Extravagance and Classical Musicians ?!

in Music3 years ago

Ara-Malikian-750x375.jpg

Ara Malikian

Today while I was teaching piano lessons to my dear students, I noticed a huge difference in the form in which they express themselves and the way they dress. The students I will mention here have the same age, two are 16 years old and one is fifteen.

So, the girl of sixteen came in a Harley-Davidson jacket, very strange jeans and a pink t-shirt worn over a white long-sleeved shirt. She plays pieces from Bach, Chopin to songs by Elton John, Queen or John Newman. She is talented, learns fast but reads the notes with more difficulty.

The second student from today, also 16, has got a tattoo on his arm, dyed semi-long hair, and sometimes paints his nails with black nail polish. He also wears rings, black tight trousers and boots. Plays also Bach, Beethoven, Chopin and songs by Imagine Dragons and some Japanese or Korean music I don't even know the names, as he learns them by himself. His note reading abilities are a bit weak also.

The third one, fifteen years old, is not at all as extravagant as these two first mentioned. His clothing is simple, I would say even a little childish for his age, he is quiet and has no problems with reading notes. But, he doesn't play Chopin or those cool songs my other teenage student ask for, he is satisfied with the exercises and studies I give him. He can not express himself through difficult pieces and doesn't ask for attention. But he is persistent, practices and as I already said reads well the notes.

nemanja-radulovic.jpg

Nemanja Radulovic

So, while the first two have similar characteristics as a weak reading of notes but playing very well at a higher level, they also dress quite strangely. Their life turnes around piano :) They even asked me if they could play La Campanella by Liszt.... Well, they will have to wait a little longer with that. Maybe the third one who doesn't stand out but who practice will play it one day too. Time will say.

I wondered if it was necessary to be somehow special to succeed in the world of music. I mean to achieve fame on the world stage. Would an ordinary musician achieve this or does he have to stand out in some special way to gain the attention of listeners and fans?

In the music industry, we can see all sorts of extravagant musicians who have managed to breakthrough, but what is happening on the classical music scene?
Today I will introduce you two violinists, who started with classical music but their appearance also influenced them to be famous.

dsc-6413a-206724.jpeg

Nemanja Radulovic

This is Nemanja Radulovic, a violinist born in Serbia and now living in Paris. He’s a couple of years younger than me, and I listened to him live at one concert when I was finishing my studies. He was already studying in Paris at the time and had achieved results on the international stage. We were all fascinated by his curly black hair that fluttered on the podium to the sounds of the violin. And his extraordinary violin playing! He was a star that just had to start to shine. Look at him 💙 He is talking here about his album Baika

The second violinist is also virtuous and has a similar appearance. He is Ara Malikian. He is a Lebanese violinist of Armenian origin, but now he lives in Spain. I have listened to him live in one concert held in the town next to mine. Wow, I still remember the vibes and the energy.. imagine, in some moments he is jumping while playing!! Also, he makes mimics, dance, and talk to the audience. Amazing experience. His song Pisando Flores, with his symphonic orchestra:

Bombastic!!

He also plays classical music in his arrangements and some other songs or soundtracks covered by him. Here is Pulp Fiction Theme.


.

I have chosen to show those two violinists as I listened to both of them live. They achieved big popularity, coming from classical roots to a more extravagant way of playing and dressing, expressing... Their spirit and energy brought them to the path of stars. They achieved a lot of success, partly because they knew how to present themselves to a wider audience. I don't think it is a bad thing, although I am more of those shy ones and would not be able to do such a great achievement.

What do you think? Is it legit for you? Do you like it?

P.S. Please let me know if you don't see the videos, so I can edit from another frontend. I am publishing through PeakD and I don't see the videos already for two or three days.

Thank you for your time :)

ara-malikian.jpg

Ara Malikian

Sort:  

I only heard about David Garrett and Lindsey Stirling when I think about violinists but I'm happy I've discovered something new through your post. Seems like we have similar tastes Gabs :D

My dear Gabs,

Oh, David Garrett 💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜 the sweetest blondie long haired violinist :) hahaha

Lindsey Stirling is cool, also Vanessa May from star violin players..

There are a lots of extravagant cellists also, and pianists, but it would be for a different post 😜 I already have some of them in my mind :)

Here I wanted to show those two I attended concerts held by them, so like my experience of seeing them in live.

So you like now two more cool violinists, great :-)

Totally agree with what you said about David Garrett, haha. I intended to buy a ticket for one of his concerts in my country but he got sick and everything was cancelled. 😒

Though, now that you say about pianists I remember I attended to a concert offered by HAVASI and I can still feel the emotion if I look back into my folder with pictures and videos from there 😍

I can't wait to discover new amazing artists through your posts! 😇

Though, now that you say about pianists I remember I attended to a concert offered by HAVASI and I can still feel the emotion if I look back into my folder with pictures and videos from there 😍

Aha! I know who will be my one of my next envites for a future Spread the Vibes post...I don't know when, if someone invites me again hehe 😂 So stay tuned Gabs 😜

You can take a look what is that here :

https://peakd.com/hive-193816/@edje/challenge-not-challenge-spread-the-vibes-or-with-music-and-stories

And here

https://peakd.com/hive-193816/@mipiano/kxlvecju

Or just search #SpreadtheVibes tag...

🤩🤗

Awesome! Looks like I have some homework to do now, haha. Thanks for sharing the posts, will make sure to check them out! 🤩🤗

The other day someone showed me a video of the Chronos Quartett. A string quartett who like to explore different time signatures. I was floored! So much so, that I will write a post about them on Monday.

