Piano Progress: Week 12

in Music3 years ago

Okay, as the title says I have skipped a couple of weeks of showing my progression. Better said, I post about this every 1.5 week and started playing in the beginning of December, so week 12 seems realistic.

I played a bit of everything over the last week, just also working on getting the techniques in and just getting more muscle memory in there. I have noticed that I really don't have to look as much at my hands as before and I can focus more on looking at the sheet music, which makes everything a lot easier. Maybe this is even the biggest progression




Pixabay


I also played the songs of the 'Feel Good' challenge in the Simply Piano app which were actually not that difficult, but that was even more fun to just play them without practising

Here in this post from my alt account @karinpics you can see me playing 'Dont worry be happy' which was actually very easy, maybe mainly because it was simplified so much.

Chord progression

I focussed on finishing my chord progression lessons which are actually not that super inspiring to do, but because there is a lot of repetition in there I do find that in the end these lesson will make a good deal of difference on how easy you can handle the right hand chords.

Here below you can see a a spot of all kinds of different ways to play the same chord. With more rockwise, more balladwise, and more for in the bar ;)

Screenshot_20210227113656_Gallery.jpg

As said this was not the most fun thing to do, but it really does show you a lot better all what is possible with just knowing one single chord.


Learn to Fly

So the project of this week (well at least the one I was most proud of) was learning the basics from 'Learn to Fly' from the Foo Fighters. This is a song that a lot of people know, and actually a bit out of the poppyness, which I really appreciate.

It has everything in there. Lead chords with the left hand, melody with the right hand, some sharps in as well the chord, and as well in the melody (sharps and flats are not my winners as yet) and jumping over from the starting with the thumb on D in the melody as well as jumping over to B with the thumb for the higher notes. Also using the second finger to go from D to C again really makes this an excersize with everything in it.


I was talking to a friend yesterday about starting with the piano because he is a guitar player. We were both very interested in the fact how muscle memory works, and how your brain needs to make connections while you are not working on something actively.



Pixabay


What I mean by this is sometimes you are trying to play something and it is not working. You walk away from the piano frustrated and come back a day later, and all of a sudden your hands play naturally what they are supposed to do.

My friend also had this with playing guitar and we concluded that this is why playing a bit every day is so important. The brain needs to make the connections.

Well time to connect again!

Sort:  

Congratulations @karinxxl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 950 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1000 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

having a hard time to play any music instrument. For now I am sticking my self with listening to it. hahah

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!