.

I always find that when the heart is hurting the most, it's easiest to let yourself accept the love and serenity of music. I'm also a big fan of SOJA and similarly of the same vain; Rebelution... and a little less known and a little more reggae-rap but The Holdup is awesome too. You should check them out too :)

Hey thank you for your comment! I also like Rebelution, the other band you mentioned I haven't listened to it yet but I'll check it out. Thank you for the recommendation.

I haven't heard their sound in a while and this post was a great way to remember what they do (very well, by the way).

Thank you! Glad you like it? So it's true that they are very famous in Brazil?

I might make more reviews of other bands I like. Thank you for your comment!

They are not so popular here in Brazil, but they certainly have a good number of Brazilian fans.

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!