MUSIC: Three Tune Tuesday 96 - 3 Songs by Neil Young! - (3 Cover Performances!)

in Musiclast year

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town in South Africa!

This is my 31st week contributing to "Three Tune Tuesday", an initiative started by @ablaze. It is week 96 overall! We are getting close to the big 100 - which will be a massive milestone!

In all of my TTT entries I like to play the songs on guitar as well as share the original videos. I have a new pattern for "Three Tune Tuesday" where I pick three songs by one of my favourite artists, that has inspired me - as I also write original songs.

Two weeks ago I did Bob Dylan. Let's do another folk hero I grew up listening to thanks to my music-loving parents - Neil Young! Last time I checked, Neil Young was in his very late 70's. In more recent years, he had a proper health scare and thought he was dying, and even basically did a farewell album and concerts... but I believe he has now recovered well which is great!

Neil Young had a famously high voice so wish me luck!

For the first song - let's pull a harmonica out to cover the very famous "Heart of Gold"! Here is the original:

For the second song, let's do the intensely emotional song about drug addiction called "Needle and the Damage Done". This song is an acoustic guitar standard for people who want to learn some fingerpicking! I am going to choose to sing it low and only go up and join Neil Young's famously high vocal at the climatic ending! Here is the original:

Finally, for the third song - I really love the riff of "Harvest Moon", where I must re-tune the guitar to "Drop-D" to get an even more gorgeous spread between the high notes and the bass during the main riff! Apologies, some spam artist tried to phone me during the song and it was too late for me to start all over again!!!

Anyway, here is the original! This song came later in Neil Young's career when music videos were becoming "a thing" I guess!

So that's week 96 done and dusted! I hope you enjoyed the Neil Young songs! Apologies that spammer idiot tried to call and interupt us! Which song was your favourite?

Which artist will I do three covers of next week?

Before I go... please look out for my weekly cover request post on Thursdays! If you make a song request in the comments, and then I attempt the song, you get rewarded with 50% of that post's rewards in HP! It's as simple as that!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Awesome ! But you should change your ringtone to make it sounds like that second guitarist you mentioned 😁

That harmonic sound would make me want to jam along instead of answer the phone?

You are always unique with your entries. Playing and sharing original videos.
Getting to know you have made 31 entries for ttt is amazing. You do so well. Weldone
These are nice tunes

Ah thank you so much! Ah, hopefully I can keep the streak going for a while!!

You are welcome

No one can match Neil Young's voice, but you got the guitar and harmonica down with confidence. You have a strong rhythm that keeps going. It's awesome how you got all three songs in one shot even with a phone call. I loved it.

!LUV

Thank you so much! Yes, he has a special voice and I normally sing quite a bit lower... But the more I sing, the slightly more range I get... so it was good to try some of these high ones!

squee! This made me happy! I love Neil Young, and have all these songs on vinyl. Good, old fashioned vinyl, the way I know he would have preferred we listen to them. Loved listening to you cover them. This made me happy.

I actually read Neil Young's book and he is very into sound quality. When he was writing the book he was trying to work on a high quality sound system that would rival vinyl... I wonder how that's going? (CD is worse than vinyl and MP3 is far worse than that!)

He still puts his albums out on vinyl, too. Stubborn old man, he is. I love it.

Your first harmonica performance was amazing, the other two are also very beautiful. I liked how you dealt with the vibration of the phone with professionalism and without nerves.

I congratulate you, friend. I love the dynamic that you always share on Tuesdays.

!LUV

I was so into the classic riff that I only heard the phone as I was about to sing... I always turn off my WiFi and mobile data to prevent messages coming in... But a phone call stumped me this time! Hahaha

You left my favourite to last.. haha
Love all three, but number three.. can't beat it!
👏👏👏

But an idiot spammer can interrupt it! Wish you were here to add the lovely harmonic parts!

Ooooh, if only I had a private jet... or a Cessna... 😄

 last year  

Fantastic man, Neil Young is one of my favourite artists, although I do have a lot of favourites these days, but he has some simply amazing songs. You covered these really well man, and you did great getting up high for the end of "Needle and the Damage Done". Loved Harvest Moon too and fair balls to you for keeping your shit together with that call coming in and vibrating all over your great intro.

Which song was your favourite?

I really enjoyed them all, but Harvest Moon was the pick of the bunch for me. Quality version my friend.