Guitar Cover: Alone With The Owl by Jason Molina

in Music2 years ago (edited)

image.png

I've been trying to relax this long weekend and ended up playing guitar quite a lot. I stumbled on this singer named Jason Molina a few years back and instantly fell in love with his music. I was listening to this song for the first time ever and scrolled down to the YoutTube comments and found out that he had died some years back, RIP. He apparently had an alcohol problem and died of multiple organ failure because of it. I can't help but feel that many of his songs feel like suicide notes.

My guitar is definitely a bit sloppy when I sing along but I feel like I captured the spirit of the song.

Here is my rendition of Alone With The Owl:

Lyrics:

Alone with the owls howling pain, pain, pain
Alone with the owls howling pain
Alone with the owls howling pain, pain, pain
You don't have to live this way

While I lived was I a stray black dog
While I lived was I a stray black dog
While I lived was I anything at all
Did I have to live this way

I stood beside the ocean not a single wave
Beside the ocean not a single wave
Beside the ocean not a single wave
Not a single left to say

With the owl howling pain, pain, pain
With the ocean howling the same
With my life howling the same

Did I have to live this way

I would definitely recommend looking up his music if you are in the mood for some melancholic vibes.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>₳ⱠłɆ₦ ⱧØ₦ɆɎ<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Visit my gallery on NFT Showroom

Find all my social and gallery links here: https://linktr.ee/juliakponsford

Join the Alien Art Hive community and come get some Alien Honey!

ALIEN DISCORD

To follow on twitter, personal account, Alien Community account <3

Sort:  

This is soo beautiful, can't stop replaying it,you're amazing 👌

Thanks for listening 😘

wow this is great!
Nice one Julia
You've got a lovely delivery

Thanks Basil, always a work in progress lol!

So lovely Julia. It's wonderful to see you posting videos of you playing guitar and also singing. I look forward to seeing more.

Thanks nine, I'm learning about ten songs rn so I don't get bored and can rotate around a bit, I'm pretty comfortable with all of them but I still almost always miss a beat on the Barre chords 😂 one of these days hoping they'll become a bit more effortless.

Ohhhh, barre chords...bringing back painful memories. I have a hard time with those too. I find they take more practice. I bet your fingers are longer than mine, so you'll do even better, lol.

I actually have pretty shrimpy fingers lol but this is a 3/4 guitar so it's not too bad.

Shrimpy fingers, now you're talking east, lol. I'm still willing to bet you have longer fingers than I do, even if a tiny bit longer. The size of the guitar really helps. The one I have had for a while now (early/mid-sixties Yamaha), is much easier than the one I started with. Seeing you playing is another reminder to get a move on to put the new strings I have on mine and get a move on (so rusty).

I meant to mention, in the video, your hair is so long! I'm wondering, hahaha, how long it takes for it to dry on it's own. 😂

I usually give it a quick spritz with the blow dryer because I really hate having wet hair tbh, makes my shirt and neck fell all damp. I actually trimmed it a bit a day after I made this video, I realized it was looking a bit mangy 🤣

Yeah, wet hair like that, when it's long is not fun. So you cut your own hair also, lol. It's easy when it's long to do that. 😁

Wow, this song is so deep, it gave me a lot of melancholy, the melody is soft and it's wonderful.

His lyrics are very simple but often punch me in the gut a bit, you should definitely look up more of his music, he has solo music under his own name but also under the name Ohia!

Very beautiful… I just subscribed to your YouTube Channel. Upvoted at 100% and shared via the @OffgridLife Curation Project.

TY 😘

untitled.gif

You’re very welcome. 🇨🇦

We love your version!

What a beautiful video!
We invite you to post some songs in the MUSIC HIVE community.
Have a good week! See you in the next post!

bar_eleg_e0.gif

Thanks! 😘

you sing very well you look like a singer I enjoy reading your post

Nice one Julia. I enjoyed every bit of it!

untitled.gif

You're Welcome

I'm so sorry I didn't see this earlier, just been so busy, but so wonderful and enticing this song and your performance. You seem to have a settled spirit and a new calm I'm assuming the country and the seaside has given you :) Really lovely @juliakponsford