Music to Survive Today

in Music2 years ago

image.png

I'm late with my three for Tuesday. My friend had to leave early because of an injury. He was planning on staying another week but suddenly tore his ACL. His calf muscle is just hanging on nothing. We flew him back home Sunday night and since then I have felt pretty empty. I really miss that kid and for a while was concerned about his surgery. My wife says I'm getting too sentimental.

It's time to write something that makes us all forget about whatever trials and toubles come along and three for Tuesday is a good place to start.

Alison Krauss & Union Station Band - Man of Constant Sorrow

This is the song that comes to mind when I think of Blue grass. It's been a couple years since I've been in Louisville, but I love that place. I took the cover picture of the barge from the South side of the Ohio River in Kentucky.

Listening to this song brings back memories but does not let me forget about anything. I still have an open class next week and a ton of things I should be doing. I need something a little more care free.

Jim Peterik, Frankie Sullivan - Bluegrass Tribute to Survivor

I needed a little pep song but this one didn't get me up off my fanny. I'm still sitting here. I really was hoping for motivation from these boys.

The song carries over from "Survivor".

Don't lose your grip on the dreams of the past

You must fight just to keep them alive.

The Grateful Dead - Touch of Gray

The chorus "I will get by" has been in my mind for years.

Every silver lining's got a
Touch of grey

The saying goes "every cloud has a silver lining"...

But even that silver lining has a tint of grey.

Everything seems to be a little messed up. Watching the news or following twisted tangled internet feuds doesn't help get my mind off anything, but somehow Jerry Garcia hit the spot.

"We will get by."

This too will soon pass. It's alright^^

So enjoy the tune and dance.

That's my three tunes for this week. I don't have a lot of heart left to write something moving, but I have a feeling I'm not the only one out there who needs a little touch of gray. Enjoy it today because it is all part of life. The joys and the losses need to be taken in perspective.

"Whistle through your teeth and spit!"

We will get by

We will survive

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Sorry to hear about your good friend, I wish him a speedy recovery. Hopefully these tunes and thinking of them and listening to them helped to take your mind of your worries. Thanks for sharing.

I don't know too much about this genre, but I really enjoyed tapping my foot while listening to these three, so thanks for sharing.

Thanks for listening in @ablaze. This most mostly American Bluegrass. The last piece is kind of Folk/ Rock. It works kind of like the Blues. When you heart that others went through similar problems and overcame... then you feel better.

!LUV

Right now, everyone needs a touch of grey @mineopoly. Sorry about your friend, I hope he gets better soon.... Maybe, you are being too sentimental like your wife mentioned... You need to hold it together.

Yes, we'll all get by and no, we will try not to lose our grip on our dreams too. Good morning @mineopoly

Have a great day @edystringz,

The clouds parted and the sun is shinning. I have a lot to do now and that is good. Another thing I'm thankful for is being surrounded by kids who just love life. It's contagious.

!PIZZA

Those songs played are very lovely.

Hey Chris, I have made a pledge to myself to find ways to be JOYFUL everyday! You're right there are a lot of sad and terrible things that have happened recently In THe US and the world. I pray about them and the people it is affecting. Since we just have one life and I recently was reminded Jesus lived in the present helping people, telling people the good news, I'm trying to get up everyday like I said and find tiny ways to feel JOY! FYI, I think you have seen Daniel's posts on fb and instagram - he is on the Camnino De Frances(Spain) walking everyday. He and a college buddy(Ethan) are on the pilgrimage together. I would love to do it, but there is no way I could walk about 15 miles for 32 days! :) Take care and I'm sorry about your friend tearing his ACL!

Maybe you saw some of my Instagram stories. My friend was able to spin like a helicopter in the air until a few days ago. He is back in the states and is having surgery in a few hours.

I talked with him last week about making inspirational videos to motivate people to laugh and exercise. My kids at school are also out of shape and they could use a laugh. I want to write my daily bread the night before and in the morning do a ten minute live video based on one word. You are not the only one who needs inspiration and encouragement. I think I can be a blessing. I need first to set my own heart right. Also a better cell phone would help.

I saw Daniel's updates. I know his Spanish is up to par. I don't know what he is doing there. He didn't tell me but I know he will be healthy. He followed my Instagram a couple days ago and I will follow his story. It looks like I will have to visit America next year. Stay healthy and stay cool.

!LUV

@violetmed, @mineopoly(4/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ Starting June 16, LUV will allow 3 or fewer "!" commands in a reply. Details.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@mineopoly(1/5) tipped @edystringz (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.