You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Spotify or to Apple Music, That’s the Question

in Music3 years ago

Super read.

Although I don't have the deep tech background as you, I sit at the same crossroads. I'm dithering around deleting Facebook (and it's associated apps). I don't use FB itself, really any more. Main drawback there is that family and friends use Messenger a lot - and that's not likely to change.

I am an Apple user, and - like you - more comfortable with their approach to privacy, so slowly moving all my stuff off Google Drive to iCloud. Dreading sorting my gmail account out, though!

Again, like you, I'm more comfortable with Twitter - though under no illusions that they are much better that other platforms.

I have been a Spotify user for years. And I find their recommendations/daily mixes really good. I genuinely like that feature. A lot. But every so often I feel the pull of Apple music, as I'm geeky enough to like the idea of having all my stuff in one ecosystem. I like the way Apple stuff slots together - I use aMac Mini, Macbook Air and have an iPhone - and when MacOS/iOS/iCloud slots together across devices, it's lovely. But from a music aspect - yeah, Spotify has my history and 'knows' me. And (though this may be because I'm familiar with it), it just feel more natural to use 'in-app'

And there's another twist for me. I make music. I'm firmly in the 'small-artist' bracket. Self-release, small audience which, if I'm being honest, is probably mainly other musicians. But Folk generally seem to like my stuff.

And it's received wisdom that Spotify is a 'must-have'. At least that's the biggest audience, and therefore it's accepted that we have to release to it and (although this makes me chuckle) subscribe and use the app so I can at least grab the links so I can tweet about them! So, I'm sort of bound to it. Good job I like it!

Having said that - I'm not convinced it is a must-have. As a small artist, I'm currently re-evaluating what I need and what I need to do to get my music out there, and maybe grow a little. Still need to think a bit more about some stuff, and join some threads together, but I'll be sharing this stuff on Hive when I have, if anyone is interested. ;-)

Sort:  

Thanks for your awesome comment. The pull of slightly better privacy, in a smooth ecosystem, is indeed strong.

As an artist I think it should be ok to opt for privacy but also have the Spotify for Artists app. It isn’t because you submit your music that you also have to be their product as user. I think one can combine both.

While I can not recommend the Messenger app — IMHO using the website in Brave is “safer” if only for chatting — same applies there if your family uses it as main communication method. What’s the alternative? Whatsapp? FB is merging all three messengers (FB, IG, WA). ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I did bite the bullet though when I jumped and I switched to Signal (and Slack). Surprisingly enough some followed. I now have less noisy family and core friends chat. :)

!ENGAGE 50

The choices soon boil down to what compromises you are willing to make, I guess.

And, as such, the decisions made around private use will probably differ from this made around my music. The goals are different, so different compromises will be made.

I must admit - I'd not thought about using messenger in Brave. I am a Brave user, and - to be honest - most of the stuff that gets posted to messenger isn't time critical - it doesn't need to be on my mobile. Folk can still SMS/call for anything urgent. (Or use Signal, indeed)

More food for thought. This is A Good Thing - cheers!

The Messenger app will still fingerprint your device. Once connected it has access to your MAC address and also triangulation via cell towers and even WiFi routers (assuming most are not configured to send a fake location).

With Brave Shields and fingerprint protection, messenger doesn't get access to those and can not fingerprint your device. Unless you explicitly allow it.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.