Will wait for reading it @stortebeker 🤩

I think visual Extravagance is ok, although I don't care about it when it comes to music ... add example I never liked, and still don't like the music videos ... most of them at least, practically all :) it's not a strong dislike, it's not because of some principle or something rational ... it's just that this Extravagance bombardment with the strictly stylish and often cliché imagery gives me a bad trip nauseating sensation.
I come to like a lot of music that I disliked in the music video format after listening it on CD or radio.
When it comes to the look of the performer :) yeah, putting up a show surely helps … I guess ... it's been used and abused :D like for quite some time ... I'm ok with it, although I don't care about it ... if I like the music ... I don't know :) I'm rumbling here a lot ... I hope and pray that the shy ones are not forgotten and left behind.

I hope and pray that the shy ones are not forgotten and left behind

You know, if they don't fight for themselves, nobody will do it. That is how it works now, everything has to be more stressed out and visualized to be seen and recognized. Too much information all around...the attention of the wide public is short and asks for something bombastic to be pleased.

I get your point of not liking many music clips. Some of them are ridiculous, yes. Agree completely :)

There is a non written "dressing code" for classical musicians, we usually wear black clothes of just something elegant, can be other colour. But already in the past some out of bow musicians started to dress differently.

Here the marketing made its effect. Although both Nemanja and Ara Malikian are extraordinary violinists, maybe they would not achieve that popularity if stayed just with the classical way and just classical music. They knew how to achieve:-)

Yes, everybody needs to be its own PR nowadays :) which can actually be a fun and creative activity. Sometimes visible and great coincide, sometimes less so, but ok. Fortunately, I notice that there are still various kinds of audiences out there, some just skip or fast-forward the bombastic stuff and discover the less visible treasure, so until there is a bit of diversity in tastes and habits it's ok for me. I'm always happy to see that not so popular stuff is popular enough to exist, to still be profitable and find its way ... and actually with internet an all that, there is a lot of more diversity going on under the surface ... that's cool and optimistic.

I'm always happy to see that not so popular stuff is popular enough to exist, to still be profitable and find its way ... and actually with internet an all that, there is a lot of more diversity going on under the surface ... that's cool and optimistic.

Perfectly said! :)

As well, if there is a good content, and someone who has the sight to recognize the value in it, it is more than enough :)

Off topic, happy Caturday hehehe, to Veverica, Malac and all the cat gang in your house :D

He,he thanks - Meow !

I just saw the play of Kalimero with the alien 🤣 hehehe

Go with the flow; Act and dress like one suppose to..... Or, be yourself regardless of what other people think and say. I know it's not easy for people to go outside the box, especially when it concerns how we look. We tend to conform to what others do in the 'group' and circles we spend our time in. That said, I'm all for breaking with the rules that are (mostly) not rules at all! I don't think someone as to be extravagant to become good at playing eg a cello. But when one likes to bring cello music to an audience that is not classical music-minded, an act is required, I would thin... But that is marketing. But when someone is extravagant and likes to play in the traditional circles, all good by me... I even would like to see the out-of-the-ordinary. Makes everything a little more interesting. Though the 'traditional' circles may not like extravagant cello players. Personally, I like to do things differently from the norm, but most of the time I'm just a little different. Can't say I'm extravagant at all, but I do like it when others are. I actually believe we shall embrace people trying to be different. Being different makes everything more interesting.

Can't say I'm extravagant at all, but I do like it when others are. I actually believe we shall embrace people trying to be different. Being different makes everything more interesting.

So you are not extravagant but you do like to break the rules which actually are not rules 😉 and you would like to embrace people to be different.
That is already out of ordinary :)
So you are kind of extravagant.. :-)

I'm can be quite a bit out-of-the-ordinary, but extravagant? Sometimes maybe? But mostly not so much 😉

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Tour Update - Financial stages
Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Thank you !! 😇

Your 15-year-old student sounds most fascinating. He clearly doesn't care about his looks. What's more interesting, he doesn't seem to care about musical pieces either. For him it must be all about playing the instrument. I can see him turn into this incredible artist, writing the most amazing music, while never going on stage, or letting a cartoon character do the performing.

As for extravagant looks, I guess as a teenager everyone is a performer of sorts, feeling the world's eyes on them even if they don't have much to present. That explains the crazy clothes.

Yes, the shy one is just coming, playing and instrument and goes home 😁🤷🏻‍♀️ Indeed, doesn't care what has to play, but maybe the sound of piano or the feeling of resolving the musical problems into them makes him happy, I don't know.

Teenagers and clothing, hehe, yes. I dressed in way that I would not show now to my teenager son 😂 I felt it normal then but would not dress like that nowadays, of course.

But that's the fun part, hehehehe! I don't have children but I do have teenage students, and yes: fashion is a much favored conversation topic. For them I even wore a pair of baggy khakis (from the thrift store just for the occasion) and it was well received. Though it is true: the 21st century has surpassed the craziest styles of our youth.

the 21st century has surpassed the craziest styles of our youth.

Let God be with me and give me patience hahaha

It's so interesting how you describe the different personalities or your students.

I sense that you feel more in connection with the last student? If yes, why so?

I don't mind extravagance in classical music, I used to find it a bit cringy in my days, now I just think everyone is free to do what they love.

I sense that you feel more in connection with the last student? If yes, why so?

Hm, not actually. I would say that as a teacher I love them all in the same way. It would sound as a cliche, but mine is to teach them. :)

As a teenager I dressed a bit weird, but I was shy at the time. Somehow it is just all normal for that years and changes in ones head ☺️