I Was Doing All Right

in Music3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Browsing in some of my piano books in the aim to find what to practise these days, I came across this song composed by George Gershwin. The title of the song attracted me because as I am a kind of a perfectionist, I always want to do things well. Often it is not perfect, but in fact, we should always strive to do things well. I am not talking just regarding playing the piano. In every field of life, we should do our best. Writing an article, taking photos, playing, maybe it is not perfect, but you get it, do as best as you can at that moment. You can always improve the way you are working, but it is important to recognize the weak points and work on in.

So, I tried to play a song, and it was an easy one but nice. A light melody, accompanied by chords in the left hand, with a harmonic structure typical of Gershwin.

George Gershwin managed to combine his classical harmonic basics with jazz, and perhaps that is why he is still appreciated today. He composed countless famous compositions, for piano as a solo instrument (Three Preludes, Tango, Blue Monday, Three-Note Waltz,
Piano Transcriptions of Eight Songs...) or in combination with an orchestra (Rhapsody in Blue, Concerto in F, Second Rhapsody, Variation on I got Rhytm...). Also songs for voice and piano, operas, music for movies, broadway shows... This particular song, I was Doing it All Right, had been featured in the 1937 film, Goldwin Follies. The lyrics were written by his older brother, Ira Gershwin, and the song were sung by Ella Logan in that movie.

In the same movie Goldwin Follies, other songs composed by George Gershwin appeared as well, like Love Walked In, Love Is Here To Stay, Just Another Rhumba and I Love to Rhyme.

Here it comes the video of me, playing this song, I Was Doing All Right. I am playing the piano version, but who wants to join and sing it, here are the lyrics

I was doing all right
Nothing but rainbows in my sky
I was doing all right
Till you came by
Had no cause to complain
Life was as sweet as apple pie
Never noticed the rain
Till you came by

But now whenever you're away
Can't sleep nights and suffer all the day
I just sit and wonder
If love isn't one big blunder
But when you hold me tight
Tingling all through, I feel somehow
I was doing all right
But I'm doing better than ever now

But now whenever you're away
Can't sleep nights and suffer all the day
I just sit and wonder
If love isn't one big blunder
But when you hold me tight
Tinglin' all through, I feel somehow
I was doing all right
But I'm doing better
Better than ever now


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 comments. Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal #2

Wow, the piano version is simply beautiful :)

!discovery 30

Grazie mille @delilhavores 🥰
It is nice, yes 🎹😇


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks @Ewkaw

A little bit of change from just classical music 🎶🎶🎶

I love listening to Gershwin's compositions. Once upon a time the choir was working on Porgy and Bess, but they did it in Spanish. It was also the time when I was already retired from choral life.

You're ideas about getting better are what artist's in general should strive for. However, perfectionism is a way to hurt one's improvement. I think I read somewhere that "perfectionism" is an enemy of art and progress. I may be mixing references. I believe having the notion that everything can be better is different from trying to make things perfect. Excellence is a more achievable goal.

And well, that performance, tho. Right on spot! I like the "hands only" approach as a showcase for the piece, but I can tell you are swaying to the music. Nice work and excellent post. A nice piece of food for thought.

Yes @bertrayo, it is than better to say excellence instead of perfectionism. But I just remember when I was studying, if I got a score 9 (out of 10) I canceled the exam and went again, as I badly wanted that 10, hahaha. Wasn't it then striving for the perfection? Or craziness, I can not decide...

Now I just want to improve, in everything but I DO make a lot of mistakes, everywhere, in playing, writing, talking...but it's kinda funny as well.

Well, we all have our crazy phases, @mipiano. Ha, ha, ha. I can't tell I wasn't like that for some time too.

Making mistakes is the right path to get better. Lucky you! You have just discovered a secret of life: having fun while making mistakes.

The secret is there, yes. It's better to laugh at our clumsy mistakes than to cry 🤣 (but, I don't always remember this wisdom 🤦🏻‍♀️)

Ha, ha, ha. Yes, our dear wallnut (brain) sometimes gets picky with its wisdom memory. 🤣

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Many thanks @music-community 🎶🎶🤩

You did everything right: BRAVA! 👏

Speaking of Rhapsody, I was moved to tears watching the Queen movie last week - really a very emotional movie! Have you seen it?

Yes, we watched it with @ph1102 when it came out in the cinemas. I was also in tears 😓

Well, I saw it late on amazon video...very intense indeed! 😍

Never mind if late or not, it is just worth of seeing it 👌
However, watching a movie in a cinema is even more special. It was actually in November, two years ago. When the movie finished, we bought roasted chestnuts on the street. That remained in the memory as well 😁

How good are the roasted chestnuts!
But tell me: were you consumed them in 20 degree ambient temperatures? 😱

The taste is the same, right?
But for sure, the best feeling is when it is cold and you warm your hands with the freshly roasted chestnuts 🌰

👏 Then against all odds, I love eating ice cream in the winter in the mountains! 😂

Exelente letra y la musica muy buena, gracias por compartir.

De nada, y gracias por pasar por mi publicación.