My Favorite Kind of Music and How I Discovered it

in Music3 years ago

Music is a big part of my life. I have listened to many music genres throughout the years, and so far, I've had a good influence. My father and my brother are musicians, they are not professional, but both have work in the industry and have played for hundreds if not thousands of people. I can say that I owe my life to music because my parents met each other in a choir.

image.png

With my father and my brother, I'm on the right. Photo taken on February 20, 2017.

My father sings very well, and he plays many instruments, can identify the tones of any song, and can quickly play it on any instrument. My brother is not as skilled as my dad, but he has many patience and practices. He plays the drums, the guitar, and the keyboards. I admire them, and as I said, they have been a significant influence. In my case, I can't sing, and I can't play any instruments, I know that if I studied, I might be good, but I don't have the "natural" talent. The only song that I can sing ell is "Stop This Train" by John Mayer, but I have listened to it a lot.

My father grew born in the late '50s, so he listened to many rock 'n roll while growing up. I met The Beatles, Queen, Creedence Clear Water Rival, Cat Stevens, Joe Cocker, James Taylor, and many more.

When my brother was in high school, he discovered Punk Rock, Ska, Hip Hop, and Reggae. My cousin showed me a lot of cool bands. Sublime, Green Day, MxPx, NoFx, Blink 182, Less Than Jake, and many others. Here is where my music taste started to be very different from my friends. I remember that many of them listened to Slipknot, Korn, Rammstein, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Nirvana, or Foo Fighters, I liked some of them, especially the last three I mentioned, but I wanted Punk Rock more.

For many years, I depended on my brother, cousin, and a couple of friends to discover new music. I listened to what they heard. I am the youngest of all of them, and because of that reason, I was very influential. So I did not look further than what they showed me. I'm not complaining because I liked the songs and I felt part of a movement.

Besides Punk Rock and the other genres that I mentioned, my cousin also showed me music from John Mayer and John Legend. I remember that I started to listen to them a lot back in 2006 or 2007. It was nice to listen to something different I think my music taste started to change a little. I had my guilty pleasures too. I have to admit that I also liked some trendy songs. There is a song called Teenage Dirtbag, last year I found this excellent version:

I think that we should not be ashamed of the music that we like. Little by little, I started to discover my music, my brother, cousin and friends less influenced me. The movies and video games that I watched and played begun to affect me more and more. Around 2012 I saw a fantastic film called Once. That movie changed my life, well, my music life because I discovered Glen Hansard, he sings with a lot of passion, and I wish I could do something like that. Here is a song from him:

Damn, he is good. As years passed, I enjoyed all the music that I was discovering. In 2016 I decided to get Spotify Premium. It was a great decision. Spotify has a feature where they give you playlists. On them, you listen to songs that you already know, but it's a great way to discover new music that is similar to the one you already like. Oh, I found many great songs, albums, and bands, and from many genres, punk, rock, ska, hip hop, and reggae, it was, and it still is, an excellent investment.

My post would be almost endless if I listed all the great songs that I have discovered. YouTube was also helpful in these tasks. After all, I could connect better with these bands because many have videos, and YT recommends me more songs from them. In those years I walked a lot, sometimes I walked 5 or 8 Kilometers in one day and all those hours I was wearing my headphones and listening to music. This technology is a blessing. Music is a blessing in my life.

On my own, I met bands that not even my brother or my cousin knew. My brother is special because if he got a recommendation from his little brother (me), he would not take it seriously, but if my cousin or a friend recommended him the same thing, he would listen to it. SO it's been hard to share my music with them. I am influenceable but not an influencer.

As time has passed, I have not discovered a lot of new music. I have to dedicate a couple of weeks to Spotify, go out and walk, just me my music and my thoughts. I think that will do me well. That way, I will be able to believe in many things and have a better idea for my project and Hive posts. But I need to do this. Naturally, I need to find the time and place. At the moment, I'm very busy with Hive, and I'm thrilled with all that's going on.

Finally, I want to leave you guys with some thoughts. Learn from others but be yourself, find what you love, and don't feel guilty about loving what you love. Try to influence others in a good way, but without forcing them to like what you like. Share your passions with the world but understand that we all are different, we have diverse backgrounds and different experiences, we all want different things, and that's good. Don't judge anyone for their taste in music, don't criticize others for liking music that, for you, is low quality.

Love each other, and let's make this world a better place. This last song sums it all:

banneralientoeng.png

@Aliento Project
Sort:  

We have the opportunity to know a lot about the welfare of the hive, he he he he
There are many similarities between you two brothers.
Some songs I'm checking out right now..... la la la

My brother is a skydiver and pilot, that photo was taken when his father in law made his jump number 20,000.

When talking about music, I remember one music genre that originated in my country, Indonesia. Its name is "dangdut". A mix of Malay (local), Indian, and Arabic music. But I'm also not good at singing and playing music :)

Thank you for your comment. I'm going to search for that music genre, it sounds interesting. Cheers.

Please try sir @eddiespino !

Maybe later you will be attracted to it :)

great musical influences! way back from the 60s. It's cool that you've kept an open mind and open ears.

Absolutely love Jam in The Van shows :)

You should check out this post by @mr-neil with an awesome selection of music from the UK and some from other parts of Europe (like Finland):

https://peakd.com/@mr-neil/2021-a-time-for-fresh-rock

I'm sure you'll like some of the bands.

Hey @recording-box, thank you for your comment!

I'm checking the post as we speak. I'm liking what I'm listening to.

right?? really happy when HIVE brothers and sisters share new music like this. My favorite new addition to our playlist was Shake by Moriaty <3

The video is also very good and funny! Like they are fighting for who gets to sing, lol. I think this one was also one of my favorites.

Another band that I like is The King Blues:

Oh and John Butler:

 3 years ago  

Guao, extraordinario recorrido que nos diste acompañando tu trayectoria de gustos musicales. Muy nutrido de buena calidad y variedad.

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